暴露了2000萬俄羅斯納稅人的個人數據,但尚未確認數據泄露

20 Million Russian Tax Payers Data Exposed

有人犯了一個基本的配置錯誤,因此,數百萬俄羅斯公民現在有充分的理由要關注。您可能已經猜到了,有人將人們的數據放入服務器中,然後用密碼保護了該數據。

配置不佳的Elasticsearch集群由Amazon Web Services託管,並被Comparitech的研究人員發現 ,這是他們為查找和保護此類數據洩漏所做的不懈努力的一部分。該集群包含多個數據庫,其中大多數存儲“隨機和公開來源的數據”。但是,其中兩個數據庫充滿了敏感的個人信息,Comparitech的研究人員立即致電Bob Diachenko協助調查。

暴露2000萬筆稅收和個人記錄

第一個數據庫包含2010年至2016年收集的1400萬條記錄,第二個數據庫包含2009年至2015年收集的600萬條記錄。暴露的數據包括:

  • 名字
  • 地址
  • 護照號碼
  • 電話號碼
  • 稅號
  • 雇主信息
  • 稅額

Comparitech的研究人員承認,他們不了解俄羅斯稅收制度的來龍去脈,而且確實很難確定網絡罪犯會對這種信息造成何種損害。對於任何人都應該顯而易見,但是,這些詳細信息不應公開獲取。

發現它後,Diachenko和Comparitech立刻試圖通知數據庫的所有者,並在9月20日,即發現洩漏的三天后,使該群集脫機。現在,數據是安全的,這是最重要的。但是,有些問題仍然沒有答案。

誰收集了洩漏的數據?

發現此類洩漏後,識別數據庫的所有者是安全研究人員的首要任務。在這種情況下,專家們確實設法得知該集群是由位於烏克蘭的某人建立的,他們立即發出了一些電子郵件。

數據庫已刪除,但是所有者沒有答复,這意味著我們對造成洩漏的人員一無所知。我們不知道他們是否甚至具有收集這類數據的合法權利。我們所知道的是,信息集中在集群中的數百萬俄羅斯公民可能都不是明智的。

數據洩露了嗎?

數據庫的所有者還可以檢查一些日誌並確定數據是否已被網絡罪犯訪問。但是,他們不願講話,意味著在這一點上,我們無法說出數據是否遭到破壞。

研究人員確實說過,該數據庫於2018年5月首次被搜索引擎索引。換句話說,配備Web瀏覽器和正確的搜索查詢的任何人都可以訪問超過2000萬條包含極其敏感信息的記錄。就其本身而言,這已經足夠可怕了。

October 4, 2019

發表評論

重要!若要繼續到下一步,請完成以下簡單的數學問題。
Please leave these two fields as is:
2 + 2是什麼?

Personal Data of 20M Russian Tax Payers Was Exposed, but a Data Breach Has Not Been Confirmed Yet

20 Million Russian Tax Payers Data Exposed

Someone made a basic configuration mistake, and because of this, millions of Russian citizens now have a very good reason to be concerned. As you might have guessed already, that someone put people's data in a server and then failed to protect it with a password.

The poorly configured Elasticsearch cluster was hosted by Amazon Web Services and was discovered by researchers from Comparitech as a part of their ongoing effort to find and secure this sort of data leaks. The cluster contained multiple databases, and most of them held "random and publicly sourced data". Two of the databases, however, were full of sensitive personal information, and Comparitech's researchers immediately called in Bob Diachenko to help with the investigation.

20 million tax and personal records exposed

The first database contained 14 million records gathered between 2010 and 2016, and the second one held more than 6 million records amassed between 2009 and 2015. The exposed data included:

  • Names
  • Addresses
  • Passport numbers
  • Phone numbers
  • Tax ID numbers
  • Employer information
  • Tax amounts

Comparitech's researchers admitted that they don't know the ins and outs of Russia's tax system, and it is indeed hard to determine what sort of damage cybercriminals can do with this information. It should be obvious to anyone, however, that these details are not supposed to be publicly accessible.

Immediately after finding it, Diachenko and Comparitech tried to notify the database's owner, and on September 20, just three days after the leak's discovery, the cluster was taken offline. The data is now secured, which is the most important thing. Some questions still remain unanswered, though.

Who collected the leaked data?

Identifying the owner of the database after the discovery of such leaks is a priority for security researchers. On this occasion, the experts did manage to learn that the cluster had been put up by someone based in Ukraine, and they sent out some emails immediately.

The database was taken down, but the owner didn't reply, which means that we know nothing about the people responsible for the leak. We have no idea if they even had the legal right to collect this sort of data. What we do know is that the millions of Russian citizens whose information was in the cluster were probably none the wiser.

Was the data breached?

The owner of the database might also have the ability to check some logs and determine whether or not the data has been accessed by cybercriminals. Their unwillingness to talk, however, means that at this point, we have no way of saying if the data has been compromised.

The researchers did say, however, that the database was first indexed by search engines in May 2018. In other words, over 20 million records containing extremely sensitive information were accessible to anyone armed with a web browser and the right search query. This, on its own, is scary enough.

October 4, 2019

Leave a Reply

IMPORTANT! To be able to proceed, you need to solve the following simple math.
Please leave these two fields as is:
What is 3 + 2 ?