一個新的騙局通過短信針對Venmo用戶

隨著每一個新的安全問題成為頭條新聞,我們應該更新我們的網絡安全知識。最新的Venmo SMS騙局可能應該使我們更加關注收到的短信類型。儘管很大一部分用戶清楚地了解網絡安全知識以保護其個人信息,但仍然有可能成為這些令人討厭的騙局的受害者。因此,我們想詳細了解此最新騙局事件,然後研究如何盡快識別文本消息騙局。

什麼是Venmo?

在我們詳細討論此SMS騙局之前,我們可能應該告訴您一些有關Venmo的信息,以防您尚未聽說該服務。簡單來說, Venmo是一種移動支付服務。它允許您通過移動應用程序將資金轉賬給其他人。為了使用Venmo,您必須居住在美國。 Venmo由貝寶(PayPal)擁有,因此僅此一項就應該使服務看起來可靠且可信賴。

據報導,Venmo僅在2018年第一季度就處理了120億美元的交易 。因此,憑藉如此可觀的營業額和數百萬的用戶,毫不奇怪,該服務及其用戶會受到SMS欺詐和其他網絡攻擊的攻擊。

最新的Venmo SMS騙局

無論您使用的是Venmo還是任何其他基於移動的應用程序,您都知道您可能會不時收到與該服務有關的短信。因此,當用戶應該從Venmo獲得此SMS騙局消息時,一開始他們可能不會覺得可疑。

但是,此消息相當令人討厭,它說您的Venmo帳戶將要收費。如果您最近沒有付款,您肯定會覺得很奇怪。畢竟,誰想賠錢,對嗎?此外,該消息甚至還帶有超鏈接,據稱該超鏈接可讓您在要取消提款時登錄自己的帳戶。

現在,由於它是一個SMS騙局,除非您允許,否則它實際上無法竊取您的憑據。即使點擊鏈接,您仍然需要輸入這些騙子想要竊取的數據。對於某些用戶來說,他們所打開的網站根本就不會令人懷疑。報告顯示,用戶通過此SMS騙局打開的網站非常類似於Venmo官方登錄頁面。但是,除了您的電話號碼和密碼外,此付款通知還要求您提供信用卡號和其他敏感信息。據說,這就是您要驗證身份的方式。

但是,如果您以前使用過Venmo,而該應用程序從未問過任何問題,則足以表明您收到的短信是騙局。如果您恰好在騙局頁面上輸入了信息,則應立即與您的銀行或信用卡公司聯繫,以防止未經授權的交易。另外,請確保僅使用官方的Venmo應用程序訪問您的帳戶。如果有的話,您可以隨時瀏覽Venmo官方頁面上的安全提示,以提高帳戶的安全性。

如何識別短信騙局

不用說,此Venmo SMS騙局不是唯一的短信騙局。有時,該術語的使用可能不夠用,從而導致黑客行為與騙局之間的混淆,但是在本條目的第二部分中,我們想告訴您更多有關您可以尋找的跡象,如果您想識別短信騙局。

首先,您應該警惕要求您提供個人信息的短信。 Venmo SMS騙局就是一個很好的例子:它需要敏感的財務信息,否則您不應共享這些信息。通常,您在註冊時向服務提供此信息,這樣就足夠了。

其次,帶有傳出鏈接的短信是自動可疑的!當然,服務可以向您發送帶有超鏈接的消息,但是如果是這樣,您肯定會識別該鏈接。包含拼寫錯誤鏈接或短鏈接的郵件顯然是可疑的。如果您想檢查他們提供的信息是對還是錯,最好是通過官方應用程序或官方網站訪問您的帳戶,而不是點擊文本中的鏈接。

最後,我們不能忽略發件人和文本的整體語言 。當我們從經過驗證的供應商處收到消息時,通常會看到供應商名稱而不是電話號碼,對嗎?因此,如果您看到一個未知的電話號碼,要求您通過某些傳出鏈接來驗證您的身份,那顯然是騙局。實際上,如果您向假冒的供應商報告該消息,那麼會對每個人都有利。

當然,短信中使用的語言也非常重要。大多數詐騙者會盡力模仿官方通知,但他們的語法或語法能力往往很差。如果您發現收到的郵件不符合通常的官方郵件標準,則最好刪除該文本,然後將其忘記。

這些是應幫助您識別短信騙局的主要警告標誌。通常,這些詐騙會要求您提供敏感信息,因此您應該安全並鎖定它們。有沒有辦法保護您的密碼,銀行帳號等敏感信息?幸運的是您可以試用Cyclonis Password Manager 。該免費工具與Android和iOS設備兼容,因此它不僅限於台式機。

