如何在Mac上的Apple Mail中加密您的電子郵件

為什麼要麻煩加密我的電子郵件?

我敢肯定,您已經聽說過互聯網上發布的最新WikiLeaks信息,即Vault7。碰巧的是,沒有人感到意外的是,CIA擁有一個完整的武器庫,專門用於入侵iPhone,iPad甚至是AirPort路由器。到目前為止,唯一的好消息是Vault 7似乎沒有包含任何可繞過電子郵件加密工具的內容。 ProtonMail是一種電子郵件加密工具,已被全世界許多人使用,它的服務一直在努力地研究Vault7。ProtonMail的共同創始人安迪·恩恩(Andy Yen)最近表示,儘管Vault 7洩漏,電子郵件加密仍然有效。

據我們所知,ProtonMail和其他加密服務使用的關鍵加密算法和技術仍然是有效的加密工具。我們應該擔心的是最終用戶加密。顯然,中央情報局發現了一種直接在我們的設備上進行監聽的方法,但並未破壞我們電子郵件的端到端加密。

如何加密您的Apple Mail。

幸運的是,macOS Sierra帶有內置的電子郵件客戶端,該客戶端具有自己的加密功能。而且,它出奇的好。 Apple的Mail開箱即用,支持S / MIME(安全/多用途Internet郵件擴展)。 S / MIME是地球上任何地方最安全,最安全的電子郵件加密標準之一。如果您選擇使用Safari在StartSSL上獲取證書頒發機構(CA)證書,則可以立即在Apple Mail上對電子郵件進行加密。不過,請不要為喜悅而跳躍。有一個陷阱。由於某種原因,他們決定使從您的iPhone發送加密的電子郵件變得荒唐且不必要地複雜。

將證書直接安裝到“鑰匙串訪問”中時,您將登錄並自動加密電子郵件。

如果我想對電子郵件進行加密但又不想使用Apple Mail,該怎麼辦?

如果您不想使用Apple Mail的加密方式,或者如果您更喜歡使用OpenPGP(非常好的保密性),則還有其他加密選項,Freron Software的MailMate是一個不錯的選擇。 MailMate是具有全鍵盤控制的IMAP電子郵件客戶端。它支持Markdown電子郵件撰寫,雖然毫無生氣,但另一方面,MailMate具有許多令人印象深刻的功能和工具。 MailMate具有自動簽名處理,標記以及與第三方應用程序集成的功能。至於加密,它可以輕鬆處理OpenPGP和S / MIME。您也不必立即購買該應用程序,MailMate有30天的試用期,此後單用戶許可證將花費您49.99美元,但至少您可以先免費試用它。

嘗試ProtonMail加密。

另一個選擇是ProtonMail,我在本文開頭就談到了。它有一個很棒的iOS應用程序,但是不幸的是,沒有Mac支持。不過,有一種解決方法。使用ProtonMail的Web客戶端發送和接收加密的電子郵件時,您可以通過Web瀏覽器訪問加密的電子郵件。加密的郵件存儲在位於瑞士的ProtonMail的服務器上,並且對其進行了高度加密,以確保您的通信安全。然後它們以相同的方式傳輸到您的設備。 ProtonMail先進的加密標準,例如AES,RSA和OpenPGP加密。

July 16, 2019

發表評論

How to Encrypt Your Emails in Apple Mail on Mac

Why should I bother encrypting my emails?

I'm sure you've heard about the newest WikiLeaks info that hit the Internet, namely Vault 7. As it happens and to nobody's great surprise, the CIA has an entire arsenal built entirely for hacking into iPhones, iPads, and even AirPort routers. The only good news so far is that it does not look like Vault 7 contains anything to bypass email encryption tools. ProtonMail, an email encryption tool, and service used by many people around the world have been strenuously examining Vault 7. Andy Yen, the co-founder of ProtonMail, said recently that email encryption is still alive and kicking despite the Vault 7 leaks.

As far as we know, the key cryptographic algorithms and techniques used by ProtonMail and other encrypted services continue to be effective tools of encryption. What we should be worried about is the end-user encryption instead. Apparently, the CIA has discovered a way to snoop directly on our devices, but not break the end-to-end encryption of our emails.

How to encrypt your Apple Mail.

Fortunately, macOS Sierra comes with a built-in email client, which has its own encryption. What's more, it's surprisingly good. Apple's Mail supports S/MIME, (Secure/Multipurpose Internet Mail Extensions), right out of the box. S/MIME is one of the safest and most secure standards for email encryption anywhere on the planet. Should you choose to get a Certificate authority (CA) certificate at StartSSL with Safari, you'll be able to encrypt your emails on Apple Mail right away. Don't jump for joy just yet, though. There is a catch. For some reason they decided to make sending an encrypted email from your iPhone is absurdly and unnecessarily complicated.

When you install the certificate directly into Keychain Access, you will be signed in and your emails encrypted automatically.

What if I want to encrypt my emails but I don't want to use Apple Mail?

There are other encryption options if you don't want to use Apple Mail's encryption or if you prefer to use OpenPGP (Pretty Good Privacy), a good choice is Freron Software's MailMate. MailMate is an IMAP email client with across-the-board keyboard control. It supports Markdown email composition, which is admittedly rather lackluster, but on the other hand, MailMate sports an impressive array of features and tools. MailMate sports automatic signature handling, tagging, and integration with third-party apps. As for encryption, it can easily handle both OpenPGP and S/MIME. You don't have to purchase the app straight away either, there is a 30-day trial of MailMate, after which a single-user license will cost you $49.99, but at least you can try it for free first.

Try ProtonMail encryption.

Another option is ProtonMail, which I talked about at the start of the article. It has a fantastic iOS app, but unfortunately, there's no Mac support. There's a way around it, though. You can access your encrypted email through your web browser while using ProtonMail's web client to send and receive encrypted email. The encrypted messages are stored on ProtonMail's servers located in Switzerland and they're encrypted heavily to keep your correspondence safe. Then they get transmitted the same way to your devices. ProtonMail advanced encryption standards like AES, RSA, and OpenPGP encryption.

May 29, 2019

Leave a Reply

IMPORTANT! To be able to proceed, you need to solve the following simple math.
Please leave these two fields as is:
What is 4 + 3 ?