在加拿大使用偽造的COVID-19追踪應用程序隱藏了名為CryCryptor的Android勒索軟件

CryCryptor Android Ransomware Poses As a Fake Canadian COVID-19 Contact Tracing App

週二,一位由Twitter負責人Re-ind的獨立反向工程師偶然發現了幾個最近註冊的域,試圖推送一個惡意的Android應用程序。 Re-ind的初步調查表明,騙子正在散佈銀行木馬,但在ESET的研究人員仔細研究之後 ,他們意識到這實際上是一種名為CryCryptor的新型勒索軟件。乍一看,該競選似乎是一個複雜的網絡犯罪團伙的創意。

賽博騙子再次利用了COVID-19大流行

惡意網站是在加拿大總理賈斯汀·特魯多(Justin Trudeau)宣布政府支持開發COVID-19聯繫人跟踪應用程序幾天后才建立的。像世界上其他國家一樣,加拿大正在啟動一個應用程序,該應用程序應提醒已經與確診冠狀病毒病例密切聯繫的人們。該應用程序仍在開發中,很可能在下個月初啟動。網絡犯罪分子希望人們不會意識到這一點。

他們花了很大力氣將CryCryptor勒索軟件偽裝成加拿大即將推出的COVID-19聯繫人跟踪應用程序。登陸頁面在模仿加拿大政府網站方面做得很好,而且,正如ESET的研究人員指出的那樣,通常的語法和拼寫錯誤均已丟失。

有幾個段落介紹了該應用程序並說明了它的好處,在它們的左側,有一個巨大的“在Google Play上獲取它”按鈕。令人困惑的是,在該按鈕下方的一處相當不錯的打印文字顯示Google Play仍在批准該應用程序,這就是為什麼只能從“我們的服務器”下載該應用程序的原因。除此之外,幾乎沒有任何東西可以消除騙局。

發現威脅後不久,ESET的研究人員通知了加拿大網絡安全中心,數小時之內,惡意網站就關閉了。當然,在此之前,專家們仔細研究了CryCryptor勒索軟件。

CryCryptor不是一個非常複雜的威脅

許多Android勒索軟件可以避免繁瑣的數據加密工作,而只需更改設備的密碼即可。 CryCryptor不是其中之一。

勒索軟件使用AES對數據進行加密,將其放入擴展名為.enc的文件中,然後刪除原始文件。對於每個加密文件,勒索軟件都會創建另外兩個包含唯一鹽和初始化向量的文件。

加密完成後,CryCryptor告知用戶其數據已經加密,並敦促他們遵循“ readme_now.txt”文件中的說明。贖金記錄沒有說明實際的贖金金額,而是為用戶提供了他們需要聯繫的唯一ID和電子郵件地址。幸運的是,在這種特殊情況下,騙子的要求並不重要,因為可以免費檢索CryCryptor加密的文件。

ESET的研究人員對勒索軟件進行了反向工程,結果發現,為了避免將加密密鑰與Command&Control服務器(C&C)進行來回傳輸,騙子決定將其存儲在設備上。因此,安全專家能夠創建和發布免費的解密工具,該工具可以幫助受CryCryptor影響的用戶檢索其數據而無需支付贖金。

進一步的調查證實,罪犯在準備攻擊的技術方面時比較懶惰。他們甚至都不費心思提出自己的勒索軟件系列。相反,他們將CryCryptor基於CryDroid,這是一種Android勒索軟件,最近通過GitHub開源。

開源勒索軟件的問題

CryDroid存儲庫中的“自述文件”說,作者是一位安全專家,希望與其他研究人員共享代碼,並且不應將惡意軟件用於攻擊無辜的受害者。顯然,這並沒有阻止網絡犯罪分子濫用它。實際上,該代碼已於6月11日公開,僅一周後,它已被更名並準備向加拿大用戶發布。

這也不是第一次。 2015年,一名安全專家使用GitHub共享了一種名為Hidden Tear的Windows勒索軟件威脅,其目的是出於研究目的。他無意間產生了各種各樣的文件加密威脅,直到今天仍在折磨著用戶。大多數基於公開可用的惡意軟件的活動可能規模較小且相對無害,但這並不能改變這樣一個事實,即即使是出於全球最佳意圖,開源惡意代碼也使網絡犯罪分子的生活變得更加輕鬆。在當今時代,安全專家應該比這更了解。

