新南威尔士州数据泄露导致186,000名澳大利亚人的个人数据泄漏

早在2020年5月就对安全漏洞进行了仔细的审查,结果显示黑客可以访问186,000名澳大利亚公民的数据。

这次攻击的目标是新南威尔士州行政政府机构澳大利亚服务局新南威尔士州近50名员工的电子邮件帐户,该机构充当政府在线服务的数字门户。员工的电子邮件是使用网络钓鱼攻击来接管的,不良行为者通过这些电子邮件可以访问由NSW服务存储的近400万份文档。

新南威尔士州(NSW)的首席执行官告诉公众,该攻击的范围有限,黑客只能访问受影响的47个电子邮件帐户中包含的文档。在违规调查和审查过程中,发现可访问的380万份文档中,有100万份包含186,000个新南威尔士州服务客户的个人信息。

已向所有受影响的公民发送了一封信,以告知他们该事件。

在警察仍在调查袭击事件的同时,新南威尔士州服务局已设立专门的支持部门,以处理那些在泄露事件中泄露了个人信息的人。

潜在数据泄露受害者的建议

向潜在的数据泄露受害者提供的建议列出了一些预防措施。其中包括对每个不同的服务登录使用不同的密码,并使用大小写字母以及符号和数字的组合来使密码尽可能强

此外,还建议尽可能使用两因素身份验证。最后,建议任何担心自己可能暴露了敏感财务信息的人密切跟踪其银行对账单,并监控他们不认识或发现的异常支出或活动。

没有任何一种方法可以确保在线安全,并且保护是多种因素的复杂组合,包括安全软件,用户意识以及最大限度地提高提供额外保护的基于平台的功能。

September 23, 2020

发表评论

Personal Data of 186,000 Australians Leaked In Service NSW Data Breach

A close-up review of a security breach that took place back in May 2020 revealed that hackers got access to the data of 186,000 Australian citizens.

The attack targeted the email accounts of nearly 50 staff members of the Australian Service NSW, a New South Wales administrative government agency that serves as a digital portal for government online services. The staff emails were taken over using phishing attacks and through them the bad actors were able to access nearly 4 million documents stored by Service NSW.

The CEO of NSW informed the public that the attack was limited in its reach and the hackers were only able to access documents contained in the affected 47 email accounts. During the course of the breach investigation and review, it turned out half a million of the total 3.8 million documents that became accessible contained the personal information of 186,000 Service NSW customers.

All affected citizens have been sent a letter to inform them of the incident.

While police is still investigating the attack, Service NSW have set up a dedicated support branch to handle those who had their personal information leaked in the breach.

Advice for Potential Data Breach Victims

The advice handed out to potential victims of the data breach listed a number of precautions. Those include using a different password for each different service login and making the password as strong as possible using a mix of lowercase and uppercase letters, as well as symbols and digits.

Additionally, using two-factor authentication whenever possible is also recommended. Finally, anyone who fears they might have had sensitive financial information exposed are advised to keep close track of their bank statements and monitor any expenses or activity that they don't recognize or find unusual.

There is no single way to stay secure online and protection is a complex mix of various factors that include security software, user awareness and maximizing any platform-based features that provide extra protection.

September 23, 2020

Leave a Reply