勒索软件攻击后,科技公司Garmin支付了数百万美元

据报道,与许多不同的GPS系统和运动器材相关联的品牌Garmin在2020年7月下旬黑客用勒索软件感染其系统后,支付了数百万美元的赎金。据报道,Garmin聘请了与Arete IR合作的专业勒索软件谈判团队与不良行为者联系并付款。支付了大笔款项后,该公司收到了解密密钥并恢复了对其数据和系统的访问。

勒索软件点击后,Garmin的设备将离线

这次攻击使Garmin大量设备及其网站持续了几天,造成了大规模停机。随着该公司于7月27日开始恢复其基础架构,它还宣布已成为勒索软件攻击的目标。据报道,用于攻击Garmin的恶意软件是WastedLocker,这是一种与Evil Corp相关的勒索软件,是一群在俄罗斯境外活动的不良行为者。

邪恶集团再次罢工?

Evil Corp也与臭名昭著的Dridex恶意软件有关。该组织于2019年末受到美国财政部的正式制裁,这些措施导致一家勒索软件谈判公司在Arete IR接任之前拒绝与Garmin合作。由于对客户的“保密义务”,Arete IR没有就此事件的任何直接参与发表评论。

根据《天空新闻》的报道,美国当局尚未将WastedLocker与Evil Corp正式联系起来,而新的勒索软件是在提到Dridex的制裁措施颁布后出现的。 Garmin最终支付了一些大笔的勒索款项的普遍共识来自以下事实:WastedLocker中没有已知的漏洞或可利用的弱点,并且还原数据的唯一方法似乎是在支付赎金,并希望不良行为者提供工作机会解密密钥。
Garmin拒绝对此事发表任何进一步评论。

September 4, 2020

发表评论

Tech Company Garmin Pays Millions After Ransomware Attack

Garmin, a brand associated with a lot of different GPS systems and sports equipment, reportedly paid millions of dollars of ransom after hackers infected its systems with ransomware in late July 2020. According to reports, Garmin hired a professional ransomware negotiation team working with Arete IR to contact the bad actors and make the payment. After making the large payment, the company received its decryption key and restored access to its data and systems.

Garmin's Devices Go Offline After the Ransomware Hits

The attack caused a massive outage across a huge range of Garmin devices and its website that lasted a few days. As the company started to get its infrastructure back up on Jul 27, it also announced it had become the target of a ransomware hit. According to reports, the malware used to attack Garmin was WastedLocker - a strain of ransomware associated with Evil Corp - a body of bad actors operating out of Russia.

Evil Corp Strikes Again?

Evil Corp are also associated with the infamous Dridex malware. The organization was formally sanctioned by the US Treasury in late 2019 and those measures caused one ransomware negotiation company to decline working with Garmin before Arete IR took on the job. Arete IR did not comment on any direct involvement with the incident, due to "confidentiality obligations" to clients.

According to reports by Sky News, the US authorities have not formally linked WastedLocker to Evil Corp and the new ransomware appeared after the sanctions mentioning Dridex were enacted. The general consensus that Garmin ended up paying some sort of chunky ransom sum comes from the fact that there are no known loopholes or exploitable weaknesses in WastedLocker and the only way to restore data seems to be paying the ransom and hoping the bad actors provide a working decryption key.
Garmin have withheld any further comments on the matter.

September 4, 2020

Leave a Reply