勒索软件攻击成本-数据恢复成本与支付赎金成本

勒索软件是迄今为止,黑客可以使用的最具破坏性,最有效和最有害的勒索方法,用于从受害者那里勒索现金。有多种方法可以感染,并且只需要短暂的判断时间或在线安全性中的某个设备(甚至整个设备网络)就可以屈服于感染。从那里到那里都是下坡路。

自然,免受勒索软件的最佳保护是避免完全对其进行处理–遵循行业推荐的最佳做法。切勿下载可疑文件,在陌生文档上启用宏,单击可疑链接或遵循未经请求的电子邮件中的说明。始终在您的设备上安装更新的反恶意软件解决方案。
不幸的是,如果您没有足够努力地进行操作,或者恶意行为者很狡猾并且有足够的决心,那么您最终仍可能被锁定在PC之外,所有文件都被加密,并带有赎金字样,要求您付款。比特币。那么,那时您该怎么办?

当然,接下来应该做什么取决于所处的环境。但是,在如此困难的情况下,要在压力下做出明智的决定,您需要了解以下统计信息:

  1. 只有26%的数据被加密的受害者通过支付赎金才收回了他们的数据。因此,即使您这样做,也极有可能无法取回数据。
  2. 即使您支付了赎金,这样做通常也会使处理勒索软件攻击的成本增加一倍。即使是愿意支付赎金后愿意释放其“人质”的“诚实”黑客,也倾向于将受害者的解密密钥丢给受害者,然后由受害者处理。是的,从技术上讲,他们为受害者提供了理论上可以用来还原加密文件的工具-但是,除非攻击的目标首先是网络安全专家,否则他们将无法使用该工具。受害者最终将不得不支付骗子所要求的赎金,然后雇用一名网络安全专家来解密其文件。
  3. 在遭受勒索软件攻击后的六个月内,超过60%的企业破产。这可能是由于多种原因,一些是财务上的,有些是与声誉受损有关,还有一些是-类似的攻击不仅损害了企业本身,而且损害了企业客户的安全。
  4. 对企业的勒索软件攻击的平均成本徘徊在大约一百万美元。其中包括金钱损失,恢复时间,从攻击中恢复的服务费用等。

这就是为什么行业专家建议用户永远不要考虑向攻击您系统的骗子支付赎金。虽然这样做的诱惑和完成的诱惑可能存在,但它可能行不通,并且肯定会花您更多的钱,而不仅仅是赎金。

另一方面,如果公司制定了良好的数据备份计划,则恢复丢失的数据的成本会更低。是的,它仍然是停机时间,充其量只是烦人,最糟糕的是对于企业而言是一个严重的问题,但是要浪费几个小时或几天的工作,花一些时间重新设置系统与失去整个系统并不相同工作主体。自然,这只有在受害者花了时间和精力为这种可能性做准备的情况下才有可能。

而且,尽管我们正在为可能发生的恶劣事件做好准备,但是有一些保险涵盖了网络攻击,这可能有助于减轻攻击对受害者的影响。但是请注意,并非全部都涵盖了勒索软件攻击的特定情况。

此外,网络安全专家也许能够恢复黑客似乎必须加密的某些数据。如果攻击者的技能和他使用的工具不够复杂,这是恢复数据的可行选择。总体而言,无需支付赎金即可恢复数据的成功率是支付赎金的两倍,但自然而然,结果取决于许多变量。这是一种经过计算的风险,受害者必须选择承担风险。

但是,不幸的是,所述用户应始终牢记通过支付赎金来恢复其数据的几率很低。

July 27, 2020

发表评论

Ransomware Attack Cost - Data Recovery Cost vs. Paying the Ransom Cost

Ransomware is one of the most damaging, effective, and pernicious methods of extorting cash out of their victims available to hackers to date. There is a multitude of ways to get infected, and it only takes a momentary lapse of judgment or a single weak link in your online-security for a device, or even an entire network of devices, to succumb to an infection. And it's all downhill from there.

Naturally, the best protection from ransomware is to avoid dealing with it altogether – follow the industry recommended best practices. Never download suspicious files, enable macros on strange documents, click on dubious links, or follow instructions found in unsolicited emails. Have an updated anti-malware solution installed on your device at all times—things like that.
Unfortunately, if you don't do that diligently enough, or if the malicious actors are crafty and determined enough, you may still end up locked out of your PC, with all your files encrypted, with a ransom note that demands that you pay in bitcoin. So what should you do at that point?

Naturally, what you should do next depends on the circumstances you find yourself in. However, in order to make an informed decision under pressure in such a difficult situation, you need to be aware of the following statistics:

  1. Only 26% of victims whose data was encrypted got their data back by paying the ransom. So even if you do it, there's a high chance that you won't get your data back.
  2. Even if you pay the ransom, doing so usually doubles the cost of dealing with a ransomware attack. Even "honest" hackers that are willing to release their "hostages" once the ransom is paid have a tendency to just drop the victim a decryption key and leave said victim to deal with the situation. Yes, technically, they have given the victim the tool that can theoretically be used to restore the encrypted files – but unless the target of the attack was a cyber-security expert to begin with, they wouldn't be able to utilize that tool. The victim will end up having to pay both the ransom that the crooks demanded, and then hire a cyber-security expert to decrypt their files.
  3. More than 60% of businesses go bankrupt up to six months after suffering a ransomware attack. This could be for a variety of reasons, some financial, some having to do with a ruined reputation, and some – with the fact that similar attacks compromise the security of a business' clients, not only the company itself.
  4. The average cost of a ransomware attack to a business hovers at about half a million dollars. That includes monetary losses, recovery times, fees for services rendered to recover from the attack, etc.

This is why industry experts recommend that users NEVER even consider paying the ransom to the crooks that attacked your system. While the temptation to do so and just be done with it may be there, it will probably not work, and will certainly cost you more than just the ransom.

On the flip side, if a company has a good data backup plan, recovering lost data is way less costly. Yes, it's still downtime, which is annoying at best and a serious problem for business at worst, but losing a few hours or a few days of work, and spending some time setting up your system once more is not the same as losing your entire body of work. Naturally, this will only be possible if the victim had taken the time and effort to prepare for such an eventuality.

And while we're on the subject of preparedness for bad eventualities, there are insurances that cover cyber-attacks that may help mitigate the effects said the attack has on the victim. Note, however, that not all of them cover the specific case of ransomware attacks.

Additionally, a cyber-security expert may be able to recover some data that the hacker seemingly got to encrypt. This is a viable option for recovering data if the attacker's skill set and the tools he used aren't that sophisticated. Overall, the success rate of recovering data without paying the ransom is twice as good as that of paying it, but naturally, the results depend on many variables. It's a calculated risk and one that the victim will have to choose to take themselves.

However, said unfortunate users should always keep in mind that the odds of recovering their data by paying ransom are bad.

July 27, 2020

Leave a Reply