英国户外服装零售商网站上的Magecart恶意软件刮擦卡数据为期8个月

Páramo Magecart Attack

今年早些时候,有18个不同的用户向贝宝(PayPal)投诉,他们在相对较短的时间内在其银行帐户上发现了欺诈性交易。经过调查,付款处理者意识到他们有一个共同点:他们都在帕拉莫(Páramo)购物,一家销售户外服装和装备的在线商店。 PayPal负责处理Páramo的付款,因此自然而然地,它立即通知了卖方。不久的调查显示,帕拉莫(Páramo)被《名册》 (Magregister)所击中。

帕拉莫遭受电子分离器攻击

“ Magecart”一词出现于几年前,当时网络犯罪分子开发了一种恶意软件,能够在网上商店的结帐过程中抓取信用卡数据。之所以使用这个名称的“ Mage”部分,是因为Magecart旨在攻击使用Magento开源平台构建的网站,但是现在它已经与几乎所有的在线撇取操作相关联。多年来,各种各样的网络犯罪团伙对各种形状和大小的目标发起了Magecart攻击。 Páramo是一长串Magecart受害者中的最新一员,当您了解这种特殊情况下攻击的工作原理时,您会明白为什么黑客如此喜欢这种恶意软件。

最初的感染载体目前仍然未知。安全研究人员最近注意到一种趋势,即在使用未修补插件的基于Magento的网站上安装电子撇取器,但尚不清楚Páramo是否使用了相同的技术。黑客确实获得了足够的访问权限,可以上载JS文件,然后修改网站的PHP页面之一。结果,在结帐过程中,Páramo似乎可以按预期运行。付款将由PayPal处理,并且订单将照常记录。但是,在后台,恶意的JS文件会抓取客户的信用卡数据,并将其转发给网络罪犯。从持卡人的姓名到卡背面的CVV代码,所有内容都将受到影响,也就不足为奇了,这18位用户注意到他们银行帐户周围的异常活动。

该恶意软件在长达8个月的时间内一直未被发现

Páramo告诉The Register,Magecart演员设法窃取了3,743张卡片的详细信息,考虑到我们每天目睹的其他一些违规行为的规模,看起来似乎并不多。但是,相当长一段时间以来,该恶意软件仍未在网站上被检测到,这表明它可能有多危险。

Páramo于3月找到并删除了Magecart恶意软件,但是当其安全IT专家检查日志时,他们意识到它最早是在2019年7月安装的。即使是季度安全扫描,Páramo也会为未能检测到该恶意软件而支付费用,并且接下来的八个月,没有人怀疑任何事情。

Magecart即将成为在线商店面临的最大威胁之一。它已经在许多重大事件中发挥了主要作用,基于它的网络犯罪行动也相当成功。尽管他们的任务是处理用户的财务信息,但许多在线商店的管理员对安全性的重视不足,并使用旧的,未修补的技术来运行其网站,这使得骗子的工作更加轻松。如果您负责电子商务网站的安全,请确保Magecart在威胁模型中占据中心位置。另一方面,如果您是一个狂热的在线购物者,那么做起来比定期检查银行余额并及时报告任何可疑交易要糟糕得多。

May 22, 2020

发表评论

Magecart Malware Scraped Card Data for 8 Months From a British Outdoor Clothing Retailer

Páramo Magecart Attack

Earlier this year, 18 different users complained to PayPal about fraudulent transactions observed on their bank accounts in a relatively short period of time, and after an investigation, the payment processor realized that they had one thing in common: they had all shopped at Páramo, an online shop selling outdoor clothing and gear. PayPal is responsible for processing Páramo's payments, so, naturally enough, it immediately notified the vendor. An investigation soon revealed that Páramo had been hit by what The Register described as Magecart.

Páramo suffers an e-skimmer attack

The term "Magecart" appeared a few years ago when cybercriminals developed a piece of malware capable of scraping credit card data during the checkout process at online shops. The "Mage" part of the name was put because Magecart was designed to attack websites built with the Magento open-source platform, but it has now come to be associated with virtually all online skimming operations. Over the years, Magecart attacks have been launched by a variety of different cybercriminal gangs against targets of all shapes and sizes. Páramo is the latest in a long line of Magecart victims, and when you learn how the attack worked in this particular case, you'll see why the hackers love this breed of malware so much.

The initial infection vector remains unknown for now. Security researchers recently noticed a trend towards installing e-skimmers on Magento-based websites that use an unpatched plugin, but it is not clear whether this same technique was used in the case of Páramo. The hackers did manage to gain deep enough access to upload a JS file and then modify one of the website's PHP pages. As a result, during the checkout process, Páramo would seemingly operate as intended. The payments would be processed by PayPal, and the orders would be logged as per usual. In the background, however, the malicious JS file would scrape customers' credit card data and would forward it to the cybercriminals. Everything from the cardholder name to the CVV code on the back of the card is affected, and it's no wonder that the 18 users noticed unusual activity around their bank accounts.

The malware stayed undetected for a whopping 8 months

Páramo told The Register that the Magecart actors managed to steal the details of 3,743 cards, which, considering the size of some of the other breaches we witness every day, doesn't appear to be that much. The malware remained undetected on the website for quite a while, however, which shows just how dangerous it can be.

Páramo located and removed the Magecart malware in March, but when its security IT specialists checked the logs, they realized that it was first installed way back in July 2019. Even the quarterly security scans Páramo pays for failed to detect the malware, and over the next eight months, nobody suspected a thing.

Magecart is shaping up to be one of the biggest threats to online stores. It has already played the main role in quite a few major incidents, and the cybercriminal operations based around it are pretty successful. Although they are tasked with handling users' financial information, many administrators of online shops don't pay enough attention to security and run their websites on old, unpatched technology, which makes the crooks' job even easier. If you're responsible for the security of an ecommerce website, make sure Magecart takes a central place in your threat model. If, on the other hand, you're an avid online shopper, you could do worse than check your bank balance regularly and timely report any suspicious transactions.

May 22, 2020

Leave a Reply