當然,這不僅用於存儲密碼。您可以存儲所需的任何數據,因為此工具將其鎖定在強加密狀態下,沒有人可以通過您的帳戶訪問它。如果您想了解更多,請隨時給我們發表評論。

December 6, 2019

發表評論

A New Scam Is Targeting Venmo Users via SMS Messages

With every new security issue that makes the headlines, we ought to update our cybersecurity knowledge. The latest Venmo SMS scam should probably make us pay more attention to what kind of text messages we receive. Although a very good chunk of users clearly knows enough about cybersecurity to protect their personal information, it is still possible to fall victim to these annoying scams. Therefore, we would like to go through the details of this latest scam affair and then look at what you can do to identify text message scam as soon as possible.

What is Venmo?

Before we go into details about this SMS scam, we should probably tell you a little bit about Venmo, in case you haven’t heard about the service yet. To put it simply, Venmo is a mobile payment service. It allows you to transfer money to someone else through a mobile app. In order to use Venmo, you have to live in the United States. Venmo is owned by PayPal, so this fact alone should make the service look reliable and trustworthy.

It has been reported that Venmo processed $12 billion in transactions in the first quarter of 2018 alone. Hence, with such a considerable turnover and millions of users, it is no surprise that the service and its users can be targeted by SMS scams and other cyberattacks.

The latest Venmo SMS scam

Whether you are using Venmo or any other mobile-based app, you do know that you may receive text messages related to the service from time to time. So, when users get this SMS scam message supposedly from Venmo, they might not find it suspicious at first.

However, this message is rather obnoxious and it says that your Venmo account is going to be charged. If you haven’t paid for anything recently, you will definitely find it odd. After all, who wants to lose their money, right? What’s more, the message even comes with a hyperlink that supposedly allows you to log in to your account if you want to cancel the withdrawal.

Now, since it is an SMS scam, it cannot really steal your credentials unless you allow it to. Even if you tap the link, you would still need to enter the data that these scammers want to steal. And for some users, the website that they open wouldn’t look suspicious at all. Reports show that the website that users open through this SMS scam looks very much like the official Venmo login page. Nevertheless, aside from your phone number and password, this payment notification also requires you to provide your credit card number and other sensitive information. Supposedly, this is how you would authenticate your identity.

However, if you have used Venmo before and the app never asked any of that, that should be enough of a sign that the text message you received is a scam. If you happened to have entered the information on the scam page, you should contact your bank or your credit card company at once, to prevent unauthorized transactions. Also, please make sure that you use only the official Venmo app to access your account. If anything, you can always go through the security tips on the official Venmo page to make your account more secure.

How to identity text message scam

Needless to say, this Venmo SMS scam isn’t the only text message scam out there. Sometimes, the use of the term can be inadequate, which results in the confusion between a hack and a scam, but in the second part of this entry, we would like to tell you more about the signs you can look out for, if you want to identify text message scam.

First, you should be wary of text messages that ask for your personal information. The Venmo SMS scam was a perfect example of that: it required sensitive financial information that you should not share otherwise. Normally, you provide this information to the service when you sign up for it, and that should be enough.

Second, text messages with outgoing links are automatically suspicious! Of course, it is possible for services to send you messages with hyperlinks in them, but if that is the case, you will definitely recognize the link. Messages that contain links with spelling mistakes or short links are clearly suspicious. If you want to check whether the information they provide is true or false, it would be for the best to access your account either through the official app or the official website, instead of tapping the link in the text.

Finally, we cannot overlook the sender and the overall language of the text. When we receive messages from verified vendors, we usually see the name of the vendor rather than the phone number, right? So, if you see an unknown phone number that asks you to verify your identity through some outgoing link, that’s clearly a scam. In fact, you would do everyone a favor if you reported that message to the vendor it impersonates.

And of course, the language that is used in the text message is also very important. Most of the scammers try their best to impersonate an official notification, but they tend to have poor syntax or grammar skills. If you notice that the message you received doesn’t meet the usual official messaging standards, you might as well delete the text and forget about it.

These are the main warning signs that should help you identify text message scam. Normally, these scams ask to provide sensitive information that you should keep safe and locked. Is there a way to protect sensitive information like your passwords, bank account numbers, and so on? Luckily, yes. You can try out Cyclonis Password Manager. This free tool is compatible with Android and iOS devices, so it’s not limited to desktops only.

And of course, it’s not just for storing your passwords. You can store any data you want, as this tool keeps it locked under strong encryption, and no one but you can access it through your account. If you want to learn more about it, feel free to drop us a comment.

December 6, 2019

Leave a Reply