比特幣騙局使用伊隆馬斯克的名字來欺騙用戶的錢

Elon Musk Bitcoin Scam

大多數人可能都知道Twitter是如何工作的。您關注某些人,他們分享的內容會與您的興趣相關或可能與您的興趣無關的廣告一起顯示在您的時間軸中。微博平台的一大優點是許多名人都在使用它,通過它,你可以看到當他們沒有大量的麥克風推到他們鼻子底下時他們正在做什麼。

名人和組織經常通過Twitter的驗證程序 。經過驗證的帳戶在顯示名稱後會顯示藍色標記,這有助於其關注者將實際個人資料與冒名頂替者和詐騙者區分開來。該系統現在已經存在了一段時間,但昨天,一波騙局推文表明它存在痛苦的瑕疵。

不,埃隆馬斯克仍然沒有放棄任何加密貨幣

從本質上講,這個計劃並不是全新的,我們幾個月前第一次出現時就已經討論過了。這一切都始於劫持Twitter帳戶並更改顯示名稱以及化身,以使個人資料看起來像屬於名人或組織。

目前尚不清楚為什麼,但當他們第一次開始這種活動時,詐騙者經常試圖冒充Elon Musk。他們會通過他的推文,並使用受損的個人資料在回復中宣布假加密貨幣贈品。看起來馬斯克先生曾在推特上發布了關於那天困擾他的事情,然後發布了一條“我差點忘了告訴你我正在組織的偉大贈品......”

實際的欺詐行為非常簡單,因為它很聰明。據稱馬斯克先生周圍有很多數字硬幣,他想把它們中的一些給你。唯一的問題是,特斯拉的首席執行官不知道您的加密貨幣錢包的地址。這就是為什麼,你向他發送少量的數字貨幣(假設為0.01BTC),然後他將更多的金額(例如1BTC)返還給你的錢包。當然,第二部分從未實現,你只是失去了錢。

有一次,伊隆馬斯克本人表示他無意放棄加密錢,尤其是因為他沒有得到任何加密錢。儘管如此,騙子繼續張貼假的贈品,有些人確實因騙局而墮落。然而,計劃中的一個大漏洞是被劫持的帳戶沒有藍色標記。最近,騙子決定解決這個問題。

來自已驗證帳戶的推文現在宣傳加密貨幣詐騙

目前尚不清楚如何,但犯罪分子設法劫持了不少經過驗證的帳戶。他們中的一些人再一次接受了一個新的顯示名稱和個人資料圖片來冒充Elon Musk,儘管這一次,變化並不那麼簡單。在之前的活動之後,Twitter推出了一些機制,可以自動向社交網絡的反濫用團隊發出關於將其顯示名稱更改為Elon Musk的帳戶的警報。騙子們不得不求助於在個人資料圖片上使用同性戀和過濾器。

差異欺騙了自動算法,同時,它們足夠小,不能與大多數人區分開來. 更重要的是,藍色標記誘使用戶認為這真的是埃隆馬斯克,他真的願意與互聯網上的一些隨機人分享他的加密硬幣。

實際上,我們談論的是隨機的人。為了吸引更多用戶,騙子使用保存在受感染帳戶中的最有可能的付款詳細信息來購買推廣的推文。結果,即使不跟隨埃隆馬斯克的人也會在他們的飼料中看到假的贈品。這不是全部。

公告中的回复充滿了其他藍色勾選的檔案,試圖通過說他們已經把馬斯克提出他的提議並且一切都是完全合法的,從而使騙局更具可信度。總而言之,在這個相當大的活動中付出了很多努力,儘管今天欺詐活動已經放緩,但另一波推特可能即將到來。

大規模的攻擊得到了很好的回報

安全專家奧利弗霍夫Oliver Hough)是密切關注虛假贈品浪潮的人之一。他昨天跟踪了五個假Elon Musks,今天再追踪了一個。截至撰寫本文時,已經使用了另外29個經過驗證的帳戶來保持炒作,而一些沒有藍色勾號的個人資料也已經插入。犯罪分子將受害者重定向到25個不同的域名,並且有關截圖的推文的報導看起來像是來自馬斯克自己的賬戶。

這些騙子在襲擊中投入了大量的精力,但公平地說他們的努力得到了回報。他們使用了相當多的比特幣錢包,這意味著要準確計算利潤是多麼不容易。然而,根據一些地址記錄的活動,我們談論的是數十萬美元。

Twitter炙手可熱

沒有人知道黑客如何破裂意味著說誰對整件事負責仍然是不可能的。然而,安全專家和受害者都在抨擊Twitter,因為它的驗證規則並不完美。根據他們的說法,您可以隨意更改顯示名稱和個人資料圖片,並且不會丟失藍色標記。唯一的方法是更改您的Twitter句柄。換句話說,如果一個經過驗證的帳戶冒充另一個經過驗證的帳戶,唯一可以洩露騙局的是Twitter處理,很多人根本就沒有註意到。

雖然有一些關於這一論點的有效觀點,但我們認為還有一個更緊迫的問題:“沒有人注意到網絡犯罪分子正在購買假加密貨幣贈品的廣告,同時冒充擁有超過2300萬粉絲的用戶?”

