勒索软件威胁参与者 REvil 网站脱机

6 月 13 日凌晨,REvil(最大的活跃勒索软件威胁参与者之一)运营的所有网站都下线。没有关于停电原因的确切信息。

此时,任何关注网络安全新闻的人都可能知道 REvil 是谁。最近对美国最大的鲜肉供应商 JBS 的 1100 万美元勒索软件攻击以及最近对 Kaseya 的供应链攻击都是由勒索软件团伙发起的。

6 月 13 日星期二,所有与 REvil 相关联的网站,无论是在暗网上还是正常访问的网站,都下线了。 Threatpost 在他们关于该事件的报告中强调,这并不一定意味着 REvil 的基础设施已被执法部门拆除,而只是意味着这些网站“至少”在当天下午之前无法访问。

很容易推测,REvil 黑了一段时间与总统乔·拜登和俄罗斯总统弗拉基米尔·普京几天前的电话有关,拜登试图向普京施压,要求其对勒索软件团伙采取果断行动。在俄罗斯领土之外经营。拜登的立场非常坚定,当被记者问及美国是否准备对俄罗斯勒索软件组织使用的基础设施采取行动时,他的回答简短而肯定。

Threatpost 引述网络安全专家、BreachQuest 代理首席技术官杰克·威廉姆斯 (Jake Williams) 的话说,无论 REvil 网站下线的原因是什么,从 DarkSide 组织取消对 Colonial Pipeline 的黑客攻击的那一刻起,在俄罗斯境外运营的勒索软件威胁行为者就“在借时间” 2021 年 5 月上旬。

关于 REvil 网站真正发生的事情的理论有很多,从执法机构的参与到 REvil 只是试图重塑品牌和重组,再到 REvil 太害怕和低调,至少暂时如此。

希望 REvil 一劳永逸地被取消是过于乐观的,尤其是在没有任何关于任何国家当局参与的官方公告的情况下。 REvil 是否会在此之后重新振作起来,还是真的受到政府下台的打击还有待观察。

July 14, 2021
Uncategorized

Ransomware Threat Actor REvil Websites Go Offline

In the early hours of June 13 all the websites operated by REvil - one of the biggest active ransomware threat actors - went offline. There is no hard information regarding the cause of the blackout.

At this point in time, anyone following cybersecurity news probably knows who REvil are. The ransomware gang was behind the recent $11 million ransomware attack on JBS - America's biggest fresh meat supplier, as well as the more recent supply chain attack on Kaseya.

On Tuesday, June 13, all websites operated and associated with REvil, both on the dark web and those accessible normally, went offline. In their report on the incident, Threatpost highlights that this does not necessarily mean REvil's infrastructure has been taken apart by law enforcement, it simply means the websites were not accessible, "at least" until the afternoon on the same day.

It is very easy to speculate that REvil going dark for a while has something to do with the phone call president Joe Biden and Russian president Vladimir Putin had just a few days ago, in which Biden attempted to pressure Putin to take decisive action against ransomware gangs operating out of Russian territories. Biden was very firm in his stance and when asked by journalists whether the US is ready to take action against the infrastructure used by ransomware groups based in Russia, his answer was short and affirmative.

Threatpost quoted cybersecurity expert Jake Williams, acting CTO of BreachQuest, saying that regardless of the reasons behind the REvil websites going offline, ransomware threat actors operating out of Russia were "on borrowed time" from the moment DarkSide group pulled off the hack on Colonial Pipeline in early May 2021.

Theories about what really happened to REvil's websites are many and span from the involvement of law enforcement agencies to REvil simply trying to rebrand and restructure, to REvil simply being too scared and lying low, at least momentarily.

It would be overly optimistic to hope that REvil has been done away with once and for all, especially in the absence of any official announcements concerning the involvement of any state authorities. Whether REvil comes back swinging after this or has really been hit by a government takedown remains to be seen.

July 14, 2021