电话零售商Boost Mobile宣布在发生两个月后发生数据泄露事件

Boost Mobile Data Breach

Boost Mobile品牌近18年前被带到了美国。从那时起,手机零售商和电信服务提供商已投入巨资进行营销工作,现在它自称是提供“最佳无限制计划,没有年度服务合同”的公司。很难说有多少人在使用Boost Mobile的服务,但公平地说这个数字可能并不是微不足道的。这些人可能不会很高兴得知Boost Mobile最近遭受了网络攻击。他们可能会对公司报道此事件的方式感到不安。

Boost Mobile受到了黑客的攻击

根据上周发布的通知 ,3月14日,Boost Mobile的IT人员注意到公司网站上的异常活动。经过简短的调查后,他们发现黑客正在使用电话号码和PIN码来获取未经授权的客户帐户的未经授权的访问权限。一旦进入,骗子就有机会获得一些个人信息以及更改用户的计划和帐户设置。

一旦他们发现了攻击,Boost Mobile的IT专家就实施了“永久解决方案”。用户已收到带有临时PIN码的文本消息以及可通过其重置的链接。虽然没有透露暴露信息的性质,但如果您怀疑自己是身份盗用的受害者,则通知中会提供一个通用的步骤列表。

有几个问题没有答案

你们中间更敏感的人可能已经注意到这个事件发生在两个多月前,但数据违规通知是在上周发布的。这并不罕见。事实上,有时候数据泄露仍然没有报告数月甚至数年,仅仅是因为目标公司不了解它们。然而,使用Boost Mobile,情况会有所不同。它的IT团队注意到了发生的攻击,他们显然立即修复了它。鉴于此,了解为什么电信供应商花了近两个月才发出正式通知变得相当有趣。

说到官方通知,鉴于他们有足够的时间准备它,其中一些明显的错误似乎相当特殊。例如,它表示在“Boost.com”上观察到了未经授权的访问活动。 Boost.com是雀巢旗下的营养饮品品牌网站,与Boost Mobile无关。撰写通知的人可能意味着Boostmobile.com。

不过,这是该陈述中最少的问题。首先,它没有告诉我们有多少用户受到影响。数据违规通知也是向加利福尼亚州提交的,这表明金州勇士队的居民可能有不少于500人的账户,但这与我们所知道的差不多。

Boost Mobile的团队还表示,未经授权的访问是通过正确的电话号码和PIN码组合实现的,但他们未能说出黑客是如何获得凭据的. 他们猜到了吗?他们把他们打死了吗?或者Boost Mobile的安全性遭到破坏?答案无处可见。我们无法知道“永久解决方案”是多么“永久”,因为我们不知道提供商究竟做了什么。

这不是我们第一次看到一家公司在报道数据泄露问题上遇到困难。即使像亚马逊这样的技术行业中的大腕也没有像他们应该那样提供信息,这表明我们可能需要对数据泄露报告进行一些标准化甚至监管。可悲的是,这是一个乌托邦式的目标,就目前而言,不太可能很快实现。这就是为什么当你面对如上所述的违规通知时,除了仔细考虑你给出的信息并采取相应的行动之外别无选择。现在,如果您还没有,请更改您的Boost Mobile PIN码。

May 23, 2019

发表评论

重要!若要继续到下一步,请完成以下简单的数学问题。
Please leave these two fields as is:
8 + 5是什么?

Phone Retailer Boost Mobile Announces a Data Breach Two Months After It Happened

Boost Mobile Data Breach

The Boost Mobile brand was brought to the US nearly eighteen years ago. Since then, the phone retailer and telecommunication service provider has invested enormous sums of money into marketing efforts, and it now bills itself as the company that provides "the best unlimited plans with no annual service contracts." It's difficult to say how many people are using Boost Mobile's services, but it's fair to say that the number probably isn't insignificant. These people might not be very happy to learn that Boost Mobile suffered a cyberattack recently. They will probably be even more upset about the way the company reported the incident.

Boost Mobile got hit by hackers

According to a notification posted last week, on March 14, Boost Mobile's IT people noticed unusual activity on the company website. After a brief investigation, they found out that hackers were using phone numbers and PIN codes to gain unauthorized access to unsuspecting customers' accounts. Once in, the crooks had the chance to get to some personal information as well as change users' plan and accounts settings.

As soon as they discovered the attack, Boost Mobile's IT specialists implemented a "permanent solution". Users have received a text message with a temporary PIN code and a link through which they can reset it. Although the nature of the exposed information was not disclosed, the notice was furnished with a generic-looking list of steps that you need to take if you suspect that you've been a victim of identity theft.

More than a few questions are left unanswered

The more observant among you have probably noticed that the incident took place a little over two months ago, and yet the data breach notification was posted last week. This is not that uncommon. In fact, sometimes, data breaches remain unreported for months or even years simply because the targeted companies don't know about them. With Boost Mobile, however, things are a bit different. Its IT team noticed the attack as it was happening, and they apparently fixed it immediately. In light of this, it becomes rather interesting to learn why it took the telecom provider close to two months to issue an official notice.

Speaking of the official notice, given that they had so much time to prepare it, some of the obvious errors in it seem rather peculiar. It says, for example, that the unauthorized access activity was observed on "Boost.com". Boost.com is the website of a Nestlé -owned brand of nutritional drinks which has nothing to do with Boost Mobile. The people writing the notice probably meant Boostmobile.com.

This is the least of the statement's problems, though. For one, it gives us no clue as to how many users are affected. The fact that the data breach notice was also filed with the State of California suggests that no fewer than 500 residents of The Golden State might have had their accounts exposed, but that's about as much as we know.

Boost Mobile's team also said that the unauthorized access was enabled by correct phone number and PIN code combinations, but they failed to say how the hackers got their hands on the credentials. Did they guess them? Did they phish them? Or was Boost Mobile's security breached? The answers are nowhere to be seen. We have no way of knowing how "permanent" the "permanent solution" is, either, because we have no idea what the provider did exactly.

This is not the first time we've seen a company struggling with the matter of reporting a data breach. The notices of even the biggest names in the technology industry like Amazon aren't always as informative as they should be which does suggest that we might need some standardization and even regulation around data breach reporting. Sadly, this is a somewhat Utopian goal that, as things stand, is unlikely to be achieved anytime soon. That's why, when you're faced with breach notices such as the one we described above, you have little other choices than to carefully consider the information you're given and act accordingly. Now, go and change your Boost Mobile PIN code if you haven't already.

May 16, 2019

Leave a Reply

IMPORTANT! To be able to proceed, you need to solve the following simple math.
Please leave these two fields as is:
What is 5 + 2 ?