在線釣魚者正在使用這種聰明的騙局追捕Microsoft Office 365管理員帳戶

如果您的組織使用Office 365,則您現在可能已經看到了針對您的社區的網絡釣魚電子郵件。但是,當網絡釣魚攻擊針對常規用戶時是一回事,而當犯罪分子瞄準Microsoft Office 365管理員帳戶時,情況就完全不同了。畢竟,如果管理員帳戶遭到入侵,後果也可能會影響不同級別的其他用戶。

我們將使用此博客條目來告訴您有關Office 365憑據盜竊的更多信息,然後我們將閱讀由Microsoft提供的反網絡釣魚防護準則。儘管公司建議的設置只是邁向安全虛擬環境的第一步,但如果要保護系統,則必須採取這一步驟。

針對Microsoft Office 365管理員帳戶的網絡釣魚攻擊

每天都會進行一次嘗試破壞Office 365帳戶的嘗試。安全專家發現了更大的網絡釣魚活動,他們在博客上共享了這些重要信息。我們要談論的網絡釣魚攻擊是PhishLabs在2019年11月首次發現的。

根據該報告,惡意電子郵件已傳遞到多個Microsoft Office 365管理員帳戶。這些電子郵件被稱為“網絡釣魚誘餌”,因為它們的目的是誘使管理員洩露敏感信息。

儘管普通用戶被騙去洩露自己的個人憑據是很普遍的,但人們希望系統管理員對此更加謹慎。貌似,威脅行為者也是如此,因為從各種經過驗證的域發送的網絡釣魚誘騙電子郵件都是Microsoft的正式通知所偽裝。

什麼是經過驗證的域?好吧,請考慮一下一個看起來根本不會可疑的域。例如,如果您收到一封電子郵件,域名中帶有大學首字母縮寫,那麼您更有可能信任該電子郵件,不是嗎?這確實是這種騙局的工作方式:經過驗證的域可能不屬於Microsoft,但它們看起來可靠,因此,可能會誘使管理員在那些網絡釣魚誘餌中舔除鏈接。

但是,他們單擊鏈接的那一刻,便將其重定向到偽造的Office 365登錄頁面。看起來就像普通的一樣,如果管理員輸入了他們的登錄憑據,騙子就可以竊取它們並使用它來訪問系統。不用說,管理員級別的網絡釣魚攻擊引發了更多的安全隱患。

根據PhishLabs的報告,根據Office 365配置,受感染的管理員帳戶也可能使網絡犯罪分子也可以接管域中的其他電子郵件帳戶。更不用說,有時管理員權限使他們可以重置忘記的密碼和配置單點登錄首選項。因此,如果管理員帳戶被盜用,則整個系統可能會面臨嚴重數據失竊的危險。

除了通過網絡釣魚攻擊竊取信息外,黑客還可以在受感染的域上創建新帳戶。此外,一旦犯罪分子觸手可及的某個域,他們就可以使用該域的資源向其他系統發送更多的網絡釣魚誘餌。因此,網絡釣魚攻擊的惡性循環永遠不會結束。實際上,有人收到這些網絡釣魚誘餌這一事實僅證明某些域已經被破壞。這將我們引向另一點。

網絡釣魚攻擊有何特別之處?

正如我們已經提到的,此騙局之所以脫穎而出,是因為它針對的是管理員帳戶。但是,還有另外一件事使它變得極為隱秘。那將使用合法組織的基礎架構。使用合法域可以使這些詐騙者避免使用通常的電子郵件過濾器將垃圾郵件重定向到垃圾文件夾。同樣,當此類郵件到達主收件箱時,甚至管理員也更有可能發現它們可信。

另一個有趣的點是,用於網絡釣魚攻擊的受感染域的管理員無法注意到惡意活動。研究表明,詐騙者在受影響的域上創建新帳戶以發送垃圾郵件,因此沒有合法的帳戶用戶會注意到外發郵件。被利用的不是電子郵件帳戶,而是域本身。

如何避免網絡釣魚攻擊

安全專家認為,每個人都應對這種網絡釣魚攻擊保持警惕,因為目前似乎並沒有針對某個特定的企業或行業。管理員只需要警惕帶有諸如“重新:需要採取措施!”或“重新:我們對您的帳戶進行保留”之類的主題行的電子郵件。

建議管理員不要立即單擊消息中的URL,而應立即聯繫其IT部門。您的企業可能有多種方法來應對此類電子郵件事件,但是仔細檢查電子郵件內容始終是一個不錯的起點。

Microsoft提供了這些準則 ,可以幫助您增強Office 365對網絡釣魚攻擊的保護。

如何增強Office 365保護

  1. 訪問管理中心,然後選擇“ 安全性”
  2. 轉到“ 威脅管理” ,選擇“ 策略” ,然後轉到“ ATP反網絡釣魚”
  3. 選擇默認策略,然後在模擬部分中選擇編輯
  4. 打開“ 添加域”以保護並選擇自動包括您的域。
  5. 打開“操作” ,然後單擊下拉列表( 如果電子郵件是由模擬用戶發送的)
  6. 選擇所需的操作 ,然後選擇“啟用模擬安全提示”。
  7. 選擇所需的提示 ,然後單擊“ 保存”
  8. 轉到郵箱情報 ,並確保其已打開
  9. 選擇添加可信的發件人和域以添加可靠的域和電子郵件地址。
  10. 轉到“ 查看您的設置” ,然後單擊“ 保存”
  11. 關閉並退出菜單。

