微軟報告稱2020年惡意Web Shell數量翻了一番

微軟的檢測和響應安全團隊報告稱,在2020年期間,惡意Web Shell檢測的數量急劇增加。這種激增表明持續的趨勢在最近幾個月中變得越來越重要。

在2020年8月至2021年1月的幾個月中,Microsoft的安全團隊每月檢測到的惡意Web Shell實例的月平均數量從去年的77,000增加到了140,000。

研究團隊以Web Shell為惡意行為者提供的極大的靈活性和實用性來解釋這種增加。惡意Web Shell使用標準Web編程語言(例如ASP,JSP和JS)進行編碼,並且很容易隱藏在普通代碼中。

如果沒有人工操作人員瀏覽大量的服務器代碼,並且使不良行為者能夠遠程執行受感染服務器上的代碼和命令,通常很難找到它們。

Web Shell通常會使用已知的和固定的漏洞,然後潛入尚未打補丁的服務器上。

微軟還概述了將Web Shell用作確保網絡上惡意持久性的機制的危險。

一旦部署並且未被檢測到,Web Shell可以充當後門,惡意行為者可以使用它來在網絡上部署其他惡意工具並從受感染的系統中挖掘敏感信息。 Web Shell被用作對受感染網絡進行大規模攻擊的焦點並不少見。

快速部署新服務器來彌補對雲功能和存儲需求的增長,這也為惡意行為者提供了許多新的攻擊目標。

檢測到的惡意Web Shell的增加也部分歸因於全球2020 Covid大流行帶來的新服務器實例的增加。

February 15, 2021

發表評論

Microsoft Reports Malicious Web Shells Doubled in 2020

Microsoft's Detection and Response security team reported a dramatic increase in malicious web shell detections over the course of 2020. This surge shows a continuing trend that got more significant in the last few months.

The monthly average number of malicious web shell instances detected by Microsoft's security team over the course of the months between August 2020 and January 2021 rose from 77,000 to 140,000 on a year-over-year basis.

The research team explains this increase with the great flexibility and utility that web shells offer malicious actors. Malicious web shells are coded using standard web programming languages such as ASP, JSP and JS and are very easy to hide in normal code.

They are usually hard to find without a human operator going through the mass of server code and allow bad actors to execute code and commands on the compromised server remotely.

Web shells would often use known and fixed vulnerabilities and sneak onto servers that have not yet been patched.

Microsoft also outlined the danger of web shells being used as mechanisms to ensure malicious persistence on a network.

Once deployed and undetected, a web shell can serve as a backdoor that bad actors can use to deploy further malicious tools on the network and mine sensitive information from the compromised systems. It is not uncommon for a web shell to be used as the focal point of a large-scale attack on a compromised network.

The rapid deployment of new servers to make up for the increased demand for cloud functionality and storage is also giving malicious actors a lot of new targets for attack.

The increase in detected malicious web shells was also attributed in part to the increase of new server instances that came with the global 2020 Covid pandemic.

February 15, 2021

Leave a Reply