微软修补 MysterySnail RAT 攻击中滥用的零日漏洞

在昨天的补丁星期二中,微软修补了其产品中的 71 个漏洞和一些零日漏洞。修补的漏洞之一是权限提升漏洞,据报道该漏洞已被广泛用于传播名为 MysterySnail 的恶意工具。

MysterySnail 恶意软件已被识别为远程访问木马或 RAT。据安全研究人员称,MysterySnail 已被用于针对西方实体的网络间谍攻击。目标包括 IT 公司和国防承包商。

2021 年初,MysterySnail 被用于针对这些目标的一系列攻击。研究人员认为,这些攻击源自一名讲中文的高级持续威胁行为者,可能是代号为 IronHusky 的人。

这些攻击针对的是当时未打补丁的 Microsoft Windows 服务器系统。在攻击中滥用的漏洞已被标记为 CVE-2021-40449,并被描述为 Win32k 特权提升。

研究人员之所以认为这些攻击是 IronHusky APT 所为,是因为 MysterySnail 远程访问木马的有效载荷中有大量非常相似的代码。研究人员注意到,该恶意软件还利用了 IronHusky 通常使用的命令和控制服务器基础设施。

尽管按照大多数标准,MysterySnail RAT 并不是特别复杂,但它确实包含命令功能,允许它关闭系统进程、处理受害系统上的文件、打开新的代理连接并根据操作员的需要创建新进程。

所涉及的漏洞也被描述为驻留在 Win32k 内核中的释放后使用错误。释放后使用问题与程序操作中的不当使用和释放内存有关。

October 13, 2021

Microsoft Patches Zero-Day Abused in MysterySnail RAT Attacks

In yesterday's Patch Tuesday Microsoft patched 71 vulnerabilities and a handful of zero-day bugs in its products. One of the vulnerabilities patched was a privilege escalation bug that was reportedly already used in the wild to spread a malicious tool called MysterySnail.

The MysterySnail malware has been identified as a remote access trojan or RAT. According to security researchers, MysterySnail has been used in cyberespionage attacks targeted at western entities. Among the targets are IT firms and defense contractors.

Earlier in 2021, MysterySnail was used in a series of attacks against those targets. Researchers believe the attacks originated from a Chinese-speaking advanced persistent threat actor, likely the one codenamed IronHusky.

The attacks were targeting then-unpatched Microsoft Windows server systems. The vulnerability abused in the attacks has been flagged as CVE-2021-40449 and is described as a Win32k Elevation of Privilege.

The reason why researchers believe the attacks were the work of the IronHusky APT is that there were chunks of very similar code in the payload of the MysterySnail remote access trojan. The malware also made use of command and control server infrastructure that is ordinarily used by IronHusky, researchers noticed.

While the MysterySnail RAT is not particularly sophisticated by most standards, it does include command capabilities that allow it to shut down system processes, handle files on the victim system, open new proxy connections and create new processes according to the needs of the operators.

The vulnerability involved is also described as a use-after-free bug that resides in the Win32k kernel. Use-after-free issues are related to improper usage and freeing of memory in program operation.

October 13, 2021