黑客如何在黑暗网上出售3400万条用户记录

暗网有一个地下市场,可以像某些合法的消费者对消费者的电子商务网站一样活跃。就在几天前,一个新的信息转储在这样一个黑暗的网络论坛上出售,提供了3400万条用户记录,据称这些记录是从十几家公司中盗取的。

那么,不良行为者如何准确地掌握人们的信息,以便以后在网上非法出售信息并从中获利呢?有多种方法可以实现此目的。

黑客窃取相似信息的最有利可图的方式之一就是数据泄露。数据泄露利用在线数据库中的漏洞或安全漏洞,无论它属于公司还是其他组织。一旦数据库遭到破坏,黑客就可以复制他们在其中找到的任何数据,这是孩子的事-最常见的用户信息,例如姓名,电子邮件地址,电话号码,有时甚至是密码或信用卡付款信息和交易的大块信息日志。

网络钓鱼活动是窃取用户数据的另一种方法。那些需要发送成千上万的恶意电子邮件,并希望受害者要么被该消息吓倒,要么天真地单击虚假电子邮件中包含的恶意链接。仿冒邮件通常以模仿合法公司通信的方式构造,以赢得受害者的信任,并使他们单击邮件中包含的不良链接。

也有所谓的欺骗活动,它们使用类似的恶意链接,嵌套在发送给受害者电话的SMS消息中。网络钓鱼活动的最终目标是欺骗用户,将用户的某些个人信息或登录凭据填充为伪造的形式,该形式只是将输入给不良行为者的数据收集起来。

窃取信息的另一种方法是通过将恶意软件悄悄地潜入受害者的计算机上,而不管它是键盘记录器还是某种银行木马或抓取工具。一旦恶意软件被部署并在受害者的系统上未被发现,运行其命令和控制服务器的不良行为者就可以根据所安装的恶意软件的类型来执行他们想要的任何事情,并从受感染的系统中窃取大量信息。

坏人如何处理被盗信息?

包含成千上万个客户记录的信息转储通常在黑暗的网络上出售。此类信息对可以将其用于恶意目的的不同行为者群体很有价值。从密码填充泄露的凭据到使用盗窃的信用卡信息在线购买东西,再到从被盗的银行帐户中窃取资金,不良行为者可以通过多种方式使用此类数据。

当将个人可识别信息(例如姓名,地址和电子邮件)出售给需要它的各方时,也很有价值。一旦不良行为者获得了足够的窃取信息,这些信息便会随后被滥用以勒索和勒索,以及各种其他欺诈和欺诈行为,这些欺诈行为可以以非常可信的方式进行组织。

这就是为什么您应该不断致力于改善个人数字安全性并最大程度地减少数字足迹的原因。强大的密码,谨慎的电子邮件处理以及当您需要新帐户和新服务时提供最少的信息,是确保您尽可能安全的好方法。当然,在设备上安装功能齐全的反恶意软件应用程序也对保持安全性有很大帮助。

November 5, 2020

发表评论

Here's How a Hacker Can Sell 34 Million User Records on the Dark Web

The dark web has an underground marketplace that can be as active as some legitimate consumer-to-consumer e-commerce websites. Just a few days ago, a new infodump was put up for sale on one such dark web forum, offering 34 million user records, allegedly stolen from over a dozen companies.

So how exactly do the bad actors get hold of people's information to later sell it illegally online and make money out of it? There are a number of ways that this can happen.

One of the most lucrative ways hackers steal similar information is data breaches. A data breach exploits a vulnerability or security loophole in an online database, whether it belongs to a company or other organization. Once the database has been compromised, it's child's play for the hackers to copy whatever data they find in there - most commonly user information such as names, e-mail addresses, telephone numbers and sometimes even passwords or chunks of credit card payment information and transaction logs.

Another way that user data is stolen are phishing campaigns. Those entail sending thousands and thousands of malicious e-mail messages and hoping that the victims will either be intimidated enough by the message or naive enough to click the malicious links contained in the fake email. Phishing mail is usually constructed in a way that mimics legitimate company correspondence, in an attempt to earn the victim's trust and make them click the bad links contained in the message.

There are also the so-called smishing campaigns that use similar malicious links, nested in SMS messages sent to victims' phones. The end goal of a phishing campaign is to fool the user into filling out some sort of personal information or login credentials into a fake form that simply syphons the data entered to the bad actors.

One more way to steal information is through quietly sneaking malware onto the victim's computer, whether this is going to be a keylogger or some sort of banking Trojan or scraper. Once the malware is deployed and remains unnoticed on the victim's system, the bad actors running its command and control servers can do almost anything they want, depending on the type of malware installed, and steal a wide range of information from the compromised system.

What do the bad actors do with stolen information?

Infodumps that contain thousands or even millions of customer records are commonly put up for sale on the dark web. This sort of information is valuable to different groups of bad actors who can use it for malicious purposes. From password stuffing leaked credentials, to purchasing things online using stolen credit card information, to simply syphoning money from breached bank accounts, there are a number of ways bad actors can use this sort of data.

Personally identifiable information such as names, addresses and e-mails is also worth money when sold to the parties that need it. This information can later be abused for blackmail and extortion, as well as various other scams and frauds that can be organized in a very believable way, once the bad actors have sufficient stolen information.

This is why you should be continuously working on improving your personal digital security and minimizing your digital footprint as much as you can. Strong passwords, careful handling of e-mails and providing the minimum required information when you need a new account with a new service are good ways to make sure you are as safe as possible. Of course, keeping a fully-featured anti-malware application installed on your devices is also a huge help in staying safe.

November 5, 2020

Leave a Reply