在过去18个月中,近80%的公司遭受了云数据泄露

企业在线迁移是合乎逻辑的,并且几乎所有数据和信息都可以通过云服务进行存储和访问只是时间问题。但是,就像外面的任何事物一样,云服务也容易受到网络犯罪活动的影响,因此,云安全性对于任何企业都是至关重要的。也许客户没有意识到这种威胁,但是云数据泄露比人们想象的要普遍得多。

在本条目中,我们将向您简要介绍《 Ermetic》报告 ,该报告阐明了云安全性的现实,并且我们还将更详细地讨论调查所揭示的对云安全性的最大威胁。

云数据泄露很普遍

Ermetic是一家云访问风险安全公司,致力于通过实施新的安全实践来创建更安全的云安全环境。为了证明您需要一个新的安全性范式,您需要证明当前的实践存在问题。因此,进行了研究研究以找出导致云数据泄露的主要问题。

全球情报公司IDC进行的一项调查的结果由Ermetic发布,它显示近80%的被调查公司在过去18个月中经历了云数据泄露。在同一时期,几乎有一半的被调查公司遭受了十次甚至更多次违规。

这表明云数据泄露比我们想像的更为普遍。我们在这里谈论的是处理和存储大量个人数据的公司内部的云安全问题。参与调查的公司包括银行,医疗保健,政府,零售,媒体,制药等领域的公司。这证明了云安全问题的影响范围之广,经历这些漏洞的公司必须更加努力地实施正确的云安全实践。

最常见的云安全问题

根据调查,Ermetic能够提供关键发现,这些发现不仅包括遭受至少一次云数据泄露的公司数量,而且还揭示了主要的云安全威胁。最主要的三个安全威胁是安全配置错误(67%),访问权限不足(64%)以及IAM和权限配置不正确(61%)。大多数情况下,这些威胁来自云基础架构部署的按需性质。拥有访问敏感数据权限的用户可能会比应有的更多,并且只有所述用户的一小部分会定期访问该数据。因此,所有其他具有访问权限的帐户都是网络犯罪分子可以利用的责任。

为了缓解这些威胁,建议公司应专注于合规性监视,安全配置管理以及授权和许可管理。授权管理涉及用户访问和授权设置,例如密码,多因素身份验证,权限等。不用说,鼓励公司依赖密码管理器来存储和更新密码,因为维护默认密码是严重的安全威胁。还必须使员工意识到这些安全问题,以便他们采用最佳安全实践。而且,密码还直接与最大的云安全风险之一相关联,即安全配置错误。

生产环境的安全配置错误

安全配置错误被认为是主要的云安全问题,这是内部产生的问题,这取决于IT团队如何配置云存储的安全设置。与安全性配置错误相关的问题很多,最常见的问题之一就是授予对存储桶的公共访问权限 。存储桶的问题在于它们很少受到身份验证方法的保护,而这已经是一个明显的安全漏洞。

但是,不用说,还有许多其他与安全性配置错误相关的问题。这些问题大多数都涉及对敏感数据的过多访问权限。可能某些云配置具有允许的安全组策略,或者某些Internet连接路径配置不正确。关键是,每一个单据(无论有多小)都会为潜在的云数据泄露创造机会,然后IT团队必须加紧努力以纠正错误的设置。而且,从引入云服务的一开始就可以完成的工作,公司就花了很多时间对员工进行有关新安全实践的再培训。

专家还建议,缺乏可见性也是造成安全配置错误的原因。 IT团队可能愿意实施安全的配置,但是由于公有云采用率呈指数级增长并且缺乏对这些云环境中实际运行情况的可见性,因此IT团队可能能够涵盖云安全性的各个方面在有限的时间内。

云配置错误上升的另一个原因是人为错误。因此,安全专家提供的建议之一是采用尽可能多的自动化工具。当然,始终存在自动化工具无法跟上快速应用程序开发的问题。但是,同时使用自动化工具可以帮助降低配置错误的风险。它还可以提高网络可见性,使IT团队可以更好地了解正在发生的事情,而这本身可以防止云配置错误。

总而言之,云安全是一个复杂的问题,解决它需要在内部进行大量工作。根据使用云服务的领域,最终用户可能对此问题没有太多发言权。实施安全云安全实践的必要性显然取决于使用此类服务的公司。保护他们的信息免遭云数据泄露并教育其员工最佳安全做法,这是他们的最大利益。毕竟,每一个网络安全问题不仅会导致财务损失,而且还会导致客户信任度下降。

September 4, 2020

发表评论

Nearly 80% of Companies Have Suffered a Cloud Data Breach in the Last 18 Months

It is only logical that businesses are migrating online, and it is only a matter of time until almost all the data and information is stored and accessed via cloud services. However, just like anything out there, cloud services are also susceptible to cybercrime activities, and thus, cloud security is vital for any business. Perhaps customers are not aware of such threats, but cloud data breaches are far more common than one might think.

