CryptoCore黑客针对密码管理器帐户

CryptoCore Targets Password Manager Accounts

昨天,网络安全公司ClearSky发布有关名为CryptoCore的黑客组织的报告 。该团伙也被称为危险密码和Leery Turtle,据称位于东欧,其行动也受到其他安全机构的追捧。但是,ClearSky的专家认为,CryptoCore的操作比最初估计的要大得多。他们认为,自2018年5月以来,船员们已经设法筹集了多达2亿美元的非法利润。昨天的报告阐明了如何做到这一点。

侦察

CryptoCore的受害者几乎完全是加密货币交易所和与其合作的公司。在进行实际攻击之前,黑客要经历一个漫长的侦察过程,其中包括确定他们将要瞄准的高级员工,尽可能多地收集有关他们的情报,并在某些情况下破坏其个人电子邮件帐户。

根据ClearSky的说法,对个人电子邮件的攻击更容易发动,但更重要的是,它们提供了很好的信息来源,可以帮助黑客破坏目标企业的收件箱。实际的攻击链是经过验证的技术和新的创新手段的结合,如果ClearSky估计的2亿美元利润是正确的,则显然行之有效。

社会工程

攻击始于鱼叉式电子邮件,其复杂程度各不相同。在某些情况下,这些消息看起来比较可疑,而在另一些情况下,除非出现奇数错误的逗号,否则它们在语法和社会工程学方面都几乎是完美的。

在大多数攻击中,加密货币交易所的执行人员都被告知,通过单击链接,他们将可以访问重要的工作相关文档。 CryptoCore大量使用类似于Google云端硬盘之类的流行在线平台的域名,并且在某些攻击中,黑客利用HTML来将恶意URL隐藏在合法链接之后。黑客还使用URL缩短服务,不仅是因为它们可以帮助他们逃避检测,而且还可以使他们了解有多少受害者属于该计划。

点击的目标用户将下载包含两个文件的存档。第一个是受密码保护的PDF,DOCX或XLSX文件,据认为是电子邮件正文中提到的与工作有关的文档。被害人被认为可以将解锁密码的密码存储在存档文件中的第二个文件“ password.txt”中。

但是,更细心的收件人可能会注意到password.txt文件实际上具有双扩展名。它的全名是“ password.txt.lnk”,它是实际攻击开始的地方。

攻击

LNK文件是Windows的常规快捷方式,其他网络犯罪团伙也已使用它们。 CryptoCore的LNK文件链接到一段恶意VBS代码,该代码连接到命令与控制服务器(C&C),并继续进行攻击的下一阶段。为了确保受害者不是更明智的选择,脚本将下载并打开一个TXT文件,其中包含看起来像承诺的密码。

但是,在后台,它将下载有效负载并将其存储在%temp%文件夹中,并将另一个VBS文件放置在启动目录中,以确保每当PC启动时就启动恶意软件。

抢劫

正如我们已经提到的,CryptoCore的攻击针对加密货币交易所的关键员工,这意味着普通用户不太可能受到此特定活动的影响。但是,这并不意味着人们不应该注意它。

ClearSky的专家并未透露CryptoCore攻击中使用的具体工具,但他们确实表示,网络犯罪分子正在追捕受害者的密码管理器帐户。在这里,黑客找到了他们需要的信息,以将价值数百万的数字硬币从交易所的活动钱包中重定向到由他们控制的地址。

侵入的实际机制仍是未知的,也没有关于特定密码管理应用程序是否针对的信息。但是,被盗的加密货币证明攻击已经成功,这可能会引起对某些用户的密码管理器的怀疑。这将是完全没有根据的。

密码管理器是组织和存储登录数据的最佳工具,毫无疑问,这在任何人看来都是如此。不幸的是,用户方面不良的网络安全状况也可能削弱密码管理器的防御能力。人们需要记住,他们的主密码必须是坚固,长且至关重要的(唯一),并且必须利用某些密码管理器提供的附加安全功能,例如两因素身份验证。我们可能没有CryptoCore攻击的技术细节,但我们确实知道它们都取决于用户单击电子邮件中的链接,这表明现在是每个人都应该使用以下方式来处理其收件箱中的消息的时候了:健康的怀疑程度。

