事实证明,Z世代对网络安全并不聪明

Gen Z Is Not Smarter About Cybersecurity

彭博社报道 ,世界上接近三分之一的人口属于所谓的Z世代。对于那些不知道的人来说,是那些出生在中间的人的集体标签。 20世纪90年代和2000年代中期。将来自不同地理区域的大量人群放在一个单一的人口群体中肯定会引起一些争议,但至少有一件事连接了Z世代的大多数成员 - 他们是第一代可以访问互联网的人很小的时候。

从理论上讲,所谓的Z世代应该最适合在网络世界中存在。而“存在”,我们并不仅仅意味着熟练地使用表情符号;我们也指的是数据保护。然而,实际上,有证据表明,无论年龄大小,在了解互联网出现何种威胁时,人们都毫无准备。

另一项调查,另一组可怕的统计数据

在2018年末,谷歌委托Harris Poll致电3000名美国成年人并向他们询问一些与网络安全相关的问题。那些对行业非常感兴趣的人不会惊讶地发现结果不那么令人鼓舞。

52%的受访者承认他们对多个帐户使用相同的密码,13%的人表示他们为所有帐户使用一个密码。其余的(约35%)声称他们使用的每一项服务都有一个唯一的密码,但考虑到只有24%的参与者宣布他们这一事实,可能需要花一点时间。使用密码管理解决方案。

虽然安全专家不断告诉人们在安全补丁一旦可用时安装补丁是多么重要,但高达三分之一的受访者承认他们要么不更新他们的软件产品,要么不知道他们是否这样做。正如我们已经提到的那样,Harris Poll的研究不会给安全专家带来生命的冲击。然而,对于普通用户来说,事情可能会有所不同。参与调查的人当然看不出问题的严重程度。

用户认为他们是最重要的

59%的被调查者告诉哈里斯民意调查,根据他们的说法,他们比普通人做的更多,以保护自己的账户。接近70%的人甚至准备为他们自己建立的安全习惯提供As和Bs。这些数据显示,人们在评估自己的安全状况时非常乐观,但考虑到谷歌信息图表的另一部分显示许多人似乎并未完全了解威胁的类型,这一点并不令人惊讶。可以保护他们的机制。

根据该报告,大约60%的人知道网络钓鱼是什么,55%可以正确解释密码管理器的功能,同样的百分比猜测了两步验证的功能. 我们正在谈论一些非常基本的安全相关概念,然而, 只有不到三分之一的参与者能够正确地定义所有三个术语。

年轻人并不是更懂安全的人

你期望他们手里拿着电脑鼠标长大,年轻人会更加意识到他们必须面对的危险和在线安全问题。但事实并非如此。事实上,在接受Mashable的采访时,谷歌Chrome安全团队的Emily Schechter表示,年龄介于16至24岁之间的78%的参与者承认使用一个密码用于多个帐户。相比之下,大约60%的婴儿潮一代(50岁或以上)承认密码重用,虽然远远不是一个好的结果,但明显更好。

虽然他们肯定有密码安全问题,但Z世代似乎没有任何信心问题。超过70%的年轻参与者表示,他们不会陷入网络钓鱼骗局。令人遗憾的是,只有44%的人真正知道网络钓鱼诈骗是什么。

必须要说的是,对Z一代成员来说,我们可能不应该太努力。例如,当涉及双因素认证采用时,他们已超过所有其他年龄组,超过四分之三的受访年轻人声称使用该功能。根据谷歌的信息图表,年轻用户也更有可能定期更新他们的密码并使用密码管理器的服务。

总而言之,虽然他们有幸在数字世界中成长,但Zers Zers正面临着与其他用户一样的网络安全问题。它们在处理它们时并不一定会更糟糕,但它们似乎也没有明显更好。

May 23, 2019

发表评论

重要!若要继续到下一步,请完成以下简单的数学问题。
Please leave these two fields as is:
4 + 3是什么?

As It Turns Out, Gen Z Is Not Smarter About Cybersecurity

Gen Z Is Not Smarter About Cybersecurity

According to Bloomberg, close to a third of the world's population belongs to the so-called Gen Z. Generation Z, for those of you who don't know, is the collective label placed on those of you who were born between the mid-1990s and the mid-2000s. Putting such a vast number of people from different geographical regions in a single demographic group is bound to cause some controversy, but there is at least one thing that connects most members of Generation Z – they were the first generation that had access to the internet from a very early age.

In theory, the so-called Gen Zers should be best accustomed to existing in the online world. And by "existing", we don't just mean using emojis proficiently; we're also referring to data protection. In reality, however, evidence suggests that regardless of their age, people are woefully unprepared when it comes to knowing what sort of threats the internet presents.

Another survey, another set of horrible statistics

In late-2018, Google commissioned Harris Poll to call 3,000 US-based adults and ask them some cybersecurity-related questions. Those of you who have been actively interested in the industry won't be surprised to find out that the results are less than encouraging.

52% of the interviewed admitted that they use the same password for more than one account, and 13% said that they use one password for ALL their accounts. The rest (about 35%) claimed to have a unique password for every single one of the services they use, but it probably pays to take this with a pinch of salt in light of the fact that only 24% of the participants announced that they use a password management solution.

And although security experts keep telling people how important it is to install security patches as soon as they become available, a whopping 1 in 3 of the surveyed admitted that they either don't update their software products or have no idea whether they do. As we mentioned already, Harris Poll's research won't give security experts the shock of their lives. When it comes to regular users, however, things might be a tiny bit different. The people who took part in the survey certainly don't seem to see the magnitude of the problem.

Users think that they're on top of it all

59% of the surveyed told Harris Poll that according to them, they have done more than the average person to protect their accounts. Close to 70% are even prepared to give themselves As and Bs for the security habits that they've built. The figures show that people are being quite optimistic when assessing their own security posture, but this is hardly surprising considering the fact that, as another section of Google's infographic shows, many don't seem to be fully aware of the type of threats and the mechanisms that can protect them.

According to the report, about 60% knew what phishing was, 55% could correctly explain the functionality of a password manager, and the same percentage guessed what two-step verification does. We are talking about some pretty basic security-related notions, and yet, less than a third of the participants managed to correctly define all three terms.

Youngsters are not more security savvy

You'd expect that having grown up with a computer mouse in their hand, a younger person would be more aware of the dangers and the online security issues they have to deal with. This doesn't seem to be the case, though. In fact, in an interview with Mashable, Emily Schechter from Google's Chrome Security team said that a whopping 78% of the participants aged between 16 and 24 admitted to using one password for multiple accounts. By contrast, about 60% of baby boomers (aged 50 or over) admitted to password reuse which, while far from a great result, is significantly better.

While they certainly have password security problems, Gen Zers don't seem to have any confidence issues. More than 70% of the younger participants said that they wouldn't fall for a phishing scam. It's a shame that only 44% actually knew what a phishing scam is.

It must be said that we probably shouldn't be too hard on Generation Z members. When it comes to two-factor authentication adoption, for example, they have overtaken all other age groups, with more than three-quarters of the interviewed youngsters claiming to use the feature. According to Google's infographic, younger users are also more likely to regularly update their passwords and to employ the services of a password manager.

All in all, although they had the privilege to grow up in the digital world, Gen Zers are facing the same cybersecurity problems as the rest of the users. They are not necessarily worse at handling them, but they don't seem to be significantly better at it, either.

May 9, 2019

Leave a Reply

IMPORTANT! To be able to proceed, you need to solve the following simple math.
Please leave these two fields as is:
What is 2 + 5 ?