In this entry, we would like to give you an overview of the Ermetic report that sheds light on the realities of cloud security, and we also discuss in greater detail the biggest threat to cloud security, as revealed by the survey.

Cloud data breach is commonplace

Ermetic is a cloud access risk security company that strives to create a safer cloud security environment by implementing new security practices. To prove that you need a new security paradigm, you need to show that there are issues with the current practices. Thus, research studies are carried out to figure out the main problems that lead to a cloud data breach.

The results of one of this survey by global intelligence firm IDC were posted by Ermetic, and it revealed that almost 80% of the surveyed companies had experienced a cloud data breach in the last 18 months. And almost half of the surveyed companies suffered ten or more breaches in the same period.

This shows that cloud data breaches are more common than we would like to think. And we’re talking here about cloud security problems within companies that process and store tons of personal data. The companies that participated in the survey include firms from such spheres as banking, healthcare, government, retail, media, pharmaceutical, and others. This proves how wide-reaching the cloud security problem is, and that companies that experience those breaches have to work harder to implement proper cloud security practices.

The most common cloud security issues

Based on the survey, Ermetic was able to provide the key findings that include not only the number of companies that experienced at least one cloud data breach, but reveal main cloud security threats, too. The top three security threats happen to be security misconfiguration (67%), lack of visibility into access (64%), and improper IAM and permission configurations (61%). For the most part, those threats arise from the on-demand nature of cloud infrastructure deployments. There might be more users with permissions to access sensitive data than there should be, and only a small share of the said users would be accessing that data regularly. So, all the other accounts that have access permission are a liability that can be exploited by cybercriminals.

To mitigate those threats, it is suggested that companies should focus on compliance monitoring, security configuration management, and authorization and permission management. Authorization management involves user access and authorization settings, such as passwords, multi-factor authentication, permissions, and so on. Needless to say, companies are encouraged to rely on password managers for password storage and renewal since maintaining a default password is a severe security threat. Employees also have to be made aware of these security issues, so they would employ the best security practices. What’s more, passwords are also directly associated with one of the greatest cloud security risks that is the security misconfiguration.

Security misconfiguration of production environments

Security misconfiguration was indicated as the main cloud security issue, and this is a problem that comes from the inside, as it depends on how the IT teams configure security settings for cloud storage. There are multiple problems associated with security misconfiguration, and one of the most common issue is granting public access to storage buckets. The problem with storage buckets is that they are seldom protected by authentication methods, and that is already a glaring security flaw.

However, it goes without saying that there are multiple other problems related to security misconfiguration. Most of these problems deal with excessive access permissions to sensitive data. Perhaps some cloud configurations have permissive security group policies, or some Internet connectivity paths are not configured properly. The point is that every single slip (no matter how small it is) creates an opening for a potential cloud data breach, and then the IT teams have to scramble to correct the faulty settings. What’s more, companies lose a lot of time re-educating their employees about the new security practices, when it could’ve been done from the very beginning when cloud service was introduced.

Experts also suggest that lack of visibility is also to blame for the issues with security misconfiguration. An IT team might be willing to implement safe configurations, but due to the exponential growth of the public cloud adoption and the lack of visibility of what’s really going on in those cloud environments, IT teams might be able to cover every single aspect of cloud security within a limited period of time.

Another reason why the cloud misconfigurations are on the rise is human error. Thus, one of the suggestions offered by security specialists is employing as many automation tools as possible. Of course, there is always the problem of automation tools being unable to keep up with the rapid app development. However, at the same time, employing automation tools can help decrease the risk of misconfiguration. It can also improve the network visibility allowing the IT teams to better see what’s going on and that in itself would prevent cloud misconfiguration.

All in all, cloud security is a complex issue, and solving it involves a lot of effort on the inside. Depending on the sphere where cloud services are employed, end users might not have much say on the problem. The necessity to implement safe cloud security practices clearly depends on the companies that employ such services. It should be in their best interest to protect their information from cloud data breach and to educate their employees about optimal security practices. After all, every single cybersecurity issue can result not only in financial losses but also in the loss of customer trust.

September 4, 2020

Leave a Reply