米高梅度假村洩漏了1060萬客戶和名人的私人數據

MGM Resorts Data Breach

ZDNet的記者Catalin Cimpanu被告知有關最近在黑客論壇上發布的大量數據轉儲的信息 。他看了一下,才意識到,受到洩露的信息屬於曾在米高梅度假酒店住宿過的人。在來自Under Breach的研究人員的幫助下,Cimpanu確認了洩漏的合法性,並與酒店連鎖店取得了聯繫。米高梅發言人通過電子郵件表示,該信息確實屬於酒店客人,但他們很快指出,該人的信用卡詳細信息並未涉及。

你們中有些人可能認為這使違反行為的危險性降低了很多,但是我們很快就會發現,事實並非如此。但是,在我們探討潛在的後果之前,讓我們先看看洩漏的是什麼,以及誰可以使用它。

黑客在2019年竊取了超過1,060萬酒店客人的個人信息

這次違規事件顯然發生在去年夏天,儘管它沒有正式宣布,但米高梅確實至少聯繫了一些受影響的個人,以使他們知道這一事件。正如Cimpanu指出的那樣, 當時人們確實在討論違規通知,但是洩漏並沒有引起媒體的任何興趣,考慮到轉儲中的內容,這有點奇怪。

在攻擊過程中,黑客成功竊取了10,683,188名酒店住客的個人詳細信息。洩漏的信息包括姓名,家庭和電子郵件地址,電話號碼和出生日期。 Cimpanu和Under Breach的研究人員試圖與數據庫中的一些人聯繫,儘管一些電話號碼不再有效,但客人的確回答說他們在2018年之前住在米高梅酒店。

名人,記者和政府官員也受到影響

米高梅度假村是一個由豪華酒店組成的龐大連鎖店,鑑於此,正如洩露的數據庫所示,一些知名酒店使用了它的位置,這可能也就不足為奇了。

在Breach的研究員告訴ZDNet時,該數據庫包含DHS和TSA官員的詳細信息,Cimpanu親自看到了許多知名記者的姓名,這些記者在會議和備受關注的活動中都留在了米高梅。該漏洞還打擊了流行歌星賈斯汀·比伯(Justin Bieber)和推特(Twitter)的首席執行官傑克·多爾西(Jack Dorsey),儘管仍不知道他們是否像其他客人一樣被私下告知了這次襲擊事件。

潛在的損害是巨大的

不可避免地,米高梅的違規與2017年對馬里奧特酒店的襲擊之間存在相似之處。 大約5億 ,受馬里奧特洩密事件影響的來賓人數要多得多,但這並不意味著Dorsey,Bieber和其他在MGM轉儲中包含信息的人應該放鬆。洩露的數據已經在犯罪分子手中已經存在了至少六個月,現在,任何想要下載的人都可以使用。缺少信用卡詳細信息也沒有理由低估違規行為。

為了強調洩漏的潛在後果,Catalin Cimpanu 分享了他對竊取信息如何幫助黑客破壞Jack Dorsey的Twitter帳戶的想法 。您可能還記得,去年八月,騙子在對Dorsey發起SIM卡交換攻擊後劫持了Dorsey的微博帳戶 ,Cimpanu推測他們可能已經從MGM的數據庫中檢索了他的電話號碼。當然,用記者自己的話說,這是一個無法證實或否認的“古怪理論”,但事實是,沒有什麼可以歸類為“不可能”。

除了交換SIM卡外 ,受米高梅(MGM)破壞影響的人們還必須警惕有針對性的魚叉式網絡釣魚攻擊,並且鑑於數據庫中存在家庭住址,他們可能還需要考慮其物理安全性。畢竟,這些信息現在是公開的,沒有人知道誰可能會受到“下載”按鈕的誘惑。

February 20, 2020

發表評論

MGM Resorts Leaks Private Data of 10.6 Million Clients, Celebrities Included

MGM Resorts Data Breach

Catalin Cimpanu, a reporter at ZDNet, was tipped off about a massive data dump that was recently posted on a hacking forum. He took a look and realized that the compromised information belonged to people who had stayed at MGM Resorts hotels. With the help of a researcher from Under the Breach, Cimpanu confirmed the legitimacy of the leak and got in touch with the hotel chain. An MGM spokesperson said via email that the information did indeed belong to hotel guests, but they were quick to point out that people's credit card details were not involved.

Some of you may think that this makes the breach a lot less dangerous, but as we'll find out in a minute, this is not really the case. Before we get to the potential consequences, however, let's see what was leaked and who had access to it.

Hackers stole the personal information of more than 10.6 million hotel guests in 2019

The breach apparently happened last summer, and although it didn't officially announce it, MGM did contact at least some of the affected individuals to let them know about the incident. As Cimpanu noted, people did discuss the breach notifications at the time, but the leak failed to gain any interest from the media, which, considering what's in the dump, is somewhat strange.

During the attack, the hackers managed to make off with the personal details of 10,683,188 hotel guests. The leaked information included names, home and email addresses, telephone numbers, and dates of birth. Cimpanu and Under the Breach's researcher tried contacting a few of the people in the database, and although some of the phone numbers were no longer valid, guests did reply and said that they had stayed at MGM hotels prior to 2018.

Celebrities, reporters, and government officials were also affected

MGM Resorts is a massive chain of luxury hotels, and in light of this, it probably shouldn't be too surprising that, as the leaked database shows, some well-known names have used its locations.

Under the Breach's researcher told ZDNet that the database contains the details of DHS and TSA officials, and Cimpanu himself saw the names of quite a few well-known reporters who have stayed at MGM locations during conferences and high-profile events. The breach also hit pop star Justin Bieber and Twitter's CEO, Jack Dorsey, although it remains unknown whether they, like other guests, were privately informed about the attack.

The potential damage is significant

Inevitably, parallels are drawn between MGM's breach and 2017's attack on Marriot hotels. At around 500 million, the number of affected guests by Marriot's leak is far greater, but this doesn't mean that Dorsey, Bieber, and the rest of the people whose information is in the MGM dump should relax. The compromised data has already been in criminals' hands for at least six months, and now, it's available to anyone who wants to download it. The absence of credit card details is no reason to underestimate the breach, either.

To emphasize the potential consequences of the leak, Catalin Cimpanu shared his thoughts on how the stolen information could have helped hackers compromise Jack Dorsey's Twitter account. As some of you may remember, in August last year, crooks hijacked Dorsey's microblogging account after mounting a SIM swapping attack against him, and Cimpanu speculates that they may have retrieved his phone number from MGM's database. Of course, this is, in the reporter's own words, a "wacky theory" that can't be confirmed or denied, but the fact of the matter is, nothing about it can be classified as "impossible."

In addition to SIM swapping, people affected by MGM's breach must also be on the lookout for targeted spear phishing attacks, and, given the presence of home addresses in the database, they might also want to think about their physical security. After all, the information is now public, and nobody knows who might be tempted by the Download button.

February 20, 2020

Leave a Reply