Equifax終於支付了大量的數據泄露,妳也可以聲稱妳的份額

你還記得2017年大規模的Equifax數據洩露事件震撼了網絡安全世界嗎?這個事件有一個後續的故事,現在Equifax似乎正在償還受其影響的客戶。但是,沒有什麼比看起來那麼簡單。您可能想要為Equifax數據洩露索賠,但現在我們看到報告說,獲得和解可能比您想像的更難。這是怎麼回事?如果你想提出索賠要求獲得部分和解,你會怎麼做?查看此條目的其餘部分。

Equifax數據違規行為是如何展開的?

Equifax在2017年9月報告了一起安全漏洞。這次違規導致超過1.43億的社會安全漏洞被洩露。除此之外,據說黑客竊取了各種個人數據,包括駕駛執照和信用卡號碼,出生日期,地址等。

之後,2018年3月的一份報告稱,另有240萬消費者的數據也被盜。此外,在2018年6月,據報導,最初的違規行為也導致超過3200張密碼照片被洩露。因此,數據洩露影響了至少147.9名美國人。

啟動了一項調查以檢查Equifax活動,以找出個人數據被盜的原因。該調查發現該公司沒有採取適當的措施來避免類似的數據洩露,他們也沒有使他們的計算機系統保持最新狀態。任何至少對網絡安全有所了解的人都不僅僅意識到保持系統更新的重要性。在最後,該公司首先遇到數據洩露並不令人驚訝。

7億美元的和解協議

在大規模數據洩露之後,在2019年7月, Equifax宣布它將向美國聯邦貿易委員會,消費者金融保護局和其他相關方支付高達5.75億美元,因為該公司疏忽管理個人數據。一些報告還聲稱,如果信貸公司無法安撫受數據洩露影響的每個人,則可能需要支付高達7億美元的賠償金。

如果我們稍微回放並記住有超過1.4億人受到Equifax漏洞的影響,那麼理解個人補償不會那麼高也不需要數學天才。我們還必須記住,Equifax願意為有信用監控服務的消費者提供補償。換句話說,如果您已註冊信用監控,則可以為Equifax數據洩露索賠。 Equifax設立了一個處理和解索賠的特殊網站 。然而,最終獲得結算資金可能並不容易。

我能得到我的和解嗎?

最初,為受Equifax數據洩露影響的個人提供了125美元的和解. 問題在於對要約的回應是壓倒性的,並且隨著提出的索賠數量的增加,分配給這些索賠的金額不太可能足以向每個人發放125美元的和解。

初始結算選項仍然可用,但您對最終結果感到滿意是值得懷疑的。但是,還有其他方式可以為Equifax數據洩露索賠。這種可能性伴隨著美國消費者可以在未來七年獲得免費身份盜竊恢復服務的消息。

因此,如果您是Equifax違規行為的一部分,並且您花錢處理違規行為中的身份盜竊行為,則可以申請每人最高20,000美元來支付您所花費的資金。不過,有一份可以報銷的損失清單 ,所以你必須仔細檢查。可以承保的損失包括您因賬戶未經授權的收費而損失的資金,信用監控的費用,您必須為專業服務(例如,會計師或律師)支付的費用,以及各種其他費用。

值得注意的是,美國公民有權提出索賠,直到1月22日 2020年是非常重要的;否則,他們將沒有資格獲得結算資金。同時,重要的是要檢查您的網絡安全習慣,以確保您盡一切力量避免潛在的個人數據被盜。

我該怎麼做才能保護我的個人數據?

與往常一樣,您必須密切關注您的信用報告,以便您可以立即發現任何未經授權的轉移。如果可以接收有關進出帳戶的轉帳的即時通知,請確保啟用該選項。

消費者需要了解的另一個重要事項是,所有類型的個人數據都是有價值的,而且一切都可能被盜。當然,這種大規模的Equifax數據洩露已經很明顯,但消費者仍然傾向於認為只有大公司和企業才能成為竊取數據的黑客的目標。關鍵是普通用戶的個人信息也可以在黑市上出售,因此我們必須盡一切努力來保護它。

實現更好的個人數據保護的基本步驟是加強您的密碼。不要重複使用它們並考慮使用密碼管理器工具來幫助您生成強密碼。密碼管理員還可以定期更新您的密碼,您不必再擔心它了。此外,如果您使用的服務允許您執行此操作,請啟用多因素或雙因素身份驗證。它肯定會增強您帳戶的安全性,因為您將是唯一一個收到一次性密碼的人。這些只是我們可以為個人數據安全提供的一些技巧。在大多數情況下,雙方都需要努力保護您的數據,我們只能希望Equifax吸取教訓。

August 21, 2019

發表評論

重要!若要繼續到下一步,請完成以下簡單的數學問題。
Please leave these two fields as is:
8 + 5是什麼?

