狡猾的PayPal詐騙目標用戶的密碼和信用卡信息

PayPal Phishing Scams

根據Vade Secure的說法,PayPal是網絡釣魚者第二大的目標品牌。這不應該是非常令人驚訝的。我們談論的是世界上最知名的在線支付平台,未經授權訪問某個人的PayPal帳戶可能意味著未經授權訪問其大部分資金。有趣的是,在2019年第一季度,Vade注意到與PayPal相關的網絡釣魚URL數量增長了88%。現在說這個趨勢是否會在整個第二季度持續發展還為時尚早,但來自全球不同角落的報導表明可能會這樣。

例如,幾天前,西班牙媒體報導了針對PayPal用戶的網絡釣魚計劃(以西班牙語鏈接),顯然,該活動非常普遍。事實上,西班牙國家網絡安全研究所發布了一則關於它的特別警告 (西班牙文鏈接)。

與此同時,在距離澳大利亞近11千英里的地方,澳大利亞PayPal用戶也面臨著類似的威脅 。在這種情況下,沒有來自專業機構的官方諮詢,但事實是電子郵件發布的消息表明有大量用戶是針對性的。你必須同意的時機非常接近,但這是巧合嗎?

西班牙和澳大利亞的PayPal用戶是否都是同一個網絡釣魚人員的目標?

一些因素可以讓你認為答案是肯定的。在這兩種情況下,網絡釣魚電子郵件都是從不屬於PayPal的地址發送的,在這兩種情況下,顯示名稱都是“PayPal”。

消息的主體和主體在受害者和受害者之間各不相同,但可以公平地說這種情況或多或少是相同的。用戶的帳戶已被阻止或即將被阻止,其原因可能是異常行為或過時信息。正如您可能想像的那樣,有一個有用的鏈接,電子郵件說,將幫助用戶解決問題。實際上,鏈接會導致偽造的PayPal登錄頁面收集受害者的敏感信息。這兩個廣告系列不僅包括登錄憑據,還包括信用卡詳細信息,西班牙網絡釣魚頁面甚至還要求提供受害者身份證的照片。

一些網絡釣魚者比其他人更複雜

兩封電子郵件之間最明顯的區別是針對澳大利亞用戶的電子郵件是英文版,而針對西班牙公民的電子郵件則是西班牙文版。這是合乎邏輯的,但如果你仔細觀察,你會發現一些明顯的差異,這表明這兩個活動不是一組網絡犯罪分子的工作。

我們必須說,對西班牙用戶的攻擊負責的人更有能力. 雖然他們也沒有親自處理受害者(通常是網絡釣魚攻擊的跡象),但電子郵件格式化的方式確實表明它可能是合法的。頁腳中有額外的精細打印和鏈接,導致網絡釣魚形式的主按鈕與PayPal真實網站的外觀和感覺一致。網絡釣魚形式看起來也很有說服力,儘管缺乏HTTPS是一種贈品。

相比之下,澳大利亞網絡釣魚電子郵件的創建者甚至沒有使用PayPal的真實徽標(重疊的Ps缺失,字體不同)。消息正文中的語法錯誤以及缺乏公司電子郵件通信中典型的任何連貫結構都清楚地表達了所有疑問。

儘管如此,我們應該指出,儘管這些騙子犯了錯誤,但一些澳大利亞用戶仍會因此而遭受攻擊。不幸的是,由一群業餘愛好者組成的網絡釣魚活動並不一定意味著它不會成功。普通用戶在檢查收件箱或查看重要帳戶時,不會保持足夠的謹慎。他們點擊電子郵件中的鏈接並按照說明進行操作,而無需檢查誰發出了這些鏈接。這就是網絡釣魚如此有利可圖的原因。這就是為什麼你應該嘗試比普通用戶更好的原因。

May 23, 2019

發表評論

重要!若要繼續到下一步,請完成以下簡單的數學問題。
Please leave these two fields as is:
3 + 10是什麼?

Devious PayPal Scams Target Users' Passwords and Credit Card Information

PayPal Phishing Scams

According to Vade Secure, PayPal is the second-most targeted brand by phishers. This shouldn't be very surprising. We're talking about the world's most recognizable online payment platform, and unauthorized access to a person's PayPal account could mean unauthorized access to a significant portion of their money. What is interesting is that in Q1 of 2019, Vade noticed a whopping 88% increase in the number of PayPal-related phishing URLs. It's way too early to say whether this trend will continue throughout the second quarter, but reports from different corners of the globe suggest that it might.

A few days ago, for example, Spanish media reported (link in Spanish) on a phishing scheme aimed at PayPal users, and apparently, the campaign is quite widespread. So much so, in fact, that the Spanish National Cybersecurity Institute issued a special warning (link in Spanish) about it.

At the same time, close to 11 thousand miles away in Australia, Aussie PayPal users are facing a similar threat. In this case, there's no official advisory from a specialized institution, but the fact that the emails made the news goes to show that plenty of users are targeted. The timing, you have to agree, is pretty close, but is this all a coincidence?

Are Spanish and Australian PayPal users targeted by the same phishing crew?

A few factors can make you think that the answer is yes. In both cases, the phishing emails are sent from addresses that don't belong to PayPal, and in both cases, the display name is "PayPal".

The subjects and the bodies of the messages vary from victim to victim, but it's fair to say that the scenario is more or less the same. The user's account has either been blocked already or is about to be blocked, and the reason for this is either unusual behavior or outdated information. As you might imagine, there's a helpful link which, the email says, will help the user resolve the problem. In reality, the links leads to fake PayPal login pages that harvest the victims' sensitive information. Both campaigns were after not just login credentials, but also credit card details, and the Spanish phishing page even requested a photo of the victim's ID card.

Some phishers are more sophisticated than others

The most obvious difference between the two emails is that the one targeting Australian users is in English, and the one aimed at Spanish citizens is in Spanish. This is logical enough, but if you look closely, you'll spot a few distinct differences which suggest that the two campaigns are not the work of a single group of cybercriminals.

We must say that the people responsible for the attack on Spanish users are quite a lot more competent. Although they too don't address the victim personally (typically, a telltale sign of a phishing attack), the way the email is formatted does suggest that it might be legitimate. There is additional fine print and links in the footer, and the main button that leads to the phishing form is consistent with the look and feel of PayPal's real website. The phishing form looks pretty convincing too, though the lack of HTTPS is something of a giveaway.

By contrast, the creators of the Australian phishing email didn't even use PayPal's real logo (the overlapping Ps are missing, and the font is different). The grammatical errors in the body of the message and the lack of any coherent structure that is typical of a corporate email communication clear all doubts.

Having said all that, we should point out that despite the mistakes the crooks made, some Australian users will still fall for the attack. Unfortunately, the fact that a phishing campaign is put together by a group of amateurs doesn't necessarily mean that it won't be successful. Regular users just don't exercise enough caution when they're checking their inboxes or reviewing their important accounts. They click links in emails and follow instructions without so much as checking who issued them. That's why phishing is so lucrative. That's why you should try to be better than the regular user.

May 17, 2019

Leave a Reply

IMPORTANT! To be able to proceed, you need to solve the following simple math.
Please leave these two fields as is:
What is 6 + 10 ?