Imperva數據洩露中暴露了密碼混亂

有時不幸的事件會迫使我們學習新知識。畢竟,我們不是都從錯誤中學習嗎?今天,我們可以從Imperva的錯誤中學習。

Imperva是一家網絡安全軟件公司,總部位於加利福尼亞州紅木海岸。該公司為客戶提供企業數據保護。客戶從Imperva購買Internet防火牆服務,以防止網絡攻擊和其他惡意網絡活動。

不幸的是,Imperva 宣布它在八月份經歷了一次數據洩露,並且這種數據洩露已經影響了成千上萬的客戶。根據該報告,在此漏洞期間暴露了API密鑰,電子郵件地址,SSL證書和多個加擾密碼。

關於此數據洩露,有多個方面可以討論,尤其是當我們考慮到一家擁有網絡安全的DEALS公司受到影響的事實時。但是,這次,我們將向您簡要介紹此問題,然後重點介紹同樣暴露出來的密碼混亂。您是否想過密碼是什麼?

Imperva怎麼了?

如前所述,Imperva經歷了一次數據洩露,使客戶的數據暴露給了黑客。似乎整個事件都是疏忽的結果,因為可以從Internet訪問內部系統。可從Internet訪問的系統存儲了Imperva的AWS API密鑰的副本。

現在,那是什麼? AWS指的是Amazon Web Services,這是專門提供雲計算平台的Amazon子公司。 API密鑰表示應用程序編程接口(API)密鑰。它是唯一的標識符,它允許系統對試圖訪問API的用戶或程序進行身份驗證。反過來,API是客戶端和服務器之間的通信協議。它可以是基於雲平台,操作系統,硬件等的系統。因此,隨著API密鑰被盜,黑客可以從外部訪問Imperva的系統。

網絡安全記者認為,Imperva 最初並不了解數據洩露 ,幾個月後他們得知黑客下載了其數據庫快照的副本,該副本用於評估其云平台上的關係數據庫服務(RDS)。這意味著什麼?這意味著黑客可以竊取快照中的數據,並且在快照創建後創建的數據不受漏洞影響。

總而言之,該公司沒有明確說明有多少客戶受到數據洩露的影響。但是,在通知受影響的客戶之後,更改並輪換了超過13,000個密碼和13,000個SSL證書。因此,很容易或多或少地掌握事件的範圍。

什麼是加密碼?

由於我們已經完成了對漏洞的總體概述,因此我們可以仔細研究一下暴露和洩漏的數據類型之一。我們在這裡談論的是密碼混亂。當您聽到“加擾”一詞時,您可能會想到流行的在線遊戲或加擾的雞蛋,但確實,我們也可以加擾密碼。

密碼加擾是安全存儲密碼並增強密碼強度的方法之一. 例如, Cyclonis密碼管理器還使用密碼加擾功能將其客戶密碼存儲在其保管庫中。對於密碼管理器,它使用加密來擾亂保存的密碼。但是,還有其他保護密碼的方法,有關Imperva數據洩露的信息表明,公開的加擾密碼是經過哈希處理和添加鹽分的。

這到底是什麼意思?好吧,您可能知道,如果您擁有解密密鑰,則可以在加密後對某些內容進行解密。另一方面,散列意味著數據一旦被加密就無法解碼。另外,無論您要散列哪種數據字符串,輸出的長度始終是固定的。也就是說,無論您要爭奪我愛的蘋果還是討厭下雨,請走開 ,最終輸出的長度將是相同的(如果您使用相同的算法對其進行哈希處理)。

由於哈希不能反過來工作,但是使用相同的算法對字符串進行加擾會產生相同的輸出,因此可以將其用於檢查和驗證訪問。例如,如果數據庫存儲了散列密碼,並且有人輸入了試圖進入數據庫的純文本密碼,則係統需要應用相同的算法對純文本密碼進行散列。如果哈希值與數據庫中存儲的值匹配,則將授予身份驗證。破解散列密碼也確實很困難,並且唯一的方法是強制執行。

如果加鹽醃就更難破解了。在網絡安全中,鹽是指添加到密碼中的隨機數據值。用戶看不到該值,但是該值附加在計算機系統中的密碼上,以提供更好的安全性。換句話說,您的密碼不會以純文本形式保存,因為這將完全導致嚴重的數據洩露。

在系統內,鹽值是隨機生成的。它被添加到純文本密碼中,然後通常對整個字符串進行哈希處理(如上所述)。對相同的密碼使用不同的salt值會導致完全不同的哈希值,因此在密碼上撒上salt(象徵性地講)會使它們更強。

以此為基礎,我們可以假設,只有在黑客擁有暴力破解密碼的手段時,竊取密碼密碼才可能是有利可圖的。當然,這種可能性始終存在,這就是Imperva敦促其客戶更改其密碼的原因。但是,也可以說竊取加密密碼實際上與竊取沒有密鑰的保險箱相同。它不會改變數據洩露的事實,但是至少那裡有一線希望。

November 19, 2019

發表評論

重要!若要繼續到下一步,請完成以下簡單的數學問題。
Please leave these two fields as is:
5 + 5是什麼?

