2019年震惊我们的最令人惊讶的网络黑客

网络安全威胁在2019年继续增长,并且尽管采取了各种措施加以遏制,但预计到2020年网络安全威胁将继续增加。每次修补漏洞后,黑客都会发现另一个系统,该漏洞可以利用。更不用说,仍有许多用户忽略了网络安全专家的警告,并通过不慎采取行动使他们的网络安全受到威胁。结果,系统和帐户被黑,敏感信息被泄露。最糟糕的是,没有人是安全的。无论您是普通用户还是在大型公司工作,黑客总是可以找到一种方法来滥用被黑客入侵的系统的任何信息或功能。此外,在本文中,我们介绍了2019年排名前5位的网络黑客,我们认为这对常规用户和组织造成的影响最大。此列表的目的是提高您对各种网络黑客的认识,并提供有关如何提高个人或公司的网络安全性的提示。

我们认为2019年最令人震惊的网络黑客名单中没有任何数据泄露事件,因为我们认为此类攻击变得如此频繁,因此应该有自己的清单。我们谈论的攻击涉及入侵流行的应用程序和设备。事不宜迟,这是我们认为5个网络黑客的清单,我们认为这在2019年给我们带来的冲击最大。

7-11应用程序中的缺陷

在利用了日本7-11客户使用的7pay应用程序上发现的一个特殊弱点之后,网络罪犯能够破解多个帐户,并从中窃取了约51万美元 。该应用似乎具有设计不当的密码重置功能,该功能允许任何人仅通过提供用户的电子邮件地址,出生日期和电话号码来请求密码重置。不幸的是,由于数据泄露事件不断发生,因此获取此类信息并不难。同样,7pay密码重置功能允许请求将新密码发送到其他电子邮件地址,这使网络罪犯可以请求将新密码发送到他们的电子邮件帐户。结果,估计攻击者成功入侵了大约900个帐户。 7-11承诺赔偿因7pay应用程序缺陷而亏钱的用户。希望他们将付出更多的努力来确保黑客不再能够再次入侵他们的应用程序。

攻击Avast

网络罪犯获得了Avast系统访问权限的黑客事件可能是最令人震惊的事件之一。事实证明,没有人可以免受网络犯罪分子的攻击,即使是生产防病毒产品的公司也没有。宣布黑客通过访问不受两因素身份验证保护的帐户来访问Avast系统 。在检测到此活动后,该公司允许黑客继续进行他们所做的工作,以找出他们的目标。看来他们试图将恶意软件植入Avast的产品CCleaner中。幸运的是,黑客没有成功。

被劫持的ATM设备变成老虎机

2019年给我们带来了一种称为WinPot的威胁,该威胁可以使ATM设备像投币机一样分配其中存储的现金。使用这些工具的黑客将获得一个窗口,该窗口将显示在受感染设备的屏幕上。该窗口显示有多少钱,并允许单击SPIN按钮开始付款。该恶意软件使黑客可以通过单击“停止”按钮来暂停该过程。每次单击此按钮时,恶意应用程序应再次计算还剩多少钱,如果单击“ SPIN”按钮,它将再次开始分配现金。这类骇客并非闻所未闻,但是却不像掠夺一般,而且毫无疑问,这听起来令人震惊。

被黑的数据库暴露了2080万条用户记录

震撼厄瓜多尔市民的网络攻击最多的是Elasticsearch服务器的黑客攻击。因此,网络犯罪分子可能已经获得了超过2080万厄瓜多尔人的个人信息(包括有关受害者孩子的信息和财务数据)。并非被黑客入侵的数据库没有密码,而是配置错误。换句话说,黑客通过利用数据库的配置弱点获得了对其的访问。根据Whitehatsec.com的说法 ,许多服务器具有不需要的默认应用程序,配置文件,脚本和网页以及未使用的已启用服务(例如远程管理功能),如果不加以利用,则可以利用这些服务。自然,将敏感信息存储在服务器或数据库中的公司如果想阻止网络罪犯对其进行黑客入侵,则应确保配置正确。

攻击麦当劳的应用程序

2019年还证明,网络犯罪分子喜欢快餐食品,就像普通人一样,他们会尽全力入侵麦当劳的应用程序帐户 。据报道,一些攻击者非常饥饿,以至于他们下达了价值在500到2000美元之间的欺诈性订单。因此,媒体认为这些网络罪犯最合适的名字是汉堡包。这些事件还导致应用程序的提供者与其用户之间发生争执。麦当劳声称该应用程序是安全的,并且由于密码不足而导致帐户被黑客入侵。但是,一些用户认为,该公司可以为用户提供更多安全措施,例如“两因素身份验证”或通知功能,以在从异常位置发出订单时向用户发出警报。

如何提高您的个人或组织的网络安全性?