除了採用最基本的安全措施外,強烈建議始終提醒普通用戶網絡釣魚攻擊的危險。有時,一個嚴重的問題可能始於一封分散的網上誘騙電子郵件,使分心的用戶與之交互而沒有任何其他想法。

管理員應考慮教育用戶有關強密碼和多因素身份驗證的重要性。強烈建議您使用密碼管理器,如果您想知道密碼管理器的工作原理,可以單擊右側的橙色“ 免費30天試用版”按鈕來親自查看密碼管理器。

February 6, 2020

發表評論

Online Phishers Are Going After Microsoft Office 365 Administrator Accounts Using This Clever Scam

If your organization uses Office 365, you have probably seen phishing emails that target your community by now. However, it’s one thing when phishing attacks target regular users, and it’s an entirely different story when criminals aim for the Microsoft Office 365 administrator account. After all, if an admin account is compromised, the repercussions could reach other users across different levels, too.

We will use this blog entry to tell you more about the Office 365 credential theft, and then we will go through the anti-phishing protection guidelines offered by Microsoft. Although the settings recommended by the company are just the first step towards a secure virtual environment, taking that step is crucial if you want to protect your system.

The Phishing Attack against Microsoft Office 365 Administrator Accounts

The attempts to compromise Office 365 accounts are carried out every single day. Bigger phishing campaigns get detected by security specialists, who share this vital information on their blogs. The phishing attack that we want to talk about was first revealed by PhishLabs in November 2019.

According to the report, the malicious emails were delivered to multiple Microsoft Office 365 administrator accounts. These emails were called “phishing lures” because their intention was to lure the admins into giving away sensitive information.

While it is quite common for regular users to get tricked into giving away their personal credentials, one would expect that system admins are a lot more careful about that. Seemingly, it was also what the threat actors thought, too, because the phishing lure emails masqueraded as official notifications from Microsoft sent from various validated domains.

What is a validated domain? Well, think of a domain that wouldn’t look suspicious at all. For example, if you received an email with university initials in its domain name, you would be more likely to trust that email, wouldn’t you? This is exactly how this scam works: the validated domains might not belong to Microsoft, but they look reliable, and thus, admins might be lured into licking the links in those phishing lures.

The moment they click the link, however, they get redirected to a fake Office 365 login page. It looks just like the regular one, and if the admin enters their login credentials, the crooks can steal them and use it to access the system. Needless to say, an admin level phishing attack raises a lot more security concerns.

According to the report by PhishLabs, depending on the Office 365 configuration, the compromised admin account could allow cybercriminals to take over other email accounts within the domain, too. Not to mention that sometimes admin privileges allow them to reset forgotten passwords and configure single-sign-on preferences. Hence, if an admin account is compromised, the entire system could be in danger of severe data theft.

Aside from stealing the information through this phishing attack, hackers could create new accounts on the compromised domain. Also, once the criminals have a certain domain under their fingertips, they can use the domain’s resources to send out more phishing lures to other systems. Thus, a vicious circle of phishing attacks never ends. In fact, the fact that someone receives these phishing lures just proves that some domains have already been compromised. And this leads us to another point.

What’s So Special About This Phishing Attack?

As we have already mentioned, this scam stands out because it targets admin accounts. However, there is one more thing that makes it extremely sneaky. That would be using the infrastructure of a legitimate organization. Using a legitimate domain allows these scammers to avoid the usual email filters that redirect spam into the Junk folder. Also, when such messages reach the main inbox, even admins are more likely to find them believable.

Another interesting point is that the admins of compromised domains that are used for this phishing attack cannot notice the malicious activity. The research shows that scammers create new accounts on the affected domains to send out spam, and so no legitimate account users notice the outgoing mail. It’s not the email accounts that get exploited, but the domain itself.

How to Avoid Phishing Attacks

Security specialists argue that everyone should be wary of such phishing attacks because it doesn’t seem like one specific enterprise or industry is being targeted at the moment. Administrators just have to be wary of emails that come with such subject lines as “Re: Action Required!” or “Re: We placed a hold on your account.”

Instead of clicking the URLs in the message, an admin is advised to contact their IT department immediately. Your enterprise might have various methods to counter such email incidents, but double-checking the email content is always a good starting point.

Microsoft offers these guidelines that should help you enhance Office 365 protection against phishing attacks.

How to enhance Office 365 protection

  1. Access the admin center and select Security.
  2. Go to Threat Management, choose Policy, and go to ATP Anti-phishing.
  3. Choose Default Policy and select Edit in the Impersonation section.
  4. Open Add domains to protect and select to automatically include your domains.
  5. Open Action, click the drop-down If email is sent by an impersonated user.
  6. Select the action you want and choose Turn on impersonation safety tips.
  7. Choose the tips you want and click Save.
  8. Go to Mailbox intelligence and make sure it’s turned on.
  9. Select Add trusted senders and domains to add reliable domains and email addresses.
  10. Go to Review your settings and click Save.
  11. Press Close and exit the menu.

Aside from employing the most basic security measures, it is always highly recommended to constantly remind the regular users of the dangers behind phishing attacks. Sometimes a serious problem may begin with one stray phishing email that a distracted user interacts with without any second thought.

Admins should consider educating users about the importance of strong passwords and multi-factor authentication. Password managers are also highly recommended, and if you want to know how that works, you can see it for yourself by clicking the orange FREE 30-Day Trial button on the right.

February 6, 2020

Leave a Reply