至少有30,000位Mac用户感染了新的恶意软件

2月下旬,Red Canary的安全研究人员发表了他们的发现,这些发现是针对Mac计算机的一种新型恶意软件。新的恶意软件名为Silver Sparrow,其目的仍不清楚。

根据报道的数字,Silver Sparrow已经感染了大约30,000台运行Apple macOS的计算机。感染遍布150多个国家,感染系统最多的地区是英语国家,德国和法国。

新恶意软件的主要分发媒介仍然未知。研究人员建议通常的嫌疑人-从官方App Store以外的来源下载的应用程序或恶意文件冒充为现已停产且不受支持的Flash平台的更新。

银麻雀的另一个神秘之处是其最终目的。受感染的沙箱系统表明,该恶意软件唯一要做的就是等待运行感染活动的不良行为者的输入和命令。

但是,这些命令从未到达,研究人员怀疑该恶意软件可能具有沙箱检测和逃避功能,从而可以区分常规受害者和研究人员测试平台。

研究人员还认为,发现受害者的人数相对较高,这表明这不是小规模的行动,也不是简单的测试。

迄今为止,Silver Sparrow还是第二种发现的恶意软件,能够感染并在运行Apple新M1芯片体系结构的系统上运行。仅此一项就足以证明该恶意软件不是在黑暗中一次性拍摄的,如果有的话,将来可能会演变成更重要的事情。

值得一提的是,由于缺乏对Silver Sparrow行为,目的和功能的硬性信息,这意味着该恶意软件可能已经完全配备了仅在真实受害者的Mac上提供的全部恶意工具库,因为该恶意软件的沙箱逃避行为足够好。

Silver Sparrow恶意软件是黑客用来感染Mac计算机的相对较小的恶意工具列表中的最新成员,至少与Windows PC恶意软件的浩瀚相比。但是,它应该提醒您,并非仅仅因为使用Mac,就对所有形式的数字入侵都不安全。

February 23, 2021

At Least 30,000 Mac Users Infected With New Malware Strain

In late February security researchers with Red Canary published their findings on a new strain of malware targeting Mac computers. The new malware is named Silver Sparrow and its purpose is still a bit unclear.

According to reported numbers, Silver Sparrow has infected around 30,000 computers running Apple's macOS. The infections are spread among over 150 countries and the largest numbers of infected systems are located in English-speaking countries, Germany and France.

The main distribution vector of the new malware is still unknown. Researchers suggest the usual suspects - applications downloaded from sources other than the official App Store or malicious files posing as updates for the now-discontinued and unsupported Flash platform.

Another mystery surrounding Silver Sparrow is what its ultimate purpose is. Infected sandbox systems showed that the only thing the malware does is wait for input and commands from the bad actors that run the infection campaign.

However, those commands never arrived and researchers suspect the malware might have sandbox detection and evasion capabilities that allow it to distinguish regular victims from researcher testbeds.

Researchers also believe that the relatively high number of discovered victims suggests that this is not a small-scale operation or a simple test.

Silver Sparrow is also the second strain of malware discovered so far that is able to infect and work on systems running Apple's new M1 chip architecture. This alone is sufficient proof that the malware is not a one-off shot in the dark and if anything, it might evolve into something more significant in the future.

It's worth mentioning that the current lack of hard information about Silver Sparrow's behavior, purpose and capabilities means that the malware might already be fully equipped with a full arsenal of malicious tools delivered only onto real victim's Macs, given the malware's sandbox evasion is good enough.

The Silver Sparrow malware is the latest addition to the relatively small roster of malicious tools hackers use to infect Mac computers, at least compared to the vast ocean of Windows PC malware. However, it should serve as a reminder than you are not magically safe from all forms of digital intrusion simply because you use a Mac.

February 23, 2021

Leave a Reply