事實證明,不良的隱私做法與成功的數據洩露有很大關係

Poor Privacy Practices Increase The Risk of a Data Breach

多年來,您一直在聽取安全專家的意見,說在註冊之前通讀服務的隱私權政策和服務條款有多麼重要。多年來,您一直在忽略這個建議。也有一個很好的理由。典型的隱私政策是一個充滿術語的令人難以置信的冗長文檔,對於沒有法律學位的人來說是完全無法理解的。仔細閱讀整個政策並解密法務人員會破壞您的工作效率,這就是為什麼您選擇單擊“我接受”按鈕而實際上不知道您剛剛接受了什麼的原因。來自Osano的研究人員決定了解這可能帶來的潛在影響,並且他們發現了服務提供商的隱私政策內容與公開您的個人數據的可能性之間的有趣聯繫。

研究人員研究了1.1萬個網站的隱私政策

Osano的研究人員希望盡可能全面和有條不紊。他們召集了一組律師,並責成他們評估不下11,000個世界上最受歡迎網站的隱私政策。但是,在此之前,專家們會設計一個複雜的評分系統,該評分系統會考慮163個不同因素,以便對網站的數據隱私慣例進行評分。

網站分為四個四分位數。排名前四分之一的位置留給了最關注用戶隱私的服務提供商。在處理用戶數據方面非常透明的網站最終落入了這個四分位數。在第二篇文章中,研究人員提出了可以與其他方共享數據但還提供退出機制的在線服務。當涉及良好的隱私慣例時,位於四分之三的網站超越了商標。在這裡,您可以找到未經用戶明確同意而從事數據經紀的網站。最後,在第四個四分位數中,您擁有的網站已過時或沒有隱私策略。在這些情況下,用戶無法知道最終將有多少隻眼睛查看他們的數據。

缺乏數據隱私和發生數據洩露的可能性之間存在聯繫

在對研究的網站進行了一些研究之後,Osano的專家確定,在過去的15年中,不到2.8%的人報告了數據洩露事件。但是,當他們看到這些網站如何在四分位數之間分配時,研究人員看到了明確的趨勢。

隱私分數最高的網站中只有1.86%的公司報告了數據洩露事件,而在第四個四分位數中,該百分比上升到3.36%。換句話說,未充分保護您的隱私的網站遭受數據洩露的可能性要高80%。

缺乏數據隱私性與漏洞大小之間存在聯繫

到目前為止,這些發現似乎很合乎邏輯。隱私權得分越低,與您的數據共享的第三方數量越多,出現問題的機會就越大。但是,當他們進一步研究時,研究人員意識到,服務提供商的數據隱私慣例與用戶在數據洩露後必須遭受的損害之間也存在關聯。

研究人員計算出這些信息後,平均而言,前三個四分位數中的網站每發生一次數據洩露,就會損失大約770萬條數據記錄。您必須同意,這並不是一個微不足道的數字,但是與隱私評分較低的服務提供商所丟失的5340萬條記錄相比,這算是什麼了。

Osano的研究表明,某些服務提供商要么不知道如何使您的隱私面臨風險,要么根本不在乎。他們弄清楚您是否參與其中的唯一方法是通讀您使用的每個網站的隱私政策。可悲的是,這就是本文第一段中概述的問題引起人們注意的地方。

July 28, 2020

發表評論

As It Turns Out, Poor Privacy Practices Have a Lot to Do With Successful Data Breaches

Poor Privacy Practices Increase The Risk of a Data Breach

For years, you've been listening to security specialists saying how important it is to read through a service's privacy policy and terms of service before signing up. For years, you've been ignoring this advice. There is a very good reason for this as well. A typical privacy policy is an incredibly long document full of lingo that is completely undecipherable to people without law degrees. Reading through the entire policy and decrypting the legalese would ruin your productivity, which is why you opt to click the 'I accept' button without actually knowing what you've just accepted. Researchers from Osano decided to see what the potential implications of this might be, and they discovered an interesting connection between the contents of a service provider's privacy policy and the likelihood of having your personal data exposed.

Researchers go through the privacy policies of 11 thousand websites

Osano's researchers wanted to be as thorough and as methodical as possible. They gathered a team of attorneys and tasked them with evaluating the privacy policies of no fewer than 11,000 of the world's most popular websites. Before they did that, however, the experts would design a complicated scoring system that takes into consideration 163 different factors in order to rate a website's data privacy practices.

The websites were divided into four quartiles. The top quartile was reserved for the service providers that pay the most attention to users' privacy. Websites that are very transparent about the way they handle users' data end up in this quartile. In the second one, the researchers put online services that may share data with other parties, but also provide opt-out mechanisms. Websites in the third quartile overstep the mark when it comes to good privacy practices. In here, you can find websites that may engage in data brokering without explicit consent from the user. Finally, in the fourth quartile, you have websites that have outdated or no privacy policies. In these cases, users have no way of knowing how many eyes would end up looking at their data.

There is a connection between the lack of data privacy and the likelihood of a data breach

After doing some research on the websites that were examined in the study, Osano's experts determined that just under 2.8% of them have reported a data breach over the last fifteen years. When they saw how these websites were distributed among the quartiles, however, the researchers saw a definitive trend.

Only 1.86% of the websites with the highest privacy scores have reported a data breach, whereas in the fourth quartile, this percentage goes up to 3.36%. In other words, websites that don't do enough to protect your privacy are 80% more likely to be hit by a data breach.

There is a connection between the lack of data privacy and the size of the breach

So far, the findings may seem rather logical. The lower the privacy score, the higher the number of third parties your data is shared with, and the higher the chance of something going wrong. When they dug a bit further, however, the researchers realized that there's also a correlation between service providers' data privacy practices and the damage users must incur in the aftermath of a data breach.

Having gone through the information, the researchers calculated that, on average, websites in the first three quartiles lose around 7.7 million data records per data breach. This, you have to agree, is not an insignificant number, but it's nothing compared to the 53.4 million records lost by service providers with low privacy scores.

Osano's research shows that some service providers either don't know how they can put your privacy at risk or they just don't care. They only way of figuring out whether you've engaged with them is to read through the privacy policies of every single website you use. Sadly, this is where the problem outlined in the first paragraph of this article rears its head.

July 28, 2020

Leave a Reply