Firefox推出新的隐私功能

Firefox Privacy Tracking Protection

你是如何最终选择自己喜欢的浏览器的?是朋友推荐的吗?你被外表所吸引吗?或者您是否比较了不同的浏览器并选择了表现最好的浏览器?你们中的大多数人可能至少与上面列出的一种情况有关。但是,很少有人可以诚实地说您出于隐私原因选择了特定的浏览器。 Firefox可能即将改变这一点。

实际上,在过去几年中,Firefox的创建者一直非常认真地对待隐私,并且通过他们的最新举措,他们可能会对选择浏览器的用户产生重大影响。然而,在我们看一下正在做什么之前,让我们先谈谈这个问题。

在线世界的隐私

几年前,广告代理商发现,由于巧妙地使用了Cookie和脚本,他们可以监控您的每一步行动,并根据他们收集的数据为您自己构建一个非常准确的个人资料。这样做的最初目的是获得有关您感兴趣的事物的更多信息,并提供更好的补充。然而,相当快,跟踪变得相当令人毛骨悚然,人们开始认为这是对隐私的严重侵犯。

关于它的真正令人担忧的是,没有视觉指示可以告诉你发生了什么。实际上,多亏了GDPR,欧洲用户每次访问新网站时都必须协商一连串的弹出窗口和警告。所有这些弹出窗口的目的(顺便说一句,不向欧盟以外的人展示)是告诉你将收到什么样的cookie,并让你有机会拒绝那些你不喜欢的。从理论上讲,这个想法很棒。在实践中,用户只需单击“同意”,而不必考虑他们所接受的内容。 Mozilla,创建Firefox的人,现在已经面临类似的问题。

Firefox的跟踪保护

在GDPR的烹饪警告出现之前,Firefox的开发人员已着手解决问题。 2015年,他们向浏览器推出了跟踪保护功能。最初,它仅在私人浏览模式下可用,但它最终也被引入标准窗口。去年,随着Firefox 63的发布,Mozilla宣布了该功能的一些重大改进,几个月前,它引入了阻止加密货币挖掘和指纹识别脚本的能力。

该功能现在称为增强跟踪保护功能,可以说Mozilla已经做了很多工作以使其尽可能好。然而,用户似乎并没有购买它。尽管增强型跟踪保护已经成为Firefox的一部分,但Mozilla承认,并没有那么多人花时间深入了解设置并启用它。这就是为什么浏览器供应商决定从现在开始,他们不需要。

在其默认设置下,Firefox仅在私密浏览模式下阻止跟踪cookie和脚本,但在周二,Mozilla项目负责人Peter Dolanjski 宣布 ,从现在开始,该功能也将启用常规模式。 Firefox的每个新安装都将启用开箱即用的增强跟踪保护功能。它可能看起来不像,但这确实是个好消息。

默认情况下阻止跟踪器是一个很好的调用

看起来Mozilla可能会试图强制增强用户隐私保护,有些人可能会说这是一件坏事. 实际上,它只不过是。

我们之前提到的GDPR cookie警告的问题是人们如何对待他们的隐私的一个完美的例子。欧洲人对谁追踪他们的动作有了更多的控制权,但他们只是在抱怨弹出窗口有多烦人,而不是利用这些新的特权。那是因为为了阻止跟踪cookie,他们需要再点击几秒钟。对他们来说,这是太多的工作。

你可能会试图批评用户过于懒惰,但如果你考虑一下,这几乎不是他们的错。毕竟,默认情况下,网站跟踪人们的动作甚至没有通知他们,这从一开始就使他们处于劣势。多年来,安全专家一直认为跟踪应该是选择加入,而不是选择退出,Firefox的创建者似乎也在遵循这个口头禅。但他们是否要开始一场革命?

其他浏览器如何比较?

事实是,没有其他浏览器具有内置的跟踪保护功能,这与Firefox的功能一样好。所有浏览器都支持“不跟踪”标题,这可能会阻止某些跟踪器,但由于网站不需要遵守它们,因此它们并不完全可靠。很难说业内任何一位知名人士是否也准备实施这样的功能。

谈到Chrome,这似乎不太可能。谷歌的大部分收入来自在线广告,它没有兴趣在这个特定的业务面前设置障碍,特别是在全球近70%的互联网用户使用的程序中。

因此,如果您是Firefox的粉丝,请单击“ 菜单 ”按钮并转到“ 内容阻止 ”以确保启用增强跟踪保护。如果您使用其他内容,请考虑安装可靠的广告或跟踪器阻止扩展程序,以使您的浏览更加私密。

July 16, 2019

发表评论

重要!若要继续到下一步,请完成以下简单的数学问题。
Please leave these two fields as is:
10 + 4是什么?