June 25, 2020

发表评论

CryptoCore Hackers Target Password Manager Accounts

CryptoCore Targets Password Manager Accounts

Yesterday, cybersecurity company ClearSky published a report on a hacking group called CryptoCore. Also known as Dangerous Password and Leery Turtle, the gang is allegedly located in Eastern Europe, and its actions have been followed by other security outfits as well. ClearSky's experts reckon, however, that CryptoCore's operations are much bigger than initially estimated. They think that since May 2018, the crew has managed to rake up as much as $200 million in illegal profits. Yesterday's report sheds some light on how it managed to do it.

The reconnaissance

CryptoCore's victims are almost exclusively cryptocurrency exchanges and companies working with them. Before executing the actual attack, the hackers go through a long reconnaissance process, which consists of identifying the high-ranking employees that they'll target, gathering as much intelligence about them as possible, and, in some cases, compromising their personal email accounts.

According to ClearSky, the attacks on personal emails are easier to pull off, but more importantly, they provide an excellent source of information and can help hackers compromise the target's corporate inbox. The actual attack chain is a mixture of proven techniques and new, innovative tricks that, if ClearSky's estimates about the $200 million in profits are correct, clearly work rather well.

The social engineering

The attacks start with spearphishing emails that vary in their degree of sophistication. In some cases, the messages are rather suspicious-looking, and in others, bar the odd misplaced comma, they're almost perfect both in terms of grammar and social engineering.

In most attacks, the cryptocurrency exchange's executives are told that by clicking a link, they'll get access to an important work-related document. CryptoCore makes heavy use of domain names that look similar to popular online platforms like Google Drive, and in some of the attacks, the hackers employ HTML to hide the malicious URLs behind legitimate-looking links. The hackers have also used URL-shortening services not only because they could help them evade detection but also because they give them an idea of how many victims fall for the scheme.

Targets who do click through download an archive with two files. The first one is a password-protected PDF, DOCX, or XLSX file that is supposedly the work-related document mentioned in the body of the email. The victim is led to believe that the password that unlocks it is stored in "password.txt" – the second file in the archive.

The more observant recipients, however, might notice that the password.txt file actually has a double-extension. Its full name is "password.txt.lnk," and it's where the actual attack starts.

The attack

LNK files are regular Windows shortcuts, and they have been used by other cybercriminal gangs as well. CryptoCore's LNK file links to a piece of malicious VBS code that connects to the Command and Control server (C&C) and proceeds to the next stage of the attack. To ensure that the victim is none the wiser, the script downloads and opens a TXT file that contains what looks like the promised password.

In the background, however, it downloads and stores the payload in the %temp% folder and places another VBS file in the startup directory in order to ensure that the malware starts whenever the PC boots up.

The heist

As we mentioned already, CryptoCore's attacks target key employees of cryptocurrency exchanges, which means that regular users are unlikely to be affected by this particular campaign. This doesn't mean that people shouldn't pay attention to it, though.

ClearSky's experts didn't name the specific tools used in CryptoCore's attacks, but they did say that the cybercriminals are going after victims' password manager accounts. In there, the hackers find the information they need to redirect millions worth of digital coins from the exchange's active wallets to addresses controlled by them.

The actual mechanisms of breaking in remain unknown, and there's no information on whether specific password management applications are targeted. The stolen cryptocurrency proves, however, that the attacks have been successful, which could raise suspicion toward password managers in some users. It would be completely unwarranted.

Password managers are the best tools for organizing and storing login data, and there should be no doubt about this in anyone's mind. Unfortunately, even a password manager's defenses can be weakened by poor cybersecurity hygiene on the user's part. People need to remember that their master password must be strong, long, and, crucially, unique, and they must take advantage of additional security features like two-factor authentication that some password managers offer. We might not have the technical details around CryptoCore's attacks, but we do know that they are all dependent on the user clicking a link in an email, as well, which goes to show that it's high time everyone starts treating the messages in their inbox with a healthy dose of suspicion.

June 25, 2020

Leave a Reply