如何检查您是否受到Koodo Data Breach的影响

如果您不了解Koodo Mobile,那是Telus于2008年推出的加拿大移动侧卫品牌,最近宣布客户数据已泄露,并且显然已在Dark Web上出售。

Koodo Mobile通常针对年轻客户。它与所有者Telus不同,因为它不需要定期合同。该品牌目前提供后付费,预付费和无线家庭电话服务。

根据他们从Koodo Mobile收到的数据泄露通知电子邮件,BleepingComputer报告说,他们的系统于2020年2月13日被破坏,未经授权的个人从2017年8月和2017年9月窃取了客户信息,其中包含移动帐号和电话号码。电子邮件中说:

“发生了什么:2020年2月13日,未经授权的第三方使用受感染的凭据访问了我们的系统,并复制了2017年8月/ 9月的数据,其中包括您的移动帐号和电话号码。暴露的信息可能自2017年以来发生了变化,在这种情况下,您当前的信息不会受到损害。”

网络罪犯可以使用此数据将Koodo Mobile号码转移到黑客的设备,以接收受害者的两因素身份验证码,这将使攻击者可以访问其电子邮件地址和银行帐户。

为了抢先阻止此举,Koodo已对已成为数据泄露受害者的帐户激活了“端口保护”功能。这将防止黑客将Koodo Mobile号码转移到另一台设备,除非帐户持有人首先呼叫并提出要求。

电子邮件继续说:“我们发现了证据,表明未经授权的第三方正在黑暗的网上提供要出售的信息。” “有了端口保护,我们认为您的信息不会被用于任何欺诈目的。尽管如此,我们已将此事件报告给了执法部门和加拿大隐私专员办公室,我们正在与他们紧密合作问题,” Koodo通知说。

但是,Koodo Mobile在通知的稍后部分与自己有些矛盾,指出由于此数据泄露,受影响的用户不应将其手机号码用于两因素身份验证。也许这只是一种额外的安全措施。

July 14, 2020

发表评论

How to Check If You Were Affected by Koodo Data Breach

If you aren't aware of Koodo Mobile, it's a Canadian mobile flanker brand, which was launched by Telus back in 2008, recently announced that client data was breached and is apparently being sold on the Dark Web.

Koodo Mobile targets younger customers generally. It's different from its owner Telus by virtue of not requiring a fixed-term contract. The brand offers postpaid, prepaid, and wireless home phone services currently.

BleepingComputer reported that their systems were breached on February 13th, 2020, and an unauthorized individual stole client information from August and September 2017, which contains mobile account numbers and telephone numbers, according to a data breach notification email they received from Koodo Mobile. The email said the following:

"What happened: On February 13, 2020, an unauthorized third party using compromised credentials accessed our systems and copied August/September 2017 data that included your mobility account number and telephone number. It is possible that the information exposed has changed since 2017, in which case your current information is not compromised."

This data can be used by cybercriminals to transfer Koodo Mobile numbers to the hackers' devices to receive the victims' two-factor authentication codes, which will give the attackers access to their email addresses and bank accounts.

In order to pre-emptively block this move, Koodo has activated the "Port Protection" function on the accounts that have become victims of the data breach. This will prevent hackers from transferring a Koodo Mobile number to another device unless the account holder first calls and asks for it.

"We have found evidence that the unauthorized third party is offering the information for sale on the dark web," continued the email. "With port protection in place, we do not believe that your information could be used for any fraudulent purposes. Nevertheless, we have reported this incident to Law Enforcement and the Office of the Privacy Commissioner of Canada and we are working closely with them on this matter," the Koodo notification said.

However, Koodo Mobile contradict themselves somewhat later in the notification by stating that the affected users shouldn't use their mobile number for two-factor authentication due to this data breach. Perhaps it's just an extra security measure.

July 14, 2020

Leave a Reply