未受保护的数据库泄露了中国2亿人的简历

200 Million CVs Exposed

安全专家不能停止敦促用户更加重视他们的在线安全。然而,对于人们而言,坚持所有这些建议是太辛苦的工作,并且他们继续使用相同的旧的不良做法。对于那些没有太多麻烦闯入其他人的在线账户并窃取数据的黑客来说,这是个好消息。您甚至可以说用户经常要求它,特别是考虑到现在有越来越多易于使用的工具可以保护它们。然而,有时人们不应该受到指责。有时候,事情是他们无法控制的。安全研究员Bob Diachenko在去年年底偶然发现了一起这样的案件。

一个庞大的数据库在公开场合被遗漏了

为臭虫赏金平台HackenProof工作的Diachenko在12月28日注意到一个未受保护的MongoDB数据库时正在做一些威胁情报。关于它的第一个引人注目的事情是它的大小 - 854 GB。然而,在他打开它之后,他受到了更大的冲击。

该数据库包含超过2亿的中国求职者简历。每份简历都公开了有关受害者技能和工作经历的信息,以及个人详细信息,如电子邮件,电话号码,体重,身高,婚姻状况,驾驶执照,识字水平,工资预期等。

所有这些都存储在互联网上,无需任何形式的身份验证即可访问。

数据来源仍然未知

Diachenko立即着手找到负责人,并提醒他们为什么将敏感数据放在密码后面是一个好主意。这被证明比他最初想象的更难。

在询问他的Twitter粉丝寻求帮助后,他被告知当时GitHub上提供的数据抓取工具,并以非常类似的方式组织信息。起初,看起来至少有一些数据来自一个名为bj.58.com的网站,但在与其所有者交谈后,他确信另一个门户网站已成为源头。

我们仍然不知道将数据放入数据库的数据抓取工具是否合法,我们也不知道数据库实际属于谁。我们所知道的是,在Bob Diachenko首次在推特上宣布他的调查结果后不久,两人都被取消了。

不幸的是,为时已晚

在数据库发生故障之前,Diachenko设法检查了MongoDB日志,发现“至少有十几个IP”可能在脱机之前访问了数据。我们只能希望这些IP的所有者没有任何恶意,因为如果他们这样做,对于那些暴露数据的人来说,后果可能非常严重。

最糟糕的是,这一切都是可以避免的。简单的配置设置和强密码会使信息无法访问世界。这一事件真实地表明了互联网上出现问题的难易程度。

January 28, 2019

发表评论

重要!若要继续到下一步,请完成以下简单的数学问题。
Please leave these two fields as is:
7 + 10是什么?

Unprotected Database Leaks the Résumés of 200 Million People in China

200 Million CVs Exposed

Security experts can't stop urging users to start taking their online safety more seriously. For people, however, sticking to all that advice is too much hard work, and they continue the same old poor practices. This is good news for hackers who don't have too much trouble breaking into other people's online accounts and stealing data. You could even go as far as saying that users are often asking for it, especially in light of the fact that there are now more and more easy-to-use tools that can protect them. Sometimes, however, people are not to blame. Sometimes, things are beyond their control. Security researcher Bob Diachenko stumbled upon one such case at the end of last year.

A massive database left out in the open

Diachenko, who works for bug bounty platform HackenProof, was doing some threat intelligence on December 28 when he noticed an unprotected MongoDB database. The first striking thing about it was its size – 854 GB. After he opened it, however, he was in for an even bigger shock.

The database contained more than 200 million CVs of Chinese job seekers. Each résumé exposed information on the victim's skills and working experience as well as personal details like email, phone number, weight, height, marital status, driver license, literacy level, salary expectations, etc.

All this was stored on the internet and was accessible without any form of authentication.

The source of the data remains unknown

Diachenko immediately set off to find the people responsible and remind them why putting sensitive data behind a password is a good idea. This proved to be more difficult than he first imagined.

After asking his Twitter followers for help, he was tipped off about a data scraping tool which was available on GitHub at the time and organized the information in a pretty similar way. At first, it looked like at least some of the data had come from a website called bj.58.com, but after speaking to its owners, he was assured that another portal had been the source.

We still don't know whether the data scraping tool that put the information in the database is legal or not, and we also have no idea who the database actually belongs to. What we do know is that both were taken offline shortly after Bob Diachenko first announced his findings on Twitter.

Unfortunately, it was too late

Before the database went down, Diachenko managed to examine the MongoDB logs and saw that "at least a dozen IPs" might have accessed the data before it was taken offline. We can only hope that the owners of these IPs don't have any malicious intentions because if they do, the consequences could be quite severe for the people who had their data exposed.

The worst thing about it is, it was all avoidable. A simple configuration setting and a strong password would have made the information inaccessible to the world. This incident really goes to show how easily things could go wrong on the Internet.

By Duran
January 15, 2019
January 15, 2019

Leave a Reply

IMPORTANT! To be able to proceed, you need to solve the following simple math.
Please leave these two fields as is:
What is 4 + 6 ?