谷歌因安全事件阻止小米进入其平台

Xiaomi Surveillance Cameras Security Bug

人们确实确实会时不时地对网络安全新闻反应过度,尤其是当事件围绕越来越多的物联网设备之一成为我们日常生活的组成部分时,尤其如此。有时,安全研究人员会在这些小工具中发现漏洞,这些漏洞通常会成为世界末日的头条新闻,并预测即将发生的厄运。但是,在某些情况下,由于该漏洞难以利用,在野外进行攻击是不切实际的,因此完全没有必要引起媒体的关注。

最近,人们一直在谈论小米的廉价监控摄像头中的一个错误。它已经吸引了许多来自专业和主流新闻媒体的报道。现在,我们将尝试确定整个骚动是否合理。

视频摘要混用会严重影响隐私

我们可能应该提到的第一件事是该漏洞不是由安全研究人员发现的。上周,一个Reddit用户使用昵称Dio-V披露了该信息,该用户从互联网上购买了便宜的IP监控摄像机。有问题的摄像机是小米Mijia 1080p –对于试图以预算获得视频监控的任何人来说,这似乎都是完美的解决方案。除了约20美元的诱人价格外,Mijia 1080p还提供与Google Home和亚马逊的Alexa的集成。

Google Home的所有者Dio-V渴望将新的Xiaomi相机连接到他的网络,并查看其工作原理。他将其连接到Nest设备,并尝试访问视频供稿。但是,他没有看到一个熟悉的房间,而是看到了别人家的静止照片。感到困惑,他刷新了提要,然后又迎来了另一个静止的图像,这次是另一个人的房子。

图像上的时间戳表明Dio-V所注视的相机位于世界的不同地方。不过,它们全都是小米Mijia 1080p相机,这使Dio-V知道了错误所在。

在Reddit上分享了他的发现 ,并且该线程很快传播开来。这真的并不令人惊讶。

由于该错误,Google暂停了小米的Home产品集成

Dio-V发现的错误非常严重。一些泄漏的图像已损坏,但是尽管如此,该漏洞仍意味着那些毫无戒心的人的照片在他们自己的家中时被泄漏了。而且,尽管利用其他物联网安全漏洞通常需要某种形式的“黑客攻击”,猜测密码或扫描互联网以查找配置错误的网络(对于小米的廉价IP摄像机而言),但该错误会在用户采取这种措施后立即显现出来。设备开箱即用。因此,谷歌没有等待第二次邀请,它立即暂停了小米Mi Home与Google Home的所有集成,尽管事实上这家中国电子巨头当时还没有确认问题的存在。

后来,小米承认该错误是真实的。这是由于12月26日实施的缓存更新导致的,该更新旨在提高相机的流媒体质量。根据Android Police引用的声明,该漏洞的影响有限。小米显然发现只有1,044台摄像机受到了影响,其中只有网络连接较差的那些摄像机可能最终会显示其他人的房屋的图像。供应商对此问题表示歉意,并向用户保证已解决该问题。不过,目前Google是否恢复了小米Mi Home的集成尚不清楚。

在这种特殊情况下,我们可以肯定地说,此事件引起的关注是完全合理的。更糟糕的是,它可以证明世界之间的联系越紧密,我们将目睹的错误越多。小米并不是第一个发现其产品会损害人们隐私的大供应商,并且您可以肯定,它不会是最后一个。在将下一个新颖的小工具连接到家庭Wi-Fi网络之前,您可能应该考虑一下这一点。

January 9, 2020

发表评论

Google Blocks Xiaomi From Its Platform Due to a Security Incident

Xiaomi Surveillance Cameras Security Bug

People do tend to overreact to cybersecurity news every now and again, especially when the incident revolves around one of an increasing number of IoT devices that are becoming an integral part of our everyday lives. Sometimes, security researchers find vulnerabilities in those gadgets, which often create apocalyptic headlines and predictions of impending doom. In some cases, however, the media attention is completely unwarranted because the vulnerability is difficult to exploit, and an attack in the wild is impractical.

Recently, people have been talking about a bug in one of Xiaomi's cheap surveillance cameras. It has attracted quite a few reports, both from specialized and mainstream news outlets. We'll now try to find out if the whole brouhaha is justifiable.

A video feed mix-up can have severe privacy consequences

The first thing we should probably mention is that the bug was not discovered by a security researcher. It was disclosed last week by a Reddit user going by the nickname Dio-V who had bought a cheap IP surveillance camera from the internet. The camera in question was the Xiaomi Mijia 1080p – a seemingly perfect solution for anyone trying to get video surveillance on a budget. In addition to the attractive price of about $20, the Mijia 1080p also offers integration with Google Home and Amazon's Alexa.

A Google Home owner, Dio-V, was eager to hook up the new Xiaomi camera to his network and see how it works. He connected it to his Nest device and tried to access the video feed. Instead of seeing a familiar room, however, he saw a still photo of someone else's home. Puzzled, he refreshed the feed, and he was greeted with another still image, this time of a different person's house.

The timestamps on the images suggested that the cameras Dio-V was looking at were located in different parts of the world. They were all Xiaomi Mijia 1080p cameras, though, which gave Dio-V a pretty good idea of where the bug lies.

He shared his findings on Reddit, and the thread went viral pretty quickly. This shouldn't really be a surprise.

Google suspends Xiaomi's Home product integrations because of the bug

The bug discovered by Dio-V was extremely serious. Some of the leaked images were corrupted, but despite this, the vulnerability meant that photos of unsuspecting people were being leaked while they were in the privacy of their own homes. What's more, while the exploitation of other IoT security holes often requires some form of "hacking," guessing passwords, or scanning the internet for misconfigured networks, in the case of Xiaomi's cheap IP camera, the bug manifests itself the moment the user takes the device out of the box. Because of this, Google waited for no second invitation, and it immediately suspended all Xiaomi Mi Home integrations with Google Home, despite the fact that the Chinese electronics giant hadn't confirmed the existence of the problem at the time.

Later, Xiaomi admitted that the bug was real. It was caused by a cache update implemented on December 26 that was designed to improve the camera's streaming quality. According to a statement quoted by Android Police, the vulnerability had a limited impact. Xiaomi apparently found out that only 1,044 cameras were affected, and of them, only those who had a poor network connection might have ended up showing images of other people's houses. The vendor apologized for the issue and assured users that it has now been resolved. Whether Google has restored Xiaomi Mi Home's integrations, however, remains unknown for now.

In this particular case, we can safely say that the attention this incident attracted is entirely justifiable. Worse still, it serves as proof that the more connected the world becomes, the more bugs like this we'll witness. Xiaomi is not the first big vendor to find out that its products can compromise people's privacy, and you can be pretty sure that it won't be the last. This is something you should probably think about before you connect the next novelty gadget to your home Wi-Fi network.

January 6, 2020

Leave a Reply