Scrambled Passwords Were Exposed in the Imperva Data Breach

Sometimes an unfortunate event can push us into learning something new. After all, don’t we all learn from mistakes? Today we can learn from Imperva’s mistakes.

Imperva is a cybersecurity software company that is based in Redwood Shores, California. This company provides its clients with protection for enterprise data. Clients purchase Internet firewall services from Imperva to prevent cyber attacks and other malicious cyber activities.

Unfortunately, Imperva has announced that it experienced a data breach back in August, and this data breach has affected thousands of customers. According to the report, API keys, email addresses, SSL certificates, and multiple scrambled passwords were exposed during this breach.

There are multiple aspects to discuss about this data breach, especially when we consider the fact that a company that DEALS with cybersecurity was affected. However, this time, we are going to give you a short overview of the issue and then focus on scrambled passwords that were also exposed. Have you ever wondered what is a scrambled password?

What happened with Imperva?

As mentioned, Imperva experienced a data breach that exposed its clients’ data to hackers. It seems that the entire incident was the result of negligence because an internal system could be accessed from the Internet. The system that was accessible from the Internet stored a copy of Imperva’s AWS API Key.

Now, what is that? AWS refers to Amazon Web Services, which is an Amazon subsidiary that specializes in providing cloud computing platforms. An API Key means an application programming interface (API) key. It is a unique identifier that allows the system to authenticate a user or a program that tries to reach the API. In turn, the API is a communication protocol between a client and a server. It can be a system that is based on a cloud platform, operating system, hardware, and so on. So with the API Key stolen, hackers could access Imperva’s system from the outside.

Cybersecurity reporters believe that Imperva was not aware of the data breach at first and that they learned a few months later that the hacker downloaded a copy of their database snapshot that was used to evaluate their Relational Database Service (RDS) on their cloud platform. What does that mean? It means that the hacker could steal the data that was within the snapshot, and the data created AFTER the snapshot was taken was not affected by the breach.

All in all, the company didn’t explicitly say how many customers were affected by the data breach. However, over 13,000 passwords and 13,000 SSL certificates were changed and rotated after the affected customers were notified about it. Therefore, it is easy to more or less grasp the scope of the incident.

What is a scrambled password?

Since we are done with the general overview of the breach, we can take a closer look at one of the types of data that was exposed and leaked. We’re talking about scrambled passwords here. When you hear the word “scramble,” you probably think about the popular online game or scrambled eggs, but it’s true that we can also scramble our passwords.

Password scrambling is one of the ways to store them safely and to make them stronger. For example, Cyclonis Password manager also uses password scrambling to store its customers’ passwords in its vault. In the password manager’s case, it uses encryption to scramble saved passwords. However, there are other ways to protect passwords, and the information on the Imperva data breach suggests that the exposed scrambled passwords were hashed and salted.

What on earth does that mean? Well, you probably know that you can decrypt something once it’s been encrypted if you have a decryption key. Hashing, on the other hand, means that the data cannot be decoded once it’s been scrambled. Also, no matter what kind of data string you are going to hash, the length of the output is always fixed. That is to say, whether you are going to scramble I love apples or I hate rain, please go away, the length of the final output will be the same (if you use the same algorithm to hash it).

Since hashing doesn’t work the other way around, but scrambling the string with the same algorithm produces the same output, it can be used to check and authenticate access. For instance, if database stores hashed passwords and someone enters a plain text password trying to enter the database, the system needs to apply the same algorithm to hash the plain text password. If the hashed value matches the one that is stored in the database, the authentication is granted. It is also really hard to crack a hashed password, and the only way to do it is by brute-forcing it.

It’s even harder to crack it if salting is applied. In cybersecurity, salt refers to a random data value that is added to a password. Users do not see that value, but it is attached to their passwords within the computer systems to provide better security. In other words, your passwords are not kept in plain text because that would totally lead to terrible data breaches.

Within the system, salt value is generated at random. It is added to the plain text password, and then the entire string is usually hashed (as described above). Using different salt values with the same passwords results in completely different hashed values, so sprinkling salt (figuratively speaking) on your passwords makes them stronger.

From this, we can make an assumption, that stealing scrambled passwords might be lucrative only if the hacker has means to brute-force them. Of course, such a possibility always exists, and that is why Imperva urged its customers to change their passwords. However, it is also possible to say that stealing scrambled passwords is practically the same as stealing a safe that doesn’t have a key. It doesn’t change the fact of the data breach, but at least there’s a little bit of silver lining there.

November 19, 2019

Leave a Reply