涉嫌违反了超过50万个ArbiterSports帐户

ArbiterSports是美国大学,学校和青年足球运动官员的应用程序和服务。据报道,攻击后该平台已被破坏,并暴露了50万用户帐户。

由于受影响的帐户包含许多个人可识别信息,包括用户的姓名,出生日期,电子邮件,地址和社会安全号码,因此该违规行为是一个重大事件。 ArbiterSports向他们的用户发送了一封公开信,告知他们7月中旬发生的安全漏洞。该公司在2020年7月15日意识到了这次攻击。但是,最初的黑客攻击可能发生在大约两周前。

共有53.9万个帐户受到黑客攻击,并且向印第安纳州司法部长办公室提交的正式文件确认泄漏的帐户中包含重要的个人信息。 ArbiterSports表示,他们联系了攻击背后的不良行为者,并要求金钱赎金,并承诺将删除被盗的帐户信息。再次,据该公司称,达成了某种随机协议,并支付了赎金。 ArbiterSports表示反对他们的钱,他们“确认”黑客删除了文件和信息。

这种情况的处理并没有给人留下最好的印象,因为ArbiterSports本质上将大量网络罪犯用在了自己的话语上,以删除宝贵的被盗信息。随后发表了一篇中型文章,对该公司的攻击方法和赎金要求提出了强烈批评。该文章强烈暗示ArbiterSports不会以散列格式存储密码,并且对用户的社会安全号码使用了较差的加密。

每天在不同的网站 ,应用程序,服务和平台上或多或少会发生类似的数据泄露事件。一旦您的信息从数据库中泄漏出去,除了尽快更改密码,甚至完全关闭该帐户,您将无法做很多事情,但是,在发生任何潜在的违规行为之前,您可以做一些事情。

如果平台提供保护,请务必使用其他保护

许多网站和应用程序以短信,其他电子邮件或手机上用于额外验证的其他应用程序的形式为用户提供两因素身份验证。始终确保在提供此功能的任何平台上都使用此额外的安全保护层。

使用强而复杂的密码

一条好的经验法则是始终使用复杂的复合密码字符串,其中包含大小写字母,数字和特殊符号的健康组合。所有这些不同字符打开的可能组合数量之多,使得这种密码几乎不可能被强行使用。

September 28, 2020

发表评论

Over 500k ArbiterSports Accounts Allegedly Breached

ArbiterSports is an application and a service used by sports officials in college, school and youth football in the USA. According to reports, the platform has been breached and 500 thousand user accounts have been exposed in the wake of the attack.

The breach was a significant event as the accounts affected contained a lot of personally idenfitiable information, including names, dates of birth, emails, addresses and social security numbers of the users. ArbiterSports sent a disclosure letter to their users, informing them of a security breach that took place in mid-July. The company became aware of the attack on July 15, 2020. The initial hack, however, likely took place around two weeks prior.

A total of 539 thousand accounts were affected by the hack and official documents filed with the Indiana Attorney General's office confirm that there was significant personal information contained in the leaked accounts. ArbiterSports stated that they contacted the bad actors behind the attack and the criminals demanded monetary ransom, promising they would delete the stolen account information. Again, according to the company, some sort of ransom agreement was reached and the ransom was paid. Against its money, ArbiterSports stated they received "confirmation" that the hackers deleted the files and information.

This handling of the situation did not make the best impression, as ArbiterSports essentially took a bunch of cybercriminals on their word to delete valuable stolen information. A Medium article was later published that levied strong criticisms against the company for its approach to the attack and the ransom demand. The article strongly implies that ArbiterSports were not storing passwords in hashed format and were using poor encryption for the social security numbers of users.

Similar data breaches happen more or less on a daily basis across different websites, apps, services and platforms. While you cannot do much once your info leaks from a database apart from change your passwords as quickly as possible or even close that account entirely, there are a few things you can do before any potential breaches happen.

Always use additional protection if the platform offers it

A lot of websites and apps offer their users two-factor authentication in the form of text messages, additional emails or an extra app on your mobile phone that is used for extra verification. Always make sure to use this extra layer of security and protection on any platform that offers it.

Use strong and complex passwords

A good rule of thumb is to always use complex, compound password strings that contain a healthy mix of upper and lowercase letters, digits and special symbols. The sheer number of possible combinations that all those different characters open up makes such passwords virtually impossible to brute-force.

September 28, 2020

Leave a Reply