不幸的是,至少現在,我們沒有答案。

April 12, 2019

發表評論

重要!若要繼續到下一步,請完成以下簡單的數學問題。
Please leave these two fields as is:
2 + 8是什麼?

A Bitcoin Scam Uses Elon Musk's Name to Defraud Users out of Their Money

Elon Musk Bitcoin Scam

Most of you probably know how Twitter works. You 'follow' some people, and the things they share appear in your timeline alongside some ads that may or may not be relevant to your interests. One of the great things about the microblogging platform is that many celebrities use it, and through it, you can see what they're up to when they don't have a large number of microphones shoved under their noses.

Celebrities and organizations often go through Twitter's verification procedure. Verified accounts get a blue tick after their display name which helps their followers distinguish real profiles from imposters and scammers. The system has been around for a while now, but yesterday, a wave of scam tweets showed that it's painfully flawed.

No, Elon Musk still isn't giving away any cryptocurrency

At its heart, the scheme isn't exactly new, and we actually discussed it several months ago when it first surfaced. It all starts with hijacking a Twitter account and changing the display name as well as the avatar to make the profile look like it belongs to a celebrity or an organization.

It's not clear why, but when they first started this type of activity, the scammers frequently tried to impersonate Elon Musk. They would go through his tweets and would use the compromised profiles to announce a fake cryptocurrency giveaway in the replies. It looked like Mr. Musk had tweeted about whatever was bothering him on that particular day and had then posted something along the lines of "I almost forgot to tell you about the great giveaway I'm organizing…"

The actual fraud is as simple as it is clever. Mr. Musk allegedly has quite a few digital coins lying around, and he'd like to give some of them to you. The only problem is, Tesla's CEO doesn't know the address of your cryptocurrency wallet. That's why, you send a small amount of digital money (let's say 0.01BTC) to him, and he returns a much larger amount (for example 1BTC) to your wallet. The second part, of course, never materializes, and you just lose your money.

At one point, Elon Musk himself stated that he has no intention of giving away crypto money, not least because he hasn't got any. Despite this, the crooks continued to post their fake giveaways, and some people did fall for the scam. One big hole in the plan, however, was that the hijacked accounts didn't have a blue tick. Recently, the crooks decided to address the issue.

Tweets from verified accounts now advertise cryptocurrency scams

It's not yet clear how, but the criminals have managed to hijack quite a few verified accounts. Some of them were once again treated to a new display name and profile picture to impersonate Elon Musk, though this time, the change wasn't quite so simple. After the previous campaign, Twitter put mechanisms which automatically alert the social network's anti-abuse team about accounts that change their display names to Elon Musk. The crooks had to resort to using homoglyphs and filters on the profile pictures.

The differences fooled the automated algorithms, and at the same time, they were small enough not to be distinguishable to most people. More importantly, the blue tick tricked users into thinking that this really is Elon Musk, and he really is willing to share his crypto coins with some random people on the Internet.

Indeed, we're talking about random people. To reach more users, the crooks used what were most likely payment details saved in the compromised accounts to buy promoted tweets. As a result, even people who don't follow Elon Musk saw the fake giveaways in their feeds. That wasn't all.

The replies under the announcements were full of other blue-ticked profiles trying to give the scam more credibility by saying that they've taken Musk up on his offer and that everything is completely legitimate. All in all, a lot of effort went into what is a fairly big campaign, and although the fraudulent activity has slowed down today, another wave of tweets could be just around the corner.

A large-scale attack that has paid off handsomely

Security expert Oliver Hough is one of the people keeping a close eye on the wave of fake giveaways. He tracked a total of five fake Elon Musks yesterday, and one more today. As of the time of writing, an additional 29 verified accounts have been used to keep the hype going, and some profiles that don't have a blue tick have also chimed in. The criminals have redirected victims to 25 different domains, and there are reports of screenshotted tweets photoshopped to look like they are coming from Musk's own account.

The crooks threw a lot of work into the attack, but it's fair to say that their efforts have paid off. They used quite a few bitcoin wallets meaning that it's not easy to accurately calculate what the profit is. According to the activity recorded at some of the addresses, however, we're talking about hundreds of thousands of dollars.

Twitter takes the heat

Nobody knows how the hackers broke in meaning that saying who is responsible for the whole thing is still not possible. Nevertheless, both security experts and victims are lambasting Twitter for its less than perfect verification rules. According to them, you can change your display name and profile picture all you want, and you won't lose your blue tick. The only way to do it is to change your Twitter handle. In other words, if one verified account is impersonating another verified account, the only thing that could give away the scam is the Twitter handle which many people simply don't notice.

Although there are a few valid points about this argument, we reckon that there is one more urgent question: "How did no one notice that cybercriminals are buying ads for fake cryptocurrency giveaways while impersonating a user that has more than 23 million followers?"

Unfortunately, for now at least, we don't have the answer.

By Duran
November 6, 2018
November 6, 2018

Leave a Reply

IMPORTANT! To be able to proceed, you need to solve the following simple math.
Please leave these two fields as is:
What is 4 + 8 ?