勒索软件威胁同化其他网络犯罪

安全研究公司 Sophos 于 2021 年 11 月上旬发布了一份有趣且令人担忧的报告。 Sophos 发布的威胁报告中的五秒钟要点是,勒索软件开始表现得像一个超大质量黑洞,将所有其他网络威胁参与者和活动并形成一个庞大的集群,其最终目标是交付勒索软件。

多年来,勒索软件一直是最赚钱的网络犯罪形式,这已经不是什么秘密了。勒索软件的支出每年都在攀升。 2021 年的数字还没有完全出炉,但上一年勒索软件攻击绝对数量的年增长率显示出 300% 的增长。

据 Sophos 报道,由于勒索软件攻击的威力和吸引力,有组织的网络犯罪的整个格局正在发生变化。就像加密挖掘正在耗尽世界上所有的显卡供应一样,勒索软件也逐渐吸引了所有参与有组织网络犯罪的人。

Sophos 预测勒索软件将同时变得更加模块化和同质化。从这个意义上说,越来越多的威胁行为者群体将为更广泛的勒索软件领域提供特定服务。同时,大型勒索软件参与者也会提供 Sophos 所谓的“剧本”,因此勒索软件附属公司可以执行结构相似的攻击。

勒索软件已经高度分化,不同的团体提供销售后门和网络渗透工具,其他人负责有效载荷交付,所有这些人都充当开发相关勒索软件并维护其基础设施和服务器的顶级团体的工蜂.

另一个需要考虑的可怕事情是,某些有影响力的勒索软件组织现在有资金和权力直接购买零日漏洞以滥用渗透目标。这在以前只有国家支持的高级持续威胁行为者才有资源获得。随着勒索软件团伙变得足够富有,可以购买危险的零日漏洞,威胁形势正在得到 Sophos 所说的“扭曲”。

勒索软件在 2022 年的趋势如何发展还有待观察,但有一点是肯定的 - 保持领先于以勒索软件为重点的威胁行为者的战斗不会变得更容易。

November 19, 2021

Cyclonis云盘

The Free Basic Cyclonis Backup plan gives you 2 GB of cloud storage space with full functionality! No credit card required. Need more storage space? Purchase a larger Cyclonis Backup plan today! To learn more about our policies and pricing, see Terms of Service, Privacy Policy, Discount Terms and Purchase Page. If you wish to uninstall the app, please visit the Uninstallation Instructions page.

Cyclonis Password Manager

FREE Trial: 30-Day One-Time Offer! No credit card required for Free Trial. Full functionality for the length of the Free Trial. (Full functionality after Free Trial requires subscription purchase.) To learn more about our policies and pricing, see EULA, Privacy Policy, Discount Terms and Purchase Page. If you wish to uninstall the app, please visit the Uninstallation Instructions page.

Ransomware Threatens to Assimilate Other Cybercrime

Security research firm Sophos released an interesting and worrying report in early November 2021. The five-second takeaway from the threat report published by Sophos is that ransomware is starting to behave like a supermassive black hole, sucking into its bosom all other cyber threat actors and activities and forming one massive cluster whose ultimate goal is the delivery of ransomware.

It is no secret that ransomware has been the most lucrative form of cybercrime for a good few years now. Ransomware payouts are climbing ever higher every year. The figures for 2021 aren't out in full yet but the previous annual increase in the absolute number of ransomware attacks showed growth of 300%.

The entire landscape of organized cybercrime is shifting and changing as a result of the power and draw of ransomware attacks, Sophos reported. Just like crypto mining is using up the world's entire supply of graphics cards, ransomware is gradually sucking in everyone who deals in organized cybercrime.

Sophos predicted that ransomware will simultaneously become more modular and more homogenized. In this sense, more and more groups of threat actors will provide specific services to the wider ransomware sector. At the same time, large ransomware actors would also provide what Sophos calls "playbooks", so ransomware affiliates can execute attacks that are similar in structure.

Ransomware is already highly compartmentalized, with different groups offering to sell backdoors and network infiltration tools, with others responsible for payload delivery, all of them acting as worker bees for the top-level group that develops the ransomware in question and maintains its infrastructure and servers.

Another scary thing to consider is that certain influential ransomware groups now have the money and power to directly purchase zero-day vulnerabilities to abuse in infiltrating targets. This was previously something that only state-backed advanced persistent threat actors had the resources to obtain. With ransomware gangs getting rich enough to shop for dangerous zero-days the threat landscape is getting what Sophos called "distorted".

How ransomware trends develop in 2022 remains to be seen, but one thing is certain - the battle to stay ahead of ransomware-focused threat actors is not going to be getting any easier.

November 19, 2021