Equifax Is Finally Paying for the Massive Data Breach, and You Can Claim Your Share Too

Do you remember the massive Equifax data breach that shook the cybersecurity world back in 2017? There’s a follow-up story to this incident, now that Equifax seemingly is paying back its customers who were affected by it. However, nothing is as simple as it seems. You might want to claim money for the Equifax data breach, but now we see reports emerging that say getting the settlement might be harder than you think. What’s this all about and what can you do if you want to file a claim to get part of the settlement? Check out the rest of this entry.

How did the Equifax data breach unfold?

Equifax reported a security breach back in September 2017. This breach resulted in more than 143 million social security numbers being leaked. Aside from that, the hackers were said to have stolen all sorts of personal data, including driver’s license and credit card numbers, birth dates, addresses, and the like.

Afterward, a report in March 2018 said that data from another 2.4 million consumers were stolen, too. Also, in June 2018, it was reported that the original breach also resulted in more than 3200 password photos getting leaked as well. As a result, the data breach affected at least 147.9 Americans.

A probe was launched to check Equifax activities in order to find the reason behind the personal data theft. The probe found that the company did not employ adequate measures to avoid similar data breaches, and they also didn’t keep their computer systems up to date. Anyone, who knows at least a little bit about cybersecurity, is more than aware of the fact how vital it is to keep their systems updated. At the end of the line, it is not that surprising that the company experienced a data breach in the first place.

The $700 million settlement

Following the massive data breach, in July 2019, Equifax announced that it would be paying up to $575 million to the U.S. Federal Trade Commission, the Consumer Financial Protection Bureau, and other related parties for the losses experienced due to the company’s negligence in managing personal data. Some reports also claim that the credit company may have to pay up to $700 million in compensation if it doesn’t manage to appease everyone affected by the data breach.

If we rewind a little and remember that more than 140 million individuals were affected by the Equifax breach, it doesn’t take a math genius to understand that individual compensations wouldn’t be that high. We also have to remember that Equifax is willing to compensate the consumers who had credit monitoring services. In other words, if you have signed up for credit monitoring, you can claim money for the Equifax data breach. Equifax has set a special website that deals with the settlement claims. However, it might not be that easy to get the settlement money in the end.

Will I get my settlement?

Initially, a $125 settlement was offered for the individuals affected by the Equifax data breach. The problem is that the response to the offer has been overwhelming, and with the number of claims filed, it is very unlikely that the amount of money allocated to cover those claims will be enough to issue a $125 settlement to everyone.

The initial settlement option is still available out there, but it is doubtful that you will be satisfied with the final result. However, there are also other ways to claim money for the Equifax data breach. This possibility comes with the news that American consumers can get free identity theft recovery services for the next seven years.

So if you were part of the Equifax breach and you spent money dealing with the identity theft that was part of the breach, it is possible to claim up to $20,000 per person to cover the funds you have spent. Nevertheless, there is a list of losses that can be reimbursed, so you have to check them carefully. The losses that can be covered include the money you have lost due to unauthorized charges from your accounts, the cost of credit monitoring, the money you had to pay for the professional services (e.g., accountant or attorney), and all sorts of other expenses.

It is important to note that the U.S. citizens have to file a claim until January 22nd 2020; otherwise, they will not be eligible to receive the settlement funds. Meanwhile, it is important to review your cybersecurity habits to make sure you do everything in your power to avoid potential personal data theft.

What can I do to protect my personal data?

As always, you have to keep tabs on your credit report, so you could spot any unauthorized transfers right away. If it is possible to receive instant notifications about the transfers in and out of your accounts, make sure you enable that option.

Another important thing consumers need to understand is that all kinds of personal data are valuable, and everything can be stolen. Of course, it is already obvious with this massive Equifax data breach, but consumers still have a tendency to think that only big companies and businesses can be targeted by hackers who steal data. The point is that personal information of regular users can also be sold on the black market, and so we have to do everything to protect it.

The basic step towards better personal data protection is strengthening your passwords. Refrain from reusing them and consider employing a password manager tool to help you generate strong passwords. The password manager can also renew your passwords regularly, and you won’t have to worry about it anymore. Also, if the service that you use allows you to do it, please enable multi-factor or two-factor authentication. It would most certainly strengthen your account’s security, as you will be the only one who receives the one-time-password. These are just a few of the tips we can offer for personal data security. For the most part, it requires efforts on both sides to protect your data, and we can only hope that Equifax has learned their lesson.

August 21, 2019

Leave a Reply

IMPORTANT! To be able to proceed, you need to solve the following simple math.
Please leave these two fields as is:
What is 6 + 6 ?