仅在攻击者耗尽存储空间后,InfoTrax系统才发现大量数据泄露

InfoTrax Systems Data Breach

您阅读有关黑客如何每天攻击各种在线服务并自助获取您的个人信息的新闻。数据泄露确实是我们日常生活的一部分,而且这种情况不太可能很快改变。但是,这并不意味着服务提供商应该对您的数据不那么小心。不幸的是,InfoTrax Systems数据泄露的故事表明,这正是正在发生的事情。

InfoTrax为世界各地的公司提供了一系列IT服务和软件产品。它的大多数客户是多层次营销企业,它们处理属于最终用户的大量数据,但是事件的展开方式证明了IT供应商在保护所有这些信息方面做得还不够。

InfoTrax如何被黑客入侵

一切始于2014年5月,当时据称有黑客利用了InfoTrax客户之一运营的网站中的漏洞。他们运行恶意代码,这使他们可以控制InfoTrax的一台服务器。他们具有查看,删除和上传文件的能力,但是起初,他们决定不采取任何可能引起怀疑的技巧。显然,在接下来的22个月里,他们总共访问了服务器17次 ,但他们并未努力窃取或更改任何信息。

但是,在2016年3月2日,攻击者开始浏览数据库。届时,他们可以访问大约100万人的个人详细信息,包括姓名,物理和电子邮件地址,社会保险号,用户名和密码。一些数据属于旧系统,应该删除,但是InfoTrax的信息管理实践如此糟糕,以至于该公司显然甚至不知道其存在。

当天晚些时候,入侵者打开了另一个日志文件,其中包含数百个名称和地址,社会安全号码以及一些支付卡详细信息和银行帐户信息。 3月6日,攻击者发现他们可以下载纯文本登录数据,这将使他们能够访问多级营销人员拥有的网站上的最终用户帐户。

在所有这些过程中,InfoTrax完全不了解攻击。实际上,如果不是因为黑客的一个业余错误,InfoTrax可能直到今天仍会遗忘。

攻击者犯了一个愚蠢的错误

黑客看到相对容易的数据量后,便决定为其创建一个大型存档,并立即将其全部下载。但是,需要在服务器上创建备份,攻击者忘了检查剩余的存储空间。存档不可避免地填满了硬盘驱动器,InfoTrax收到了有关它的通知。这就是导致发现攻击的原因。不过,这还没有结束。

在2016年3月7日了解到全部情况后,InfoTrax采取了措施阻止入侵者,但显然,预防措施还不够有效。一周后,黑客将恶意代码注入到由InfoTrax的一位客户运营的网站中。有了它,他们在结帐过程中窃取了付款信息。 3月29日,犯罪分子使用被盗的登录凭据上传了另一个脚本,这有助于他们窃取更多个人和财务数据。

InfoTrax将不得不面对音乐

盗窃给InfoTrax客户和最终用户带来了很多麻烦。了解到该违规行为后,受影响的多层营销公司之一雇用了AllClear ID,Inc.拥有的第三方呼叫中心,以在事件发生后为客户提供帮助. 根据AllClear ID,近300位用户报告由于InfoTrax漏洞而以某种方式被欺诈。

毫不奇怪,联邦贸易委员会决定介入并提出申诉。根据拟议的和解协议,除非InfoTrax证明其安全机制足够强大以防止将来发生类似事件,否则将不允许其处理任何个人数据。这是否属于“太少,太迟”类别由您决定。

即使没有FTC的投诉,考虑到公司犯的基本信息管理错误,InfoTrax业务的后果也可能非常严重。希望这不仅对InfoTrax也是对其他IT服务提供商的一课。

November 14, 2019

发表评论

重要!若要继续到下一步,请完成以下简单的数学问题。
Please leave these two fields as is:
4 + 5是什么?

InfoTrax Systems Discovered a Massive Data Breach Only After the Attackers Ran out of Storage Space

InfoTrax Systems Data Breach

You read news about how hackers attack various online services and help themselves to your personal information every day. Data breaches are indeed a part of our everyday lives, and this is unlikely to change any time soon. This doesn't mean, however, that service providers should be any less careful with your data. Unfortunately, the story of InfoTrax Systems' data breach shows that this is exactly what's happening.

InfoTrax provides a range of IT services and software products to companies all around the world. Most of its customers are multi-level-marketing businesses that handle large amounts of data that belongs to end users, but the way events unfolded is proof that the IT vendor wasn't doing enough to protect all that information.

How InfoTrax got hacked

It all started in May 2014 when a hacker allegedly exploited a vulnerability in a website operated by one of InfoTrax's customers. They ran malicious code, which let them take control over one of InfoTrax's servers. They had the ability to look at, delete, and upload files, but at first, they decided not to pull any tricks that could raise suspicion. Apparently, over the next twenty-two months, they accessed the server a total of seventeen times, but they made no effort to steal or alter any information.

On March 2, 2016, however, the attacker began poking through the databases. That's when they got access to the personal details of around 1 million people, including names, physical and email addresses, Social Security Numbers, usernames, and passwords. Some of the data belonged to legacy systems and should have been deleted, but InfoTrax's information management practices were so bad, that the company apparently didn't even know about its existence.

Later that day, the intruder opened another log file with hundreds more names and addresses, Social Security Numbers, and some payment card details and bank account information. On March 6, the attacker found out that they can download plain text login data, which would give them access to end users' accounts on websites owned by multi-level marketers.

Throughout all this, InfoTrax was completely unaware of the attack. In fact, were it not for an amateurish mistake on behalf of the hacker, InfoTrax would have probably been oblivious about it to this very day.

The attacker makes a silly mistake

Having seen how much data can be obtained with relative ease, the hacker decided to create a big archive of it and download it all at once. The backup needed to be created on the server, however, and the attacker forgot to check how much storage space is left. Inevitably, the archive filled up the hard drive, and InfoTrax got a notification about it. This is what led to the discovery of the attack. It wasn't the end, though.

Upon learning about the whole thing on March 7, 2016, InfoTrax took steps to stop the intruder, but apparently, the precautions weren't effective enough. A week later, the hacker injected malicious code into a website operated by one of InfoTrax's customers. With it, they pilfered payment information during the checkout process. On March 29, the criminal used stolen login credentials to upload another script, which helped them steal even more personal and financial data.

InfoTrax will have to face the music

The theft has caused quite a lot of grief to InfoTrax customers and end users. Having learned about the breach, one of the affected multi-level marketing companies hired a third-party call center owned by AllClear ID, Inc. to help with the customer support in the wake of the incident. According to AllClear ID, close to 300 users have reported being defrauded in some way because of the InfoTrax breach.

Not surprisingly, the Federal Trade Commission decided to step in and file a complaint. According to a proposed settlement, InfoTrax won't be allowed to process any personal data unless it proves that its security mechanisms are strong enough to prevent similar incidents from happening in the future. Whether this falls under the "too little, too late" category is for you to decide.

Even without the FTC complaint, the consequences for InfoTrax business can be quite serious considering the basic information management mistakes the company has made. Hopefully, this will be a lesson not only for InfoTrax but for other IT service providers as well.

November 14, 2019

Leave a Reply

IMPORTANT! To be able to proceed, you need to solve the following simple math.
Please leave these two fields as is:
What is 2 + 7 ?