June 26, 2020

發表評論

Android Ransomware Called CryCryptor Is Concealed Using a Fake COVID-19 Tracing App in Canada

CryCryptor Android Ransomware Poses As a Fake Canadian COVID-19 Contact Tracing App

On Tuesday, an independent reverse engineer going by the Twitter handle Re-ind stumbled upon a couple of recently registered domains trying to push a malicious Android application. Re-ind's initial investigation suggested that the crooks were distributing a banking trojan, but after researchers from ESET took a closer look, they realized that it's actually a new strain of ransomware called CryCryptor. At first glance, it looked like the campaign was the brainchild of a sophisticated cybercriminal gang.

Cybercrooks take advantage of the COVID-19 pandemic again

The malicious websites were set up mere days after Justin Trudeau, Canada's Prime Minister, announced that the government is backing the development of a COVID-19 contact tracing application. Like other countries around the world, Canada is in the process of launching an app that is supposed to alert people who have been in close contact with confirmed coronavirus cases. The application is still under development, and it will most likely be launched early next month. The cybercriminals were hoping that people would be unaware of this.

They put a lot of effort into disguising the CryCryptor ransomware as Canada's upcoming COVID-19 contact tracing app. The landing pages did a fine job of impersonating the Canadian Government's website, and, as ESET's researchers pointed out, the usual grammatical and spelling errors were missing.

There were a couple of paragraphs introducing the app and explaining its benefits, and to the left of them, there was a giant "Get it on Google Play" button. Confusingly, a rather fine print underneath the said button read that Google Play was still in the process of approving the application, which is why downloading the app was only possible from "our server." Apart from that, there was virtually nothing that could give away the scam.

Shortly after discovering the threat, ESET's researchers notified the Canadian Center for Cyber Security, and within hours, the malicious websites were down. Of course, before that happened, the experts took a closer look at the CryCryptor ransomware.

CryCryptor is not a very sophisticated threat

Many Android ransomware strains avoid the complicated business of encrypting data and instead simply change the device's password. CryCryptor isn't one of them.

The ransomware scrambles the data with AES, puts it in a file with a .enc extension, and removes the original file. For each encrypted file, the ransomware creates two others that contain a unique salt and an initialization vector.

After the encryption is done, CryCryptor tells the user that their data has been encrypted and urges them to follow the instructions in the "readme_now.txt" file. The ransom note doesn't state the actual ransom amount and instead gives the user a unique ID and an email address they need to contact. Fortunately, the crooks' demands aren't that relevant in this particular case because files encrypted by CryCryptor can be retrieved for free.

ESET's researchers reverse-engineered the ransomware and found out that to avoid transferring the encryption key to and from the Command & Control server (C&C), the crooks had decided to store it on the device. Thanks to this, the security experts were able to create and release a free decryption tool that helps users affected by CryCryptor retrieve their data without paying the ransom.

Further investigation confirmed that the criminals were rather lazy when they were preparing the technical side of their attack. They didn't even bother to come up with their own ransomware family. Instead, they based CryCryptor on CryDroid, an Android ransomware strain that was recently open-sourced through GitHub.

The problem with open-source ransomware

The Read Me file in CryDroid's repository says that the author is a security expert who wants to share the code with fellow researchers and that the malware shouldn't be used for attacking innocent victims. Clearly, this didn't stop the cybercriminals from abusing it. In fact, the code became public on June 11, and just a week later, it was already rebranded and ready to be unleashed on Canadian users.

This is not the first time this has happened, either. In 2015, a security expert used GitHub to share a Windows ransomware threat called Hidden Tear for what he claimed was research purposes. He inadvertently spawned a wide variety of file-encrypting threats that continue to torment users to this day. Most campaigns based on publicly available malware might be small and relatively harmless, but that doesn't change the fact that even with the best intentions in the world, open-sourcing malicious code is making the cybercriminals' lives a lot easier. In this day and age, security experts should know better than this.

June 26, 2020

Leave a Reply