在DigitalOcean数据泄漏中,客户数据已暴露给未知方

DigitalOcean Data Leak

从历史上看,我们学会了将数据泄露与网络犯罪分子联系在一起,后者使用聪明的技术来破解目标组织的防御体系并窃取用户的个人详细信息。尽管黑客确实确实在折衷各种形式和规模的在线服务,但如今,数据泄露通常不是服务提供商本身所犯错误的结果。

安全研究人员发现每天都有不受保护的服务器和意外暴露的数据库,其中包含数兆字节的私有信息,因此他们不断敦促公司加强其数据存储过程。不幸的是,泄漏继续发生,这至少部分是由于人们倾向于低估了这些事件。通常,当专家找到一个公开的数据库时,他们无法说出第三方是否已设法访问了它们之前的数据,并且由于服务提供商通常在此后没有立即注意到任何恶意活动,因此人们认为泄漏是是无关紧要的。作为全球最大的托管服务提供商之一,DigitalOcean最近公开了一些客户数据,并显示出这种“没有危害”的心态可能有多危险。

DigitalOcean公开了一个充满用户数据的文档

上周,DigitalOcean开始通知一些客户有关数据泄漏的信息。显然,一名员工无意间通过公共链接提供了一份内部文件。公开的数据包括电子邮件地址和帐户名,以及特定于帐户的详细信息,例如带宽使用率,Droplet计数和支持说明。尽管该公司坚称人们的财务信息没有受到影响,但也暴露了2018年影响用户付费的托管服务金额。

违规通知从未变成正式声明或新闻稿,您很可能会明白原因。该文档实际上并没有包含任何特别敏感的信息,并且除了电子邮件地址和帐户名之外,黑客几乎找不到其他有用的信息。更重要的是,当像ZDNet这样的媒体获得新闻报道时,DigitalOcean的一位发言人说,只有大约1%的公司客户受到了影响。换句话说,泄漏似乎并不是特别值得注意。但是,从教育的角度来看,它可能非常有用,特别是对于那些倾向于低估与此类泄漏相关的危险的人们。

未经授权的第三方访问数据15次

DigitalOcean表示,由于违规,人们的帐户周围没有可观察到的异常活动。但是,该公司确实承认,未经授权的第三方在删除文档之前已对其进行了15次访问。

这不是我们见过的最严重的泄漏,但是我们希望人们会注意它,因为它可以作为确凿的证据证明,如果一条信息迟早会留在互联网上,那么有人会对它。这些信息可能(并且通常是)非常敏感,人们必须了解,即使没有任何经过证明的滥用,如果已经公开曝光,也应视为已泄露。

希望诸如DigitalOcean之类的公司将尽其所能,以确保此类事件尽可能少发生,并希望用户最终将意识到它们的危险性。

May 11, 2020

Customer Data Has Been Exposed to Unknown Parties in a DigitalOcean Data Leak

DigitalOcean Data Leak

Historically, we have learned to associate data breaches with cybercriminals who use clever techniques to hack their way past the targeted organizations' defenses and steal users' personal details. While it is true that hackers do compromise online services of all shapes and sizes, nowadays, data exposure is more often than not the result of mistakes made by the service providers themselves.

Security researchers find unprotected servers and accidentally exposed databases that contain terabytes of private information every day, and they constantly urge companies to tighten their data storage procedures. Unfortunately, leaks continue to occur, and this is at least partly due to the fact that people tend to underestimate these incidents. Often, when the experts find an exposed database, they have no way of saying whether a third party has managed to access the data before them, and because service providers usually fail to notice any malicious activity in the immediate aftermath, people assume that the leak is inconsequential. DigitalOcean, one of the world's biggest hosting providers, recently exposed some customer data and showed just how dangerous this "no harm done" mentality could be.

DigitalOcean exposes a document full of user data

Last week, DigitalOcean started informing some of its clients about a data leak. Apparently, an employee had accidentally made an internal document available through a public link. The exposed data includes email addresses and account names, as well as account-specific details like bandwidth usage, Droplet counts, and support notes. The amounts affected users paid for hosting services during the year 2018 were also exposed, though the company was adamant that people's financial information was not affected.

The breach notification was never turned into an official statement or a press release, and you can probably see why. The document doesn't really contain any particularly sensitive information, and, apart from the email addresses and the account names, there's little else the hackers might find useful. What's more, when media outlets like ZDNet picked up the news, a DigitalOcean spokesperson said that only around 1% of the company's customers were affected. In other words, the leak doesn't seem especially noteworthy. From an educational standpoint, however, it can be extremely useful, especially for people who tend to underestimate the dangers associated with this type of leaks.

Unauthorized third parties accessed the data 15 times

DigitalOcean said that there has been no observable abnormal activity surrounding people's accounts as a result of the breach. The company did admit, however, that the document was accessed by unauthorized third parties 15 times before it was taken down.

This is not the worst leak we've ever seen, but we do hope that people will pay attention to it, because it can act as hard proof that if a piece of information is left on the internet, sooner or later, someone will get to it. This information can (and often is) extremely sensitive, and people must learn that even if there is absence of any proven misuse, if it's been publicly exposed, it should be considered compromised.

Hopefully, companies like DigitalOcean will do what they can to ensure that incidents like this one are as rare as possible, and hopefully, users will finally realize how dangerous they can be.

May 11, 2020

Leave a Reply