黑客拥有20,000个WordPress网站的强制管理员用户名和密码

WordPress Brute-Force Attacks

当安全研究人员说在弱密码末尾添加“123”并没有为改善其安全性做很多工作时,许多人倾向于认为偏执程度水平过高。用户认为,虽然黑客可能会尝试猜测一个简短的密码,但他们不会为任何不同的变化而烦恼。每个人都可以自由地相信他们想要的任何东西,但是当你看到一个例子证明一个观点是错误的而另一个观点不对时,争论是没有意义的。上周,来自Wordfense的研究人员描述了一个这样的例子。

黑客正在大规模地破坏网站

针对WordPress管理员帐户进行了广泛的暴力攻击。如果您不知道,WordPress是迄今为止最受欢迎的内容管理系统(CMS),根据W3Techs ,它几乎占所有网站的三分之一。

目标很充足,妥协它们可以为黑客提供多种选择。通过闯入网站的管理面板,他们可以做任何事情,包括更改已发布的内容和破坏整个网站,窃取数据,使用网站托管恶意软件,或劫持访问者的硬件资源以挖掘加密货币。超过20,000个WordPress安装已经被攻陷,但是黑客并没有将它们用于任何上述活动。就目前而言,他们似乎只是在为已经非常重要的僵尸网络添加越来越多的WordPress网站。

一种简单但有效的运作方式

负责这次攻击的小组已经设法造成了一些相当大的破坏,从外观来看,现在没有什么可以放慢速度。也就是说,他们似乎并没有使用最复杂的技术。

例如,Wordfense的专家很难找到整个基础设施的布局方式。有四个命令和控制(C&C)服务器由几个提供商托管,据称对滥用案件的态度非常宽松。当他们试图访问C&C时,研究人员会看到一个登录表单,但他们很快意识到绕过它很容易,他们设法获得了很多关于整个操作的信息。攻击者使用14,000个代理服务器向已被感染的网站发送暴力脚本和目标域列表。蛮力尝试针对WordPress的XML-RPC接口,这是非常传统的。必须说,这不是一项突破性的努力。然而,机制本身很有趣。

正如我们在第一段中所建立的那样,人们,包括网站管理员,使用简单的模式来增强其密码的安全性,黑客知道这一点。他们知道,如果域名是example.com,则解锁其管理面板的密码可能是“示例”。他们知道它也可能是“example1”或“example123”。他们知道如果Bob的用户名是“Bob”,他的密码可能是“Bob2018”。此特定攻击中的暴力机制带有动态词表,可创建所有这些变体,稍后针对目标域进行测试。再一次,我们不是在谈论特别复杂的事情,而是在与这一事件一样大的规模上,它被证明是相当有效的。

当Wordfense的研究人员发表他们的博客文章时,C&C和受感染的网站仍然在线,但他们指出他们正在与执法部门合作解决问题. 换句话说,全世界的网站管理员都面临风险,应该采取必要的预防措施,以确保他们的网站不会落入攻击者的手中。

保护WordPress网站免受暴力攻击

您可以做很多事情来使WordPress网站更安全。例如,将安装更新到最新的可用版本是一个非常好的主意。对失败的登录尝试次数进行限制或仅允许从特定IP访问管理面板也会有所帮助。如果你设置一个双因素身份验证系统,正确的密码是不够的,并且因为XML-RPC协议经常被定位,一些专家甚至会说除非你真的需要它,否则你应该禁用它。

但是,在考虑任何这些步骤之前,您必须考虑您的密码。如果它很短,则需要更改。如果它很容易猜到,则需要进行更改。如果它已在其他任何地方使用过,则需要进行更改。希望到现在为止你已经意识到在最后添加“123”并不够好。

如果您想快速轻松地创建和存储长而独特的密码,那么拥有像Cyclonis Password Manager这样的专用密码管理工具确实是您的选择。要了解更多信息,请点击此处

January 28, 2019

发表评论

重要!若要继续到下一步,请完成以下简单的数学问题。
Please leave these two fields as is:
8 + 8是什么?

