Western Digital Devices столкнулась с новой уязвимостью

Шок, который испытали тысячи пользователей, когда они обнаружили, что их устройства Western Digital My Book Live были полностью уничтожены в результате разрушительной хакерской атаки в конце июня, вероятно, все еще свеж в их памяти. Теперь в устройствах Western Digital обнаружена еще одна уязвимость, которая позволяет выполнять опасный удаленный код.

Недавно обнаруженная уязвимость затрагивает устройства WD My Cloud, особенно те, на которых установлена устаревшая, более не поддерживаемая операционная система My Cloud 3. Если злоумышленники попадают на устройство My Cloud OS 3, которое все еще имеет уязвимость, они получают доступ к функциям удаленного выполнения кода и на корневом уровне, что дает им практически полный контроль над устройством. Злоумышленники также могут установить бэкдор на взломанных устройствах. Проблема затрагивает все устройства с My Cloud OS 3.

У пользователей, конечно же, есть возможность обновить свои устройства до My Cloud OS 5, но, по мнению исследователей, это может быть не так гладко, как можно было бы ожидать. Сообщая о новой уязвимости, Threatpost объясняет, что с обновлениями с OS 3 до OS 5 производитель «перекосил» некоторые функции, которые многие пользователи сочли важными, и многие пользователи могут не захотеть обновлять свои устройства и потерять функции, которые им очень нравятся.

Два исследователя, которые обнаружили уязвимость в версии программного обеспечения WD для OS 3, названные Domanski и Ribeiro, фактически опубликовали собственный патч, который устраняет уязвимость OS 3. Патч доступен на GitHub и будет большим подспорьем для людей, которые не хотят терять свои любимые функции OS 3, но хотят иметь безопасное устройство. Единственное неудобство, связанное с неофициальным патчем, заключается в том, что его нужно повторно применять каждый раз при перезагрузке запоминающих устройств.

Western Digital прекратила поддержку OS 3 и поддерживает только версию своего программного обеспечения для OS 5, в которой уязвимости не существует.

Всего неделю назад владельцы устройств Western Digital по всему миру обнаружили, что их устройства My Book Live полностью протерты. Первоначально предполагалось, что атака использует старую ошибку, позволяющую удаленно выполнять код, которая восходит к 2018 году. Чуть позже выяснилось, что в атаках использовалась еще одна, ранее неизвестная уязвимость нулевого дня, которая позволяла хакерам полностью удаленно стереть данные с устройств и вернуться к ним. их к заводским настройкам.

July 8, 2021
Uncategorized

Western Digital Devices Hit by New Vulnerability

The shock that thousands of users felt when they discovered their Western Digital My Book Live devices had been wiped clean in a destructive hack attack in late June is probably still fresh in their memory. Now Western Digital devices have had another vulnerability exposed that allows dangerous remote code execution.

The newly discovered vulnerability affects WD My Cloud devices, and specifically those running the outdated, no longer supported My Cloud 3 operating system. If bad actors get to a My Cloud OS 3 device that still has the vulnerability, they gain access to remote code execution functionality, and at root level, giving them practically full control over the device. The bad actors can also install a backdoor on the compromised devices. The issue affects all devices running My Cloud OS 3.

Users, of course, have the option to upgrade their devices to the My Cloud OS 5, but according to researchers, this might not be as smooth a process as you might expect. Reporting on the new vulnerability, Threatpost explains that with the updates from OS 3 to OS 5 the manufacturer "skewed" some features that many users considered important and a lot of users may be unwilling to upgrade their devices and lose functionality that they enjoy greatly.

The two researchers who found the vulnerability in the OS 3 version of the WD software, called Domanski and Ribeiro, actually published a custom patch they made that takes care of the OS 3 vulnerability. The patch is available on GitHub and will be of great help to people who don't want to lose their favorite OS 3 functionality but want to have a secure device. The only inconvenience with the unofficial patch is that it has to be reapplied every time the storage devices are rebooted.

Western Digital have discontinued support for OS 3 and are only supporting the OS 5 version of their software, where the vulnerability does not exist.

Only a week ago Western Digital device owners across the world found their My Book Live devices were wiped clean. The attack was originally thought to abuse an old bug allowing remote code execution that dates back to 2018. A little later, it was revealed that the attacks also abused another, previously unknown zero-day vulnerability that allowed hackers to remotely wipe devices completely and revert them to factory settings.

July 8, 2021

Cyclonis Backup

The Free Basic Cyclonis Backup plan gives you 2 GB of cloud storage space with full functionality! No credit card required. Need more storage space? Purchase a larger Cyclonis Backup plan today! To learn more about our policies and pricing, see Terms of Service, Privacy Policy, Discount Terms and Purchase Page. If you wish to uninstall the app, please visit the Uninstallation Instructions page.

Cyclonis Password Manager

FREE Trial: 30-Day One-Time Offer! No credit card required for Free Trial. Full functionality for the length of the Free Trial. (Full functionality after Free Trial requires subscription purchase.) To learn more about our policies and pricing, see EULA, Privacy Policy, Discount Terms and Purchase Page. If you wish to uninstall the app, please visit the Uninstallation Instructions page.