您的网络安全不仅取决于您使用的应用程序或平台的安全性,还取决于您为保护它们而付出的努力。许多用户仍然犯的最大错误之一是设置弱密码。可以理解,独特而复杂的登录凭据很难记住,但是您不必再这样做了,因为有专用的密码管理器可以为您记住密码。请记住,专家仍然建议使用至少10至12个字符创建密码,这些密码应同时包含小写和大写字母,数字和符号。对于普通家庭用户和组织而言,拥有强大的密码都是必不可少的。

在2019年,许多应用程序和平台开始提供双向身份验证功能。两要素身份验证是安全的附加层,即使黑客了解了您的登录凭据,也可以保护您的帐户。启用该功能后,登录帐户的唯一方法不仅是提供正确的登录凭据,而且还要提供唯一的代码,该代码通常会发送到用户的手机或通过电子邮件发送。当然,即使使用了双重身份验证,您也无法确定没有人能够入侵您的帐户,例如,通过诱使您证明所需的验证码来入侵您的帐户。尽管如此,它仍然可以提高您的网络安全性,我们强烈建议您在个人和企业帐户都可以使用此功能。

我们特别推荐给组织的是聘请IT专家,他们可以仔细研究他们的系统并确定可能存在的弱点。同样,对员工进行网络安全教育也至关重要。由于人们会犯错误,因此许多黑客,数据泄露和攻击都可以成功进行,而错误往往是由于缺乏知识而发生的。因此,我们建议教您的员工如何安全浏览,如何创建强密码以及如何识别潜在的危险内容。

而且,拥有数据库的客户或合作伙伴的敏感信息的公司应该采取的措施不只是最低限度的安全措施。被黑客入侵的数据库没有密码或密码弱的情况很少见。不幸的是,网络罪犯有能力入侵受强密码保护的数据库。因此,试图跳过网络安全可能适得其反。

总而言之,2019年再次向我们表明,黑客仍然可以想出新方法来入侵我们的帐户和系统。但是,越来越多的公司和常规用户不仅意识到网络威胁,而且也在寻找提高其网络安全性的方法。也许,今年我们所有人都会做得更好,并且最终将能够阻止网络犯罪的增长。因此,如果您希望在2020年实现的目标清单仍未完成,我们希望您可以在其中添加“ 增强的网络安全性 ”。

January 14, 2020

发表评论

The Most Surprising Cyber Hacks That Shook Us in 2019

Cyber security threats kept growing in 2019, and it is expected that they will continue to increase in 2020, despite all efforts to stop it. Every time a weakness is patched, hackers find another system with a vulnerability to exploit. Not to mention, there are still a lot of users who ignore warnings from cybersecurity experts and put their cyber security at risk by acting carelessly. As a result, systems and accounts get hacked, and sensitive information gets leaked. The worst part is that no one is safe. Whether you are a regular user or you work for a huge company, hackers can always find a way to misuse any piece of information or functionality of their hacked system if they can only get their hands on it. Further, in this article, we present the top 5 cyber hacks of 2019 that, in our opinion, shook both regular users and organizations the most. The point of this list is to increase your awareness of various cyber hacks as well as to present tips on how to improve your personal or your company’s cyber security.

Our list of the most shocking cyber hacks of 2019 does not have any data breaches, as we believe such attacks have become so frequent that they should have a list of their own. The attacks we talk about involve hacking popular applications and devices. Without further ado, here is our list of 5 cyber hacks that we believe shocked us the most in 2019.

A flaw in 7-Eleven applications

After exploiting a particular weakness found on the 7pay app used by the 7-Eleven customers in Japan, cybercriminals were able to hack multiple accounts from which they stole around 510 thousands of US dollars. It appears that the app had a poorly designed password reset function that allowed anyone to request a password reset by only providing a user’s email address, date of birth, and a phone number. Unfortunately, since data breaches keep occurring, such information is not that difficult to come by. Also, the 7pay password reset function allowed requesting a new password to be sent to a different email address, which allowed cybercriminals to request new passcodes to be sent to their email accounts. As a result, it is estimated that attackers managed to hack around 900 accounts. 7-Eleven promised to compensate users who lost money due to the flaw in the 7pay app. Hopefully, they will put more effort into ensuring that hackers will not be able to hack their app again.