Hackers Have Brute-Forced Admin Usernames and Passwords of 20,000 WordPress Sites

WordPress Brute-Force Attacks

When security researchers say that adding '123' to the end of a weak password isn't doing a whole lot to improve its security, many people tend to think that the paranoia levels are running too high. Users reckon that while the hackers might try to guess a short, simple password, they won't bother with any different variations. Everybody is free to believe in whatever they want, but there's little point in arguing when you see an example proving that one opinion is wrong and the other isn't. Last week, researchers from Wordfense described one such example.

Hackers are compromising websites on a large scale

There's a wide-reaching brute-force attack aimed at WordPress admin accounts. WordPress, in case you don't know, is by far the most popular Content Management System (CMS), and according to W3Techs, it's used by almost a third of all websites.

The targets are plentiful and compromising them can give hackers quite a few options. By breaking into a website's admin panel, they can do anything from altering the published content and defacing the entire website, to stealing data, using the website to host malware, or hijacking visitors' hardware resources to mine cryptocurrency. More than 20,000 WordPress installations have already been compromised, but the hackers are not using them for any of the aforementioned activities. For now, they appear to be doing nothing more than adding more and more WordPress websites to what is already a pretty substantial botnet.

A simple but effective modus operandi

The group responsible for this attack has already managed to wreak some considerable havoc, and by the looks of things, there's nothing to slow them down for now. That said, they don't seem to be using the most sophisticated techniques out there.

Wordfense's experts had little trouble finding out how the whole infrastructure is laid out, for example. There are four Command & Control (C&C) servers hosted by a couple of providers which allegedly have a very relaxed attitude towards abuse cases. When they tried to access the C&Cs, the researchers were presented with a login form, but they quickly realized that bypassing it is easy and they managed to get a lot of information about the whole operation. The attackers use 14,000 proxy servers to send brute-force scripts and lists of target domains to websites that are already infected. The brute-force attempts are aimed at WordPress' XML-RPC interface which is pretty traditional. Not exactly a ground-breaking effort, it must be said. The mechanism itself, however, is interesting.

As we established in the first paragraph, people, and this includes website administrators, use simple patterns in an attempt to enhance the security of their passwords, and hackers know this. They know that if the domain is example.com, the password that unlocks its admin panel might be "example". They know that it could also be "example1" or "example123". They know that if Bob's username is "Bob", his password might be something along the lines of "Bob2018". The brute-force mechanism in this particular attack comes with a dynamic wordlist that creates all these variations which are later tested against the targeted domains. Once again, we're not talking about something especially sophisticated, but on a scale as large as this one, it's proving to be rather effective.

When Wordfense's researchers published their blog post, the C&Cs and the infected websites were still online, but they noted that they're working with law enforcement to fix the issue. In other words, website administrators the world over are at risk and should take the necessary precautions to ensure that their websites don't fall in the attackers' hands.

Protecting WordPress websites from brute-force attacks

There are many things you can do to make a WordPress website more secure. Updating the installation to the latest available version, for example, is a very good idea. Enforcing a limit on the number of failed login attempts or allowing access to the admin panel from specific IPs only would also help. If you set up a two-factor authentication system, the correct password won't be enough, and because the XML-RPC protocol is targeted so often, some experts even say that unless you really need it, you should disable it.

Before you consider any of these steps, however, you must think about your password. If it's short, it needs to be changed. If it's easy to guess, it needs to be changed. If it's been used anywhere else, it needs to be changed. Hopefully, by now you've realized that adding "123" to the end is not good enough.

Having a dedicated password management tool like the Cyclonis Password Manager really is the way to go if you want to create and store long, unique passwords quickly and easily. To learn more about it click here.

By Duran
December 13, 2018
December 13, 2018

Leave a Reply

IMPORTANT! To be able to proceed, you need to solve the following simple math.
Please leave these two fields as is:
What is 8 + 5 ?