36%的远程工作者不关心密码安全性

2020年的Covid-19大流行迫使无数人在家中工作,因为组织和企业尽其所能来维持日常工作量,并且大多数员工都在远程工作。如此众多公司的运营模式的重大转变带来了网络安全需要解决的新威胁和新问题。

趋势科技进行了一项名为“云中的头”的大规模调查,该调查对全球各个国家/地区的数千名远程工作者进行了调查,以了解这些工作者在自己的生活中会坚持多少坏习惯和不安全习惯工作并从家中登录公司网络。结果不是很令人鼓舞。

该调查的主要发现之一是,大约36%的远程工作人员的个人家用设备上没有任何密码保护措施。大多数密码确实具有某种密码,但是没有有关这些密码的类型或强度的具体信息。另一个令人担忧的数字表明,不到一半的调查参与者的设备上装有任何安全应用程序或软件。在Windows 10已经向公众发布了十年并且预装了Windows Defender的世界中,即使对于那些不太在意计算机安全的人来说,Windows Defender也是某种家庭安全基准,这些数字令人担忧。

大量工作人员还使用个人设备访问公司网络以及公司云存储和应用程序。与雇主提供和保护的类似设备相比,以前用于休闲和娱乐的个人移动设备(如电话和平板电脑)的安全性明显降低。这些移动设备还经常连接并暴露于用户家庭网络上的各种启用IoT的设备上,这些设备可以用作附加攻击媒介。

鉴于通过电子邮件垃圾邮件对企业,组织和随机个人进行黑客攻击和攻击频率很高,无论所有人是否在家工作,密码安全都应该成为每个人的首要任务。尽可能安全的密码是您可以针对潜在攻击而采取的第一种也是最简单的防御方式。

您可以针对自己的设备和帐户申请某些最佳做法。这些措施包括永远不要在多个设备或服务上使用相同的密码,使用冗长而复杂的密码(包含符号,数字和大小写混合的字母),以及对提供该密码的任何网站或服务使用多重身份验证。

October 1, 2020

发表评论

36 Percent of Remote Workers Do Not Care About Password Security

The 2020 Covid-19 pandemic has forced an unprecedented number of people to work from home as organizations and businesses do their best to maintain regular workload with the majority of their employees working remotely. This significant shift in the mode of operation of so many companies poses new threats and new problems that need to be tackled by cybersecurity.

Trend Micro conducted a large-scale survey titled "Head in the Clouds" that polled thousands of remote workers in countries across the globe, to find out how many bad and unsafe habits that those same workers have in their personal life persist when they do their job and log onto company networks from their homes. The results were not very encouraging.

One of the key findings in the survey was that about 36 percent of remote workers do not have any sort of password protection in place on their personal home devices. The majority did have some sort of password, but there is no specific information about the type or strength of those passwords. Another concerning figure shows that less than half of the survey participants had any security app or software on their device. In a world where Windows 10 has been released to the public for half a decade and comes with preinstalled Windows Defender, which is some sort of home security baseline even for those who don't particularly care about their computer's safety, those numbers are worrying.

A significant number of workers also use personal devices to access company networks and corporate cloud storage and applications. Personal mobile devices like phones and tablets that have previously been used for leisure and entertainment are measurably less secure that similar devices provided and secured by an employer. Those mobile devices are also often connected and exposed to various IoT-enabled devices on the user's home network, which can be used as an additional attack vector.

Given the frequency of hacks and attacks on businesses, organizations and random individuals through email spam, password security should be a priority for everyone, regardless of whether they work from home or not. A password that is as secure as possible is the very first and simplest form of defense you can mount against potential attacks.

There are certain best practices you can apply for your own devices and accounts. Those include never using the same password across multiple devices or services, using lengthy and complex passwords that contain symbols, digits and mixed-case letters, as well as making use of multi-factor authentication for any website or service that offers it.

October 1, 2020

Leave a Reply