Attack on Avast

The hacking incident during which cyber criminals gained access to the systems of Avast was probably one of the most shocking ones. It proved that no one is safe from cybercriminals, not even companies that create antivirus products. It was announced that hackers gained access to Avast systems by gaining access to an account that was not protected with Two-Factor Authentication. After detecting this activity, the company allowed hackers to carry on with what they were doing a little bit longer to find out what was their goal. It appears they were trying to implant malware into CCleaner, which is a product of Avast. Fortunately, hackers did not succeed.

Hijacked ATM devices turned into slot machines

2019 brought us a threat called WinPot that can make an ATM device to dispense cash stored in it like a slot machine. Hackers who use these tools are provided with a window that gets to be displayed on an infected device’s screen. This window shows how much money there is and allows clicking SPIN buttons that start the money dispensation. The malware allows hackers to pause the process by clicking the STOP button. Every time this button is clicked, the malicious application should count once more how much money is left, and if the SPIN button is clicked, it should start dispensing cash again. This type of hacking is not unheard of, but it is not as usual as skimming and, without a doubt, might sound mind-blowing.

Hacked database exposed 20.8 million user records

A cyber attack that shook the citizens of Ecuador the most was the hack of the Elasticsearch server. Because of it, cybercriminals might have obtained personal information (including information on victims’ children and financial data) of over 20.8 million Ecuadorians. It is not that the hacked database did not have a password, it was misconfigured. In other words, hackers gained access to it by exploiting the database’s configuration weaknesses. According to Whitehatsec.com, lots of servers have unneeded default applications, configuration files, scripts, and webpages as well as unused enabled services, such as remote administration functionality, that can be exploited if they are not dealt with. Naturally, companies who store sensitive information on servers or databases should make sure they are well-configured if they want to stop cybercriminals from hacking them.

Attack on the McDonald’s app

2019 has also proven that cybercriminals like fast food as much as regular people as they put their effort into hacking the McDonald’s app accounts. It was reported that some of the attackers were so hungry that they placed fraudulent orders worth between $500 and $2000. Thus, the media decided that the most fitting name for these cybercriminals is hamburglars. These incidents also created a dispute between the application’s providers and its users. McDonald’s claimed that the app is secure and that accounts were hacked due to weak passwords. However, some users argued that the company could provide users with more safety measures, such as Two-Factor Authentication or a notification function to alert users when orders are placed from unusual locations.

How to increase your personal or your organization’s cyber security?

Your cyber security depends not only on how secure the applications or platforms you use are but also on how much effort you put into securing them. One of the biggest mistakes that a lot of users still make is set up weak passwords. It is understandable that unique and complex login credentials are difficult to memorize, but you no longer have to do it as there are dedicated password managers that can remember passwords for you. Keep in mind that specialists still recommend creating passcodes from at least 10-12 characters that ought to contain both lower-case and upper-case letters, numbers, and symbols. Having strong passwords is essential both to regular home users and organizations.

In 2019 a lot of applications and platforms started offering the Two-Factor Authentication feature. Two-Factor Authentication is an additional layer of security that can protect your account even if hackers learn your login credentials. With it enabled, the only way to log into an account becomes providing not only the correct login credentials but also a unique code, which is usually delivered to a user’s mobile phone or via email. Of course, even with Two-Factor Authentication, you cannot be certain that no one will be able to hack your account, for example, by tricking you into proving the needed verification code. Nonetheless, it can still increase your cyber security, and we highly recommend using this feature whenever you can for both personal and business accounts.

What we would recommend particularly for organizations is to employ IT specialists who could have a closer look at their systems and determine what could be their weaknesses. Also, it is vital to educate employees on cyber security. A lot of hacks, data breaches, and attacks alike are successfully carried out because people make mistakes, which often happens due to their lack of knowledge. Therefore, we recommend teaching your employees how to browse safely, how to create strong passwords, and how to recognize potentially dangerous content.

What’s more, companies that have databases with sensitive information of their clients or partners should employ more than minimum safety measures. Situations, when a hacked database did not have a password or had a weak password, are rare. Unfortunately, cybercriminals are capable of hacking databases that are protected with more than a strong password. Thus, trying to skimp on cyber security could backfire.

All in all, 2019 once again showed us that hackers can still come up with new ways to hack our accounts and systems. However, more and more companies and regular users not only become aware of cyber threats, but also search for ways to increase their cyber security. Perhaps, this year we will all do better and will be able to stop the growth of cybercrime at last. Thus, if your list of things you wish to achieve in 2020 is still unfinished, we hope you will add “increased cyber security” to it.

January 14, 2020

Leave a Reply