警方襲擊了印度的26個呼叫中心並逮捕了技術支持詐騙者

india tech support scammers arrested

令人著迷的是人們準備為錢做些什麼。我們在談論這裡的非法活動。鑑於印度警方最近逮捕63人 ,今天我們想談談技術支持騙局以及如何避免這些騙局。

首先,我們將概述有關印度假冒技術支持中心的故事,然後我們將通過一個列表來幫助您識別技術支持騙局。有很多類型的社會工程活動,我們相信每個用戶都應該熟悉最普遍的惡意方案。

印度警察在26個呼叫中心進行逮捕

根據各種報導 ,過去兩個月,在新德里的假呼叫中心逮捕了63人。首先,10月份有10個呼叫中心的24人被捕,其他16個呼叫中心的39名嫌疑人於11月被捕。技術支持騙子為蘋果,谷歌,微軟和其他一些主要科技公司提供支持。

由於技術支持詐騙受害者提交的7000多份報告,逮捕行動成為可能。微軟表示,他們收到了來自超過15個國家的這些報導,所有報導都與印度警方突擊搜查的16個呼叫中心有關。

隨著逮捕,警方還查獲了明顯有助於起訴的證據。獲取的證據包括實時聊天,通話腳本,語音通話記錄以及技術支持騙局操作期間積累的其他數據。

根據微軟的說法,這些欺詐行為非常有利可圖。通常情況下,這些虛假的呼叫中心會給不知情的受害者打電話,並試圖讓他們相信他們的設備存在嚴重的錯誤。因此,操作員推動受害者提供對他們設備的遠程訪問,並最終他們向受害者收費以“修復”所謂的故障設備。費用從150美元到499美元不等,用戶購買的服務絕對沒有必要。總而言之,據估計,通過技術支持騙局,犯罪分子每年的收入約為15億美元。

技術支持詐騙歷史

很顯然,在印度的逮捕只是與技術支持騙局作鬥爭的最新里程碑之一。微軟本身在2014年開始通過推出在線“報告詐騙”表格來應對這一流行病。截至2014年12月,微軟已經針對美國的一家科技詐騙者提起了首次民事訴訟。

兩年後,2016年5月,美國聯邦貿易委員會和微軟舉辦了他們的第一次技術支持詐騙峰會,該峰會顯示了這個問題多年來的重要性。截至2017年6月,倫敦警方已將微軟的四項逮捕和三次與技術支持騙局有關的突襲合作歸功於微軟。然而,儘管人們越來越意識到並且不斷努力阻止和抓住所有騙子,但用戶仍然成為這些騙局的犧牲品。因此,學習如何識別技術支持騙局以及如何保護自己免受攻擊非常重要。

如何識別技術支持騙局

有不同類型的技術支持騙局,你應該能夠識別它們. 我們希望在閱讀此條目後,您會對在線遇到不熟悉的內容或接聽來自未知號碼的電話更有信心。

我們提到電話的原因是所謂的“冷呼叫”可能是最突出的技術支持騙局。在印度被捕的詐騙者也參與了這種做法。現在,當您收到技術支持冷呼叫時會發生什麼?

一名個人騙子稱他們的受害者說他們來自一家可靠的公司,然後他們聲稱受害者的計算機上有惡意軟件。為了消除所謂的惡意軟件感染,詐騙者將試圖說服用戶安裝某些軟件,但實際上,推薦的軟件只允許詐騙者安裝實際的惡意軟件。因此,詐騙者將向用戶收取修復他們自己造成的問題的費用。關鍵在於,微軟或任何其他信譽良好的公司都不太可能打電話通知您計算機上的惡意軟件。因此,如果您收到類似的電話,請注意您遇到過技術支持騙局。

除了通話外,詐騙者還可以通過彈出式警告來定位用戶,這些警告會讓用戶在瀏覽網頁時感到驚訝。這些技術支持詐騙非常具有侵入性,除非您與消息交互,否則它們通常不允許您關閉彈出窗口。毋庸置疑,這些彈出窗口看起來也像是由可靠的來源(如防病毒開發人員)顯示,但如果您的計算機上安裝了防病毒程序,則只會彈出這樣的彈出窗口。此外,彈出窗口將顯示在系統托盤上,而不是顯示在瀏覽器上。因此,侵入式彈出窗口也是一個大紅旗,可以告訴你如何識別技術支持騙局。

您也可能通過第三方廣告和修改後的搜索結果暴露於此類詐騙,但如果是這種情況,那麼您顯然需要使用合法的反間諜軟件程序執行完整的系統掃描。用戶在計算機上安裝了可能不需要的軟件時,通常會遇到修改過的搜索結果。因此,為了保護自己免受技術支持欺詐,您還必須確保您的系統安全且乾淨。

如果你成為技術支持詐騙受害者該怎麼辦

如果您不知道如何識別技術支持騙局,並且他們已經騙過您的錢,那麼您可以採取某些措施來確保它不會再次發生。首先,您可能想要更改密碼。它可以是您在各種網站上的帳戶的計算機密碼或密碼,但最重要的是,如果您的安全性受到詐騙者的攻擊,您需要更改它們。您可能希望使用可靠的密碼管理器來幫助您生成難以破解的新強密碼。

接下來,投資獲得許可的安全工具將是一個好主意,該工具可以在它們造成巨大破壞之前識別詐騙。最後,你應該向負責任的機構報告這個騙局。它可能是您的銀行或其技術支持被詐騙者冒充的公司。如果您提供有關該事件的足夠信息,您將能夠幫助當局打擊這種騙局流行病,並且可能導致更多的突襲和逮捕,就像上個月在印度的襲擊和逮捕一樣。

January 28, 2019

發表評論

重要!若要繼續到下一步,請完成以下簡單的數學問題。
Please leave these two fields as is:
2 + 4是什麼?