Firefox Launches New Privacy Features

Firefox Privacy Tracking Protection

How did you end up picking your favorite browser? Was it recommended to you by a friend? Were you attracted by the appearance? Or did you compare different browsers and picked the one that performed the best? Most of you can probably relate to at least one of the scenarios listed above. Few, however, can honestly say that you've chosen a particular browser for privacy reasons. Firefox may be about to change this.

In fact, for the last couple of years, Firefox's creators have been taking privacy rather seriously, and with their latest move, they might just make a significant difference for the users who choose their browser. Before we take a look at what's being done, however, let's talk about the problem for a bit.

Privacy in the online world

Some years ago, advertising agencies figured out that thanks to the clever use of cookies and scripts, they can monitor your every move and build a pretty accurate profile of yourself based on the data they gather. The original purpose of this was to have more information on the sort of things you're interested and to deliver better adds. Fairly quickly, however, the tracking became rather creepy, and people started considering it a serious invasion of privacy.

The really worrying thing about it is that there's no visual indication to tell you what's going on. Indeed, thanks to GDPR, European users have to negotiate a barrage of popups and warnings every time they visit a new website. The purpose of all these popups (which, by the way, are not shown to people outside the EU) is to tell you what sort of cookies you will receive and to give you the chance to reject the ones that you don't like. In theory, the idea is great. In practice, users just click "Agree" without sparing so much as a thought about what they're accepting. Mozilla, the people creating Firefox, have been facing a similar problem for a while now.

Firefox's tracking protection

Firefox's developers were set on eliminating the problem way before GDPR's cooking warnings showed up. In 2015, they introduced the Tracking Protection feature to the browser. Initially, it was only available in Private Browsing mode, but it was eventually introduced to the standard window as well. Last year, with the release of Firefox 63, Mozilla announced some significant improvements to the feature, and a couple of months ago, it introduced the ability to block cryptocurrency mining and fingerprinting scripts.

The feature is now called Enhanced Tracking Protection, and it's fair to say that Mozilla has done a lot to make it as good as it can be. Users, however, don't seem to be buying it. Although Enhanced Tracking Protection has been a part of Firefox for a while now, Mozilla admits that not that many people have taken the time to dive into the settings and enable it. That's why the browser vendor has decided that from now on, they won't need to.

Under its default settings, Firefox has been blocking tracking cookies and scripts only in Private Browsing mode, but on Tuesday, Mozilla Project Lead Peter Dolanjski announced that from now on the feature will be enabled for regular mode as well. Every new installation of Firefox will come with Enhanced Tracking Protection turned on out of the box. It might not seem like it, but this is really good news.

Blocking trackers by default is a good call

It might look like Mozilla is trying to force Enhanced Privacy Protection on users, and some may say that this is a bad thing. In reality, it's anything but.

The problem with the GDPR cookie warnings that we touched upon earlier serves as a perfect example of how people treat their privacy. Europeans have much more control over who is tracking their movements, but instead of taking advantage of these new privileges, they are just complaining about how annoying the popups are. That's because in order to block the tracking cookies, they need to click around for a few more seconds. And for them, this is too much work.

You might be tempted to criticize users for being too lazy, but if you think about it, it's hardly their fault. After all, by default, websites track people's movements without even notifying them about it, which puts them at a disadvantage from the very start. For years, security experts have argued that tracking should be opt-in, not opt-out, and Firefox's creators seem to be following that mantra. But are they about to start a revolution?

How do other browsers compare?

The fact of the matter is, no other browser comes with built-in tracking protection feature that is as good as Firefox's. All browsers support "Do not track" headers which can stop some of the trackers, but since websites are not required to comply with them, they are not exactly reliable. It's hard to say if any of the big names in the industry is about to implement such a feature as well.

When it comes to Chrome, this seems extremely unlikely. Google derives a significant chunk of its revenue from online advertising, and it doesn't have interest in putting roadblocks in front of this particular business, especially in a program that is used by close to 70% of the world's internet users.

So, if you're a fan of Firefox, click the "Menu" button and go to "Content Blocking" to ensure that Enhanced Tracking Protection is turned on. If you use something else, consider installing a reliable ad- or tracker-blocking extension to make your browsing more private.

June 6, 2019

Leave a Reply

IMPORTANT! To be able to proceed, you need to solve the following simple math.
Please leave these two fields as is:
What is 9 + 7 ?