新的Masad Stealer和Clippper瞄准加密货币投资者

Masad Stealer and Clipper

说过去几年来加密货币投资者一直处于疯狂状态,这是一种轻描淡写的说法。曾经被誉为“未来的钱”的事实被证明是相当不稳定的,而且市场的动荡使许多人摆脱了拥有数字货币的概念。不过,交易仍在进行中,也有很多网络犯罪分子也愿意采取行动。例如,Masad Stealer和Clipper的创造者提出了一些有趣的方式(除其他外)窃取了毫无戒心的用户数字硬币。

Juniper Threat Labs的研究人员上周率先对恶意软件进行了分析和评论。他们没有透露第一次发现Masad的消息,但他们确实指出,总共看到大约340个单独的广告活动中使用了1000多个样本。

Masad –任何人都可以购买的强大的信息窃取恶意软件

当然,并非所有这些运动都是由同一批犯罪分子进行的。 Masad实际上是一种现成的恶意软件,想要在口袋里放几个硬币的网络骗子可以去买。甚至有一个免费版本,尽管据专家说,它的功能有限。完整的铃铛变种非常强大,售价为85美元,潜在客户可以通过Telegram组获得它,当Juniper的专家检查时,其中只有300多个活跃用户。

Masad如何运作

相同的群聊也用于技术支持,骗子选择此特定应用程序与客户进行通信这一事实可能并不令人惊讶。该恶意软件本身使用加密的聊天服务作为命令与控制(C&C)通道,这意味着它的可能性较小,因为超过2亿人将Telegram协议用于完全合法的目的。

根据活动,用户可以找到Masad作为独立文件或与其他应用程序捆绑在一起。专家们已经看到它试图模仿系统优化工具,例如CCleaner,Windows内置实用程序以及用于视频游戏和付费软件的破解程序。

执行后,Masad会将其自己放到%AppData%文件夹中,并在计划任务的帮助下建立持久性,该任务每60秒运行一次。然后,信息收集操作开始。

当研究人员在他们的沙箱中运行Masad时,该恶意软件没有设法窃取那么多。一些系统数据被保存在一个TXT文件中,浏览器cookie和桌面文件被组织在两个单独的文件夹中,所有这些以及受害者所看到的一切的屏幕快照被自动放入7Z档案中,并准备好发送给由运营商控制的Telegram机器人。

但是,当他们检查恶意软件的代码时,专家们发现Masad能够窃取更多东西。该恶意软件可以通过各种加密货币钱包收集并窃取Steam文件中的所有内容,以及通过网络浏览器保存的密码和信用卡。通过所有这些数据获利可能非常有利可图,但是可以肯定的是,马萨德的创造者添加了另一个技巧,可以帮助他们获取更多的加密货币。

该恶意软件旨在不断监视受感染设备的剪贴板. 如果Masad认为受害者复制了一个加密货币地址,则Masad会自动将其替换为恶意软件作者先前已硬编码到该恶意软件中的地址。这样,如果用户在将其粘贴到预期字段中时未发现其他地址,则加密货币将被重定向到骗子控制的钱包。

这是一个非常有效的有趣策略。 Juniper的研究人员检查了其中一个竞选活动中使用的钱包,发现截至9月15日,它已经收到了9,000多美元,尽管他们的确指出,无法得知全部金额是否是Masad竞选活动的结果。

无论如何,Masad显然不仅对加密货币投资者而且对所有人都构成巨大威胁。与往常一样,保护自己免受侵害包括从合法来源仅下载合法软件,并保持受到良好保护和完整修补的系统。

September 30, 2019

发表评论

重要!若要继续到下一步,请完成以下简单的数学问题。
Please leave these two fields as is:
2 + 5是什么?

The New Masad Stealer and Clippper Targets Cryptocurrency Investors

Masad Stealer and Clipper

To say that cryptocurrency investors have been on a wild ride over the last few years would be an understatement. What was once hailed as the money of the future has proven to be quite unstable, and the market's volatility has driven many people away from the concept of owning digital money. The trade is still going, though, and there are quite a few cybercriminals willing to get a piece of the action as well. The creators of the Masad Stealer and Clipper, for example, have come up with a few interesting ways of (among other things) stealing unsuspecting users' digital coins.

Researchers from Juniper Threat Labs were the first to analyze and comment on the malware last week. They didn't say when they spotted Masad for the first time, but they did note that in total, they have seen more than 1,000 samples used in approximately 340 separate campaigns.

Masad – a powerful information-stealing malware that anyone can buy

Of course, not all these campaigns are run by the same group of criminals. Masad is actually an off-the-shelf malware that wannabe cybercrooks with a few coins in their pockets can go and buy. There's even a free version, though according to the experts, it comes with limited functionality. The full bells-and-whistles variant is quite powerful, it costs $85, and potential customers can get it through a Telegram group which, when Juniper's experts checked, had just over 300 active users in it.

How Masad works

The same group chat is also used for technical support, and the fact that the crooks picked this particular application for communicating with its customers probably shouldn't be that surprising. The malware itself uses the encrypted chat service as a Command & Control (C&C) channel, which means that it's less likely to be spotted because the Telegram protocol is used for completely legitimate purposes by over 200 million people.

Depending on the campaign, users can find Masad either as a standalone file or bundled with other applications. The experts have seen it trying to impersonate system optimization tools like CCleaner, Windows built-in utilities, as well as cracking programs for video games and paid software.

After execution, Masad drops itself in the %AppData% folder and establishes persistence with the help of a scheduled task which runs it once every sixty seconds. Then, the information collection operation starts.

When the researchers ran Masad in their sandbox, the malware didn't manage to steal all that much. Some system data was saved in a TXT file, the browser cookies and the desktop files were organized in two separate folders, and all this, along with a screenshot of whatever the victim was seeing, was automatically put in a 7Z archive and prepared to be sent to a Telegram bot controlled by the operators.

When they examined the malware's code, however, the experts saw that Masad is capable of stealing a whole lot more. The malware can collect and exfiltrate anything from Steam files, through all sorts of cryptocurrency wallets, to passwords and credit cards saved with web browsers. Monetizing on all that data could be rather lucrative, but just to be sure, Masad's creators have added another trick which can help them net even more crypto coins.

The malware is designed to constantly monitor the infected device's clipboard. If it thinks that the victim has copied a cryptocurrency address, Masad automatically swaps it with an address that the malware's authors have previously hardcoded into the malware. That way, if the user doesn't spot the different address when they paste it in the intended field, the cryptocurrency is redirected to a wallet controlled by the crooks.

It's an interesting tactic that seems to be rather effective. Juniper's researchers examined a wallet used during one of the campaigns and saw that as of September 15, it had already received more than $9,000, though they did point out that there's no way of knowing if the full amount is the result of the Masad campaign.

Whatever the case, Masad is clearly a formidable threat not just to cryptocurrency investors, but to everyone. As always, protecting yourself against it involves downloading only legitimate software from legitimate sources and keeping a system that's well protected and completely patched-up.

September 30, 2019

Leave a Reply

IMPORTANT! To be able to proceed, you need to solve the following simple math.
Please leave these two fields as is:
What is 2 + 4 ?