黑客将后门放入Ruby密码强度检查库中

A Backdoor in a Ruby Password Checking Library

密码强度计是出于所有最佳原因而创建的。他们的想法是提醒人们注意弱密码的危险,并鼓励他们更好地保护他们的数据。不幸的是, 它们并不完美

本质上,密码强度计是计算机代码的集合,无论它多么聪明,它都不能考虑决定密码强度的每一个因素。密码强度计由计算机命令组成的事实产生了另一个问题 - 如果代码被篡改,仪表可能变得危险。上周,阿根廷开发商Tute Costa 向我们展示了这种情况的实际情况。

定期的安全审计揭示了一个被劫持的Ruby库

作为一名勤奋的开发人员,Costa正在审核他正在研究的Ruby应用程序。他最近应用了不少更新,他想确认一切都按预期工作。

这意味着要经历相当多的更改日志并扫描数百行代码。最后,他最终看到了strong_password--一个用于检查用户密码强度的Ruby库。他立刻被吸引了。

strong_password在RubyGems(Ruby库的官方存储库)和GitHub上都可用,但版本不同。 GitHub建议超过六个月没有更新,但RubyGems(0.0.7)上的版本不超过两天。 Costa找不到任何更改日志或其他官方文档,这意味着唯一的方法是从GitHub下载代码并将其与RubyGems托管的内容进行比较。

这两个库是相同的,只有几行代码从Pastebin中提取并执行了一些命令。科斯塔越来越怀疑,他决定与strong_password的开发人员Brian McManus取得联系,看看他会说些什么。十五分钟后回复了,这证实了哥斯达黎加最担心的事情 - 麦克马纳斯不知何故失去了对图书馆的控制权,0.0.7版本是流氓。

后门使用cookie来启用代码执行

恶意的strong_password版本将首先检查它正在运行的环境。如果应用程序仍处于测试阶段,则无效。但是,如果它正在生产中,它将触发最终允许远程代码执行的感染链。

后门库检查网站或Web应用程序的URL并将其发送到smiley.zzz.com [。] ua。然后,它等待以cookie文件形式出现的指令。恶意代码旨在解压缩并执行cookie中的任何内容,这意味着劫持strong_password库的犯罪分子的大门是敞开的。谢天谢地,他们不再是。

恶意库很快就被脱机了

后门的strong_password发布于6月25日,Tute Costa于6月28日发现它。在得到确认更新是恶意的后不久,他接到了Ruby的安全协调员RafaelFrança,并在不到半小时的时间里,图书馆被拉下线了. 布莱恩·麦克马纳斯似乎已经重新掌控, 版本0.0.8应该可以安全使用。启动感染链的Pastebin存储库现在也已关闭,这意味着后门已完全关闭。

虽然恶意图书馆在网上停留的时间不超过几天,但仍然设法下载了537的下载次数,这表明流氓软件可以快速影响毫无戒心的用户。

July 16, 2019

发表评论

重要!若要继续到下一步,请完成以下简单的数学问题。
Please leave these two fields as is:
2 + 7是什么?

Hackers Put a Backdoor in a Ruby Password Strength Checking Library

A Backdoor in a Ruby Password Checking Library

Password strength meters were created for all the best reasons. Their idea is to alert people to the danger of weak passwords and to encourage them to better protect their data. Unfortunately, they are not perfect.

In essence, a password strength meter is a collection of computer code, and no matter how clever it is, it can never take into account every single one of the factors that determine the strength of a password. The fact that password strength meters consist of computer commands creates another problem – if the code gets tampered with, the meters could become dangerous. Last week, Argentinian developer Tute Costa showed us how real this scenario could be.

A regular security audit reveals a hijacked Ruby library

Being a diligent developer, Costa was in the middle of auditing a Ruby application he was working on. He had recently applied quite a few updates, and he wanted to confirm that everything was working as expected.

This meant going through quite a few changelogs and scanning through hundreds of lines of code. Eventually, he ended up looking at strong_password – a Ruby library designed to check the strength of users' passwords. He was immediately intrigued.

strong_password was available both on RubyGems, the official repository for Ruby libraries, and on GitHub, yet the versions were different. GitHub suggested that there had been no updates for more than six months, but the version on RubyGems (0.0.7) was no more than a couple of days old. Costa couldn't find any changelogs or other official documentation which meant that the only way to proceed was to download the code from GitHub and compare it to what RubyGems was hosting.

The two libraries were identical except for a few lines of code which pulled and executed some commands from Pastebin. Costa was getting suspicious, and he decided to get in touch with Brian McManus, strong_password's developer, to see what he'll say. The reply came fifteen minutes later, and it confirmed Costa's worst fears – McManus had somehow lost control of the library, and the 0.0.7 version was rogue.

A backdoor used cookies to enable code execution

The malicious strong_password version would first check the environment it's running on. If the application is still in the testing phase, it would do nothing. If it's in production, however, it would trigger the infection chain which would eventually allow remote code execution.

The backdoored library checks the URL of the website or web application and sends it to smiley.zzz.com[.]ua. Then, it waits for instructions which come in the form of cookie files. The malicious code is designed to unpack and execute whatever is in the cookie, which means that the doors for the criminal who hijacked the strong_password library were wide open. Thankfully, they no longer are.

The malicious library was pulled offline fairly quickly

The backdoored strong_password was published on June 25, and Tute Costa discovered it on June 28. Shortly after getting a confirmation that the update is malicious, he got through to Rafael França, Ruby's security coordinator, and within less than half an hour, the library was pulled offline. Brian McManus seems to be back in control, and version 0.0.8 should be safe to use. The Pastebin repository that initiated the infection chain is also down now meaning that the backdoor is well and truly closed.

Although the malicious library stood online for no more than a few days, it still managed to rack up a downloads count of 537, however, which goes to show how quickly rogue software can affect unsuspecting users.

July 9, 2019

Leave a Reply

IMPORTANT! To be able to proceed, you need to solve the following simple math.
Please leave these two fields as is:
What is 3 + 6 ?