Police Raid 26 Call Centers in India and Arrest Tech-Support Scammers

india tech support scammers arrested

It is fascinating what people are ready to do for money. And we're talking about the illegal activities here. In the light of the recent 63 arrests made by Indian police, today we would like to talk about tech-support scams and how to avoid them.

First, we will overview the story about the fake tech-support centers in India, and then we will go through a list that should help you recognize a tech-support scam. There are many types of social engineering activities out there, and we believe that every single user should be familiar with the most prevalent malicious schemes.

Indian Police Make Arrests at 26 Call Centers

According to various reports, over the last two months, 63 arrests were made in fake call centers in New Delhi. First, 24 people from 10 call centers were arrested in October, and then 39 suspects from other 16 call centers were arrested in November. The tech-support scammers posed as support staff for Apple, Google, Microsoft, and a number of other major tech companies.

The arrests were made possible due to over 7000 reports filed by tech-support scam victims. Microsoft said that they received these reports from over 15 countries, and all of them were related to the 16 call centers that were raided by the Indian police.

Along with the arrests, the police also seized the evidence that will clearly help with the prosecution. The seized evidence includes live chats, call scripts, voice call recordings, and other data accumulated during tech-support scam operations.

According to Microsoft, these fraudulent operations are quite lucrative. Normally, these fake call centers give calls to unsuspecting victims, and they try to convince them that there is something terribly wrong with their devices. Consequently, the operators push the victims into providing the remote access to their device, and eventually they charge the victims for "fixing" the supposedly malfunctioning devices. The charge ranges from $150 to $499, and it goes without saying that the services that users purchase are absolutely unnecessary. All in all, it is estimated that through tech-support scams, criminals make approximately $1.5b every single year.

The Tech Support Scam History

It is clear that the arrests in India are just one of the most recent milestones in the battle against the tech-support scam. Microsoft itself began battling the epidemic in 2014 by launching an online "Report A Scam" form. By December 2014, Microsoft had already filed its first civil action against a tech scammer based in the US.

Two years later, in May 2016, the U.S. Federal Trade Commission and Microsoft hosted their first Tech Support Scam Summit, which showed how big the issue has become over the years. By June 2017, London police had credited Microsoft for collaborating on four arrests and three raids related to the tech-support scam. However, despite the growing awareness and the continuous effort to stop and catch all the crooks, users still manage to fall prey to these scams. Therefore, it is important to learn how to recognize a tech-support scam and how to protect yourself from it.

How to Recognize a Tech-Support Scam

There are different types of tech-support scams, and you should be able to recognize them all. We hope that after reading this entry, you will feel more confident about encountering unfamiliar content online or answering calls from unknown numbers.

The reason we mention phone calls is that the so-called "cold calls" are probably the most prominent type of tech-support scam. The scammers who were arrested in India were also involved in such practice. Now, what happens when you receive a tech-support cold call?

An individual scammer calls their victim saying that they are from a reliable company and then they claim that there's malware on a victim's computer. In order to remove the supposed malware infection, the scammer will try to convince the user to install certain software, but in reality, the recommended software would only allow the scammers to install actual malware. As a result, scammers will charge users for fixing the issues they have caused themselves. The point is that it is very unlikely that Microsoft or any other reputable company would ever make a personal call to notify you about malware on your computer. Therefore, if you receive a similar phone call, be aware that you have encountered a tech-support scam.

Aside from phone calls, scammers may target users through pop-up warnings that take users by surprise when they browse the web. These tech-support scams are very intrusive, and it is often that they do not allow you to close the pop-up window unless you interact with the message. Needless to say, these pop-ups also look like they are displayed by reliable sources (like antivirus developers), but you would only get such a pop-up if you actually had an antivirus program installed on your computer. Also, the pop-up would show up on your system tray, not on your browser. Thus, intrusive pop-ups are also a big red flag that can show you how to recognize a tech-support scam.

You could also be exposed to such scams through third-party advertising and modified search results, but if that is the case, then you clearly need to perform a full system scan with a legitimate antispyware program. Users often encounter modified search results when they have potentially unwanted software installed on their computers. Thus, to protect yourself from tech-support scams, you must also make sure that your system is safe and clean.

What to Do if You Became a Tech-Support Scam Victim

If you didn't know how to recognize a tech-support scam, and they already swindled you out of your money, there are certain things you can do to make sure that it doesn't happen again. First, you might want to change your passwords. It can be your computer passwords or passwords to your accounts on various websites, but the bottom line is that if your security was compromised by scammers, you need to change them. You might want to use a reliable password manager to help you generate new strong passwords that will be hard to crack.

Next, it would be a good idea to invest in a licensed security tool that would recognize scams before they manage to inflict great damage. And finally, you should report the scam to the responsible institution. It could be your bank or the company whose tech support was impersonated by the scammers. If you provide enough information about the incident, you will be able to help the authorities fight this scam endemic, and it can result in more raids and arrests just like the ones in India last month.

By Foley
January 10, 2019
January 10, 2019

Leave a Reply

IMPORTANT! To be able to proceed, you need to solve the following simple math.
Please leave these two fields as is:
What is 9 + 7 ?