似乎由Netflix发送的“更新当前帐单信息”电子邮件是伪造的

Netflix Update Current Billing Information Phishing Scam

网络钓鱼攻击被广泛认为是最简单的网络犯罪形式之一。但是为什么呢?

嗯,组织一次典型的网络钓鱼活动并不需要很多技术专长。网络罪犯只需单击几下,就可以租用僵尸网络并发送大量垃圾邮件,他们还可以借用网络钓鱼工具包,这意味着他们甚至无需费心在以下位置创建令人信服的登录表单:为了窃取人们的数据。

话虽如此,尽管从表面上看网络钓鱼是一个简单的概念,但成功的广告活动不仅需要复制合法服务的登录页面,还需要一次发送许多电子邮件的能力。如果网络钓鱼者要窃取人们的数据,则他们需要侵入比计算机系统或网站复杂得多的内容。他们需要愚弄人的思想,最近针对Netflix用户的网络钓鱼攻击数量增加表明,他们有一些经过实践检验的方法。

冠状病毒危机导致针对Netflix用户的更多网络钓鱼攻击

科技新闻网站FastCompany.com最近报道说,针对Netflix用户的网络钓鱼攻击数量有所增加。这真的不应该让任何人感到惊讶。

由于COVID-19大流行,很多人被关在家里,无所事事。他们一定要依靠像Netflix这样的流媒体服务来娱乐自己,并且他们可能会更加保护自己的帐户。网络钓鱼者已经意识到这一点,并且他们正试图充分利用它。

Netflix用户收到的一些电子邮件中说,由于过期的账单信息,目标帐户可能已被停用。敦促用户单击一个链接并更新其信用卡,否则,他们可能会面临疯狂观看马拉松的风险。

显然,这些消息是伪造的,如果您收到消息,则不应上当。他们是窃取您的财务数据的一部分。

网络钓鱼者这次将其放回原处

FastCompany.com共享的屏幕快照表明,这些消息看起来很有说服力。没有明显的拼写错误,使用了正确的徽标,并且格式似乎非常准确。但是,这绝不是唯一可以吸引某些人的事情。

此活动中使用的社交工程技术不是新技术,也不是创新技术,但它们似乎和以往一样有效。在这种特殊情况下,通过说受害者的订阅可能被取消,网络钓鱼者正在产生一种紧迫感。

他们的目标是使用户迅速采取行动,因为当用户迅速采取行动时,他们不太可能对某些事物产生怀疑。而且,正如我们在这些页面上无数次提到的那样,可疑经常是保护自己免受任何形式的网络犯罪的唯一方法。

无论收件箱中出现的链接和附件多么令人信服,请格外小心,在输入任何用户名,密码或其他个人信息之前,请始终确保地址栏中的URL是正确的。

July 27, 2020

发表评论

The 'Update Current Billing Information' Email That Appears to Be Sent by Netflix Is FAKE

Netflix Update Current Billing Information Phishing Scam

Phishing attacks are widely considered to be one of the simplest forms of cybercrime. But why is that?

Well, organizing a typical phishing campaign doesn't require a lot in the way of technical expertise. Cybercriminals can rent botnets and send out a large number of spam emails in a matter of a few clicks, and they can also borrow phishing kits, which means that they don't even need to go through the trouble of creating a convincing login form in order to steal people's data.

That being said, although phishing is a simple concept on the face of it, a successful campaign requires more than a copy of a legitimate service's sign-in page and an ability to send many emails at once. If the phishers are to steal people's data, they need to hack into something much more complicated than a computer system or a website. They need to fool the human mind, and a recent increase in the number of phishing attacks against Netflix users shows that they have a few tried and tested methods for doing that.

The coronavirus crisis leads to more phishing attacks against Netflix users

Tech news website FastCompany.com recently reported on an increase in the number of phishing attacks against Netflix users. This shouldn't really surprise anyone.

Because of the COVID-19 pandemic, quite a few people are locked at home with little to do. They are bound to rely on streaming services like Netflix to keep themselves entertained, and they are likely to be more protective of their accounts. The phishers have realized this, and they're trying to take full advantage of it.

Some of the emails Netflix users have been receiving say that the target's account might be deactivated because of outdated billing information. The user is urged to click a link and update their credit card, or they run the risk of having their binge-watching marathon cut short.

Obviously, the messages are fake, and if you receive one, you shouldn't be fooled. They are a part of a ploy to steal your financial data.

The phishers put their back into it this time

The screenshot FastCompany.com shared suggests that the messages look fairly convincing. There are no obvious spelling mistakes, the correct logo is used, and the formatting seems pretty much spot-on. This is far from the only thing that could catch some people out, though.

The social engineering techniques used in this campaign are not new or innovative, but they seem to be as effective as ever. In this particular case, by saying that the victim's subscription might be deactivated, the phishers are creating a sense of urgency.

Their goal is to get users to act quickly because when users act quickly, they are less likely to become suspicious of something. And, as we've said numerous times on these pages, often, being suspicious is the only way of protecting yourself against any form of cybercrime.

Be extremely careful with the links and attachments that arrive in your inbox, no matter how convincing they appear, and always make sure that the URL in the address bar is correct before you enter any usernames, passwords, or other personal information.

July 27, 2020

Leave a Reply