隱身模式是否真的能夠讓您的瀏覽保密?

Incognito Browser Mode Privacy

Chrome將其稱為隱身模式。 Firefox和Opera將其稱為私密瀏覽。 Edge已經用於瀏覽InPrivate。

這些瀏覽模式有什麼作用?

似乎很多人都無法正確回答這個問題。在最近的一項調查中 ,來自芝加哥大學和德國漢諾威萊布尼茲大學的科學家想要了解普通用戶的想法以及他們如何使用瀏覽器的隱私瀏覽模式。這兒是一些精彩片段:

  • 56%的參與者認為如果他們在以隱身模式瀏覽時登錄Google帳戶,他們的搜索記錄將不會記錄在任何地方。
  • 47%的人認為,如果他們在瀏覽隱身網站時為網站添加書籤,則不會顯示在瀏覽器的常規模式中。
  • 40%的參與者認為網站在處於隱身模式時無法查看其位置。
  • 27%的受訪者認為隱身模式可以更好地防範惡意軟件。
  • 25%的人認為隱身模式會隱藏和隱藏他們的公共IP地址

這些數字簡直令人擔憂,因為它們表明用戶並不完全了解瀏覽器的私有模式做什麼不做什麼來保護他們的隱私。

隱身模式可以採取哪些措施來保護您的隱私

當您在默認模式下上網時,瀏覽器會將一些信息保存在PC的硬盤上。此信息包括您的瀏覽歷史記錄,您在在線表單中輸入的數據以及某些網站發送給您的Cookie。

隱身或私有模式只會限製本地保存的數據量。例如,您停止隱身瀏覽會話時,您的瀏覽歷史記錄將被清除。因此,如果您在隱身模式下訪問物品-i-shouldnt-be-looking-at.com,則下次在地址欄中輸入“ 物品 ”時,該網站將不會顯示為建議。它也不會在歷史上出現。

每個網站以隱身模式保存到您的PC的Cookie也將被刪除,並且當您處於隱身模式時,瀏覽器將不會記住您在在線註冊表單中填寫的信息。

換句話說,當您的母親或FBI代理人在您的計算機上時,他們將無法看到您在使用隱身模式時所看到的內容。但是,他們能夠看到的是您下載的書籤和文件。

但請記住,我們談論的是互聯網 - 一個龐大的電子機器網絡。隱身模式無法對所有這些計算機上保存的信息執行任何操作。

隱身模式無法保護您的隱私

當您想訪問網站時,在瀏覽器的地址欄中鍵入域名,並且您的計算機使用您的公共IP地址向託管您要查看的網站的服務器發送請求。此請求通過許多其他服務器,交換機和集線器。無論如何,這就是用簡單的術語發生的事情。

結果是,您的請求由許多可以看到它的不同方處理。瀏覽器的隱身模式對此無能為力. 因此,您的ISP或您的雇主可以了解您所看到的內容,儘管有隱私瀏覽功能。

人們似乎錯過的另一件事是,以隱身模式登錄您的Google帳戶與在瀏覽器的默認模式下登錄您的Google帳戶相同。 Google仍會記錄您的搜索記錄以及與其服務的其餘交互(例如您觀看的YouTube視頻)。

最後的誤解是,隱身模式可以某種方式隱藏您的公共IP或保護您免受惡意軟件的侵害。平心而論,Opera的私人瀏覽功能內置了最新版本的VPN功能,Firefox確實提供了Do Not Track功能。這兩個可以幫助您實現某種程度的匿名,但他們不會做任何事情來保護您免受惡意軟件的侵害。

你能相信你的瀏覽器的隱身模式嗎?

如果您不希望在PC上訪問的網站有太多痕跡,是的,您的瀏覽器的私人或隱身模式將完成這項工作。請小心下載或保存以供將來查看。

如果你想匿名上網,它將沒有多大幫助。有專門的VPN應用程序,還有Tor瀏覽器,它使用一個完全不同的系統來隱藏你的真實身份和你正在看的東西。

May 23, 2019

發表評論

Does the Incognito Mode Really Work to Keep Your Browsing Private?

Incognito Browser Mode Privacy

Chrome calls it Incognito Mode. Firefox and Opera call it Private Browsing. Edge has gone for Browsing InPrivate.

What do these browsing modes do?

It seems that a lot of people can't answer this question correctly. In a recent survey, scientists from the University of Chicago and the Leibniz University in Hannover, Germany wanted to find out what regular users think about and how they use the browsers' private browsing modes. Here are some of the highlights:

  • 56% of the participants thought that if they log in to their Google accounts while they're browsing in Incognito mode, their search history won't be recorded anywhere.
  • 47% thought that if they bookmark a website while they're browsing Incognito, it won't show up in the browser's regular mode.
  • 40% of the participants thought that websites can't see their location when they're in Incognito mode.
  • 27% thought that Incognito mode gives them better protection against malware.
  • 25% thought that Incognito mode obscures and hides their public IP address

These figures are nothing short of worrying because they show that users aren't fully aware of what browsers' private modes do and don't do to protect their privacy.

What Incognito mode can do to protect your privacy

When you're surfing the Internet in the default mode, your browser saves some information on the hard drive of your PC. This information includes your browsing history, the data you enter into online forms, and cookies that some websites send to you.

The Incognito or Private mode does little more than limit the amount of data that is locally saved. Your browsing history, for example, is cleared the moment you stop the Incognito browsing session. Hence, if you visit things-i-shouldnt-be-looking-at.com while you're in Incognito mode, the next time you type "things" in the address bar, the website won't show up as a suggestion. It won't be available in the history, either.

The cookies every website saves to your PC in Incognito mode will be deleted as well, and the browser won't remember the information you've filled in an online registration form while you're in Incognito mode.

In other words, when your mom or an FBI agent sits on your computer, they won't be able to see what you looked at while you were using Incognito mode. What they will be able to see, however, are the bookmarks and files you downloaded.

Bear in mind, however, that we're talking about the Internet – a vast network of electronic machines. Incognito mode can't do anything about the information that is saved on all these machines.

What Incognito mode can't do to protect your privacy

When you want to visit a website, you type a domain name into the address bar of your browser, and your computer, using your public IP address, sends a request to a server that hosts the website you want to view. This request goes through a number of other servers, switches, and hubs. That's what happens in simple terms, anyway.

The upshot is, your request is handled by many different parties who can see it. The browser's incognito mode can't do anything about it. As a result, your ISP or your employer, for example, can learn what you've been looking at despite the private browsing feature.

Another thing people seem to miss is the fact that logging in to your Google account in Incognito mode is the same as logging in to your Google account in the browser's default mode. Google will still record your search history and the rest of your interactions with its services (like the YouTube videos you watch).

The final misconception is that Incognito mode can somehow hide your public IP or protect you from malware. In all fairness, Opera's private browsing comes with VPN functionality built-in in the latest versions, and Firefox does offer a Do Not Track feature. These two could help you achieve some level of anonymity, but they'll do nothing to protect you from malware.

Can you trust your browser's Incognito mode?

If you don't want too many traces of the websites you visit on your PC, yes, your browser's private or Incognito mode will do the job. Just be careful with what you download or save for future viewing.

If you want to surf the web anonymously, it won't be of much help. There are dedicated VPN applications, and there's also the Tor browser which makes use of a completely different system to hide who you really are and what you're looking at.

By Duran
May 2, 2018
May 2, 2018

Leave a Reply

IMPORTANT! To be able to proceed, you need to solve the following simple math.
Please leave these two fields as is:
What is 8 + 7 ?