揭露数据违规行为后,驻美国的家庭厨师敦促客户更改密码

Home Chef Data Breach

我们经常谈论在数据泄露后迅速采取行动的重要性。公司不仅需要确保网络犯罪分子已被成功阻止,安全漏洞已经被堵塞,而且还必须通知受影响的客户,并向公众透明地披露该违规行为。像送餐公司Home Chef那样的事件表明,我们可能需要继续重复所有这一切。

家庭厨师–闪亮猎人的受害者之一

5月初,一群新的网络犯罪分子引起了安全专家的注意。他们称自己为“闪亮的猎人”,而且他们似乎可以访问大量被盗信息,并试图通过这些货币获利。首先,出售了从印度尼西亚一个流行的网站Tokopedia上获取的数据库。接下来,他们试图转移从在线教育平台Unacademy窃取的2200万条记录,几天后,Shiny Hunters再次证明了自己不要被低估。

他们回到了自己喜欢的黑客论坛,并宣布不少于10个以前未报告的数据泄露事件 。他们没有声称对这次攻击负责,但他们确实指出他们拥有被盗的数据库,并且他们愿意共享它们以换取一些比特币。

每个数据集的价格在500美元到3500美元之间,泄露的信息已从各个不同的组织盗窃,并且您可能会想到,Home Chef是其中之一。黑客从食品配送网络窃取了总计800万条记录,他们想要2500美元。为此,购买者将获得一个庞大的数据库,其中包括姓名,电子邮件,电话号码,与帐户相关的各种信息,以及加密的密码和人们信用卡或借记卡的后四位。不幸的是,保护密码的加密算法目前仍然未知。

家庭厨师等待了将近两个星期,才透露数据泄露

总体而言,针对家庭主厨的攻击细节很少,但是你们中有些人可能会说我们很幸运能做到这一点。 5月9日, Bleeping Computer报道了《闪亮猎人》的批发新闻。当时,在十个受影响的组织中,只有一个(一家名为ChatBooks的相册销售商)受到网络犯罪分子的袭击,尽管新闻网站试图与所有相关人员取得联系,但其他公司宁愿不回答他们的问题。电子邮件。家庭主厨是该小组中第二位清理该漏洞的成员,其完成方式突显了我们在数据安全事件及其披露方面存在的巨大问题。

自Shiny Hunters第一次告诉我们家庭主厨被黑客入侵以来,已经快两个星期了。只有黑客可以说出在这段时间内有多少人为被盗的数据付费,甚至他们也只能猜测被重新共享了多少次。

家庭主厨不喜欢与用户讨论出售它的事实。实际上,公司放在一起的FAQ页面提供的信息很少。它不能很好地向用户清楚说明发生的情况,但是它确实显示了在遭受数据泄露打击后,有多少老牌公司在使用它们。唯一积极的一点是,它会促使用户出于谨慎考虑而更改其密码。

如果您是家庭厨师用户,那确实是个好主意。步骤如下:

  1. 登录您的家庭厨师帐户
  2. 点击帐户下拉菜单,然后选择帐户信息
  3. 填写更改密码表格
  4. 点击保存您的设置

公司似乎深信,如果他们很少或根本不共享有关经历过的网络安全事件的信息,则可以以某种方式挽救自己的面孔。但是,最终,这些用户可能最终会因数据泄露而导致所有不同攻击的错误结果,他们有权知道需要注意什么。延迟的披露以及不愿透露详细信息无非是给用户带来了额外的风险,而这对公司的声誉不利。

May 21, 2020

发表评论

The US-Based Home Chef Urges Clients to Change Passwords After a Data Breach Was Revealed

Home Chef Data Breach

We often talk about how important it is to act quickly in the aftermath of a data breach. Companies not only need to make sure that the cybercriminals have been successfully blocked and the security holes have been plugged, but they must also inform affected customers and transparently disclose the breach to the public. Incidents like the one that befell food delivery company Home Chef shows that we'll probably need to continue repeating all this.

Home Chef – one of Shiny Hunters' victims

In early May, a new group of cybercriminals caught security experts' attention. They call themselves Shiny Hunters, and they appear to have access to a large collection of stolen information, which they are trying to monetize. First, a database taken from a popular Indonesian website called Tokopedia was put up for sale. Next, they tried to shift 22 million records stolen from an online educational platform Unacademy, and a few days later, Shiny Hunters proved once again that they are not to be underestimated.

They went back to their favorite hacking forums and announced no fewer than 10 previously unreported data breaches. They didn't claim to be responsible for the attacks, but they did point out that they have the stolen databases, and they are willing to share them in exchange for some bitcoins.

Priced between $500 and $3,500 per data set, the leaked information had been stolen from various different organizations, and as you might imagine, Home Chef is one of them. The hackers pilfered a total of 8 million records from the food delivery network, and they want $2,500 for them. For that, buyers get a substantial database that includes names, emails, phone numbers, various bits of account-related information, as well as encrypted passwords and the last four digits of people's credit or debit cards. Unfortunately, the encryption algorithm protecting the passwords remains unknown for now.

Home Chef waited for close to two weeks before it disclosed the data breach

On the whole, the details around the attack against Home Chef are somewhat scarce, but some of you could argue that we're lucky to have even that. Shiny Hunters' wholesale first made the news on May 9, when Bleeping Computer reported on it. At the time, only one (a photo album vendor called ChatBooks) of the ten affected organizations admitted that it had been targeted by cybercriminals, and although the news website tried to get in touch with everyone involved, the other companies preferred not to answer their emails. Home Chef is the second member of this group to come clean about the breach, and the way it's done it highlights the enormous problem we have with data security incidents and their disclosure.

It's been almost exactly two weeks since Shiny Hunters first told us that Home Chef has been hacked. Only the hackers can say how many people have paid for the stolen data during this period, and even they can do little more than guess how many times it's been re-shared.

The fact that it was put up for sale is not something Home Chef likes to discuss with its users. In fact, the FAQ page the company put together offers very little in the way of information. It doesn't do a very good job of giving users a clear account of what's happened, but it does showcase how many clichés companies use after they've been hit by a data breach. The only positive thing about it is that it urges users to change their passwords out of an abundance of caution.

If you are a Home Chef user, it is indeed a good idea to do that. Here are the steps:

  1. Log into your Home Chef account
  2. Click the Account dropdown menu and select Account information
  3. Fill out the Change Your Password form
  4. Click Save Your Settings

Companies appear to be convinced that they can somehow save their faces if they share little or no information about cybersecurity incidents they've been through. In the end, however, the users are the ones who could end up on the wrong end of all the different attacks enabled by data breaches, and they have every right to know what they need to look out for. The delayed disclosure and the reluctance to share details do nothing more than put the user under additional risk, and this can't be beneficial for the company's reputation.

May 21, 2020

Leave a Reply