数百名亚马逊客户报告未经授权的收费至少为400,000英镑

Amazon Customers Scammed out of £400 thousand

英国的国家欺诈和网络犯罪报告中心Action Fraud正在试图警告公众有关针对亚马逊客户的新骗局。该服务由伦敦市警察局运营,已从受害者那里收到了大约200份报告,这些受害者为该计划总共损失了40万英镑(约合513,000美元)。另外300名用户告诉Action Fraud,他们被同一骗局作为攻击目标,但设法避免了陷阱的产生。尽管幸运的是有些人能够发现欺诈行为,但并非每个人都如此幸运,骗子显然也赚了不少钱。但是整个事情如何运作?

黑客使用社交工程和自动电话来破坏Amazon帐户

黑客要想实施其计划,唯一需要的就是您的电话号码。他们拨打电话,但并不急于与您通话。取而代之的是,一旦您接起电话,就会听到一条录音,告诉您您现在已订阅Amazon的高级流媒体服务Prime。

当然,您对Amazon Prime不感兴趣,并且想要取消未经授权的订阅。该行另一端的机器告诉您,如果按“1”,则可以执行此操作。您最终将要与一个正在呼吸的人交谈。

您会被告知亚马逊客户服务代表。该行另一端的人通知您,他们可以为未经授权的Prime订阅退款。但是,要处理这些信息,他们将需要您的个人信息,您必须通过电话披露这些信息。或者,您被告知Prime订阅是因为您的计算机已受到威胁而进行的。亚马逊客户服务代理可以帮助您保护PC,但他们需要您使用TeamViewer的名称安装流行的远程访问工具。

您可能已经猜到了,与您交谈的人是一个骗子,他们的唯一目标是窃取您的信息并接管您的Amazon帐户。

为什么选择亚马逊?

出于某些很好的原因,这种特殊骗局的策划者决定将攻击目标对准亚马逊用户。首先,活跃的亚马逊账户数量超过3亿这一事实意味着不乏目标。此外,许多用户发现将借记卡或信用卡详细信息保存在自己的Amazon帐户中更为方便,这意味着一旦黑客获得了个人资料的访问权限,他们就会利用受害者的财务信息沉迷于购物场所。交换收信地址根本不是一件容易的事,并且由于许多人在服务之间重复使用密码,因此犯罪分子也常常会破坏其电子邮件帐户. 所有这些的结果是,欺诈性订单常常在一段时间内未被发现。

当用户确实看到未经授权的购买时,他们通常希望从亚马逊获得足够的帮助,但事实证明,通常情况下,他们没有得到他们所希望的待遇。

扭转欺诈性的亚马逊购买并不总是那么容易

10月30日,英国金融新闻网站ThisIsMoney.co.uk 撰写了有关几名亚马逊客户的案例这些客户遭受了与上述类似的骗局的攻击。他们都与零售商取得联系并要求退还他们的钱,但是他们都收到了负面的回应。

通常,问题在于就Jeff Bezos而言,物品已交付,并且订单是合法的。但是,由于黑客在购买前更改了收货地址,因此受害者无法收到货物,也无法退货。一切归结于由谁承担财务成本,尽管根据ThisIsMoney.co.uk的事实,亚马逊不愿承担这笔财务费用,但该零售商在英国的部门在2011年的销售额却接近110亿英镑(超过141亿美元)。 2018。

从法律和道德的角度很难说谁是谁是谁。然而,有趣的是,一旦媒体开始报道拒绝购买未退款的人的退款,亚马逊就会迅速改变主意,这笔钱很快就会退还给被欺诈的用户。 ThisIsMoney.co.uk的第二份报告证实了这一趋势, 该报告还讲述了一些人在从亚马逊取回钱款方面遇到困难的故事。全球最大的在线零售商也因其登录和安全机制而受到批评。

亚马逊没有做任何广告其安全系统

创建一个亚马逊账户很容易。所需要的只是一个电子邮件地址和一个密码,甚至不需要那么强。密码必须至少包含六个字符,但是对于必须使用的字符类型没有任何要求,这意味着从理论上讲,您可以使用“123456”作为您的亚马逊密码。

宽松的密码要求简化了帐户创建过程,但也可能带来严重的安全隐患。而且,尽管亚马逊确实拥有可以抵御大多数攻击的系统,但它似乎并不特别热衷于让用户了解它。

零售商的两因素身份验证(或两步验证,如亚马逊所说)适用于短信和身份验证应用程序,但很多人甚至不知道其存在. 要启用它,您需要执行以下操作:

  1. 转到https://www.amazon.com/并登录到您的帐户。
  2. 单击右上角的名称,然后从弹出菜单中选择“ 您的帐户 ”。
  3. 单击“ 登录和安全性”按钮,然后在“ 两步验证(2SV)”部分中单击“ 编辑”
  4. 单击启用以打开2SV并将系统配置为您的首选项。

两因素身份验证不是万能药,它永远不能保证黑客会远离。但是,如果您重视您的Amazon帐户(并且上述攻击表明您有很多理由这样做),则没有理由让其禁用。

November 8, 2019

发表评论

重要!若要继续到下一步,请完成以下简单的数学问题。
Please leave these two fields as is:
6 + 2是什么?

Hundreds of Amazon Customers Report Unauthorized Charges of at Least £400,000 ($513K)

Amazon Customers Scammed out of £400 thousand

Action Fraud, the UK's national fraud and cybercrime reporting center, is trying to warn the general public about a new scam targeting Amazon customers. The service, which is run by the City of London Police, has received around 200 reports from victims who have collectively lost more than £400,000 (about $513,000) to the scheme. A further 300 users told Action Fraud that they were targeted by the same scam but managed to avoid springing the trap. Although some people are fortunately able to spot the fraud, not everyone is so lucky, and the scammers are clearly making a pretty penny. But how does the whole thing work?

Hackers compromise Amazon accounts using social engineering and automated phone calls

The only thing the hackers need in order to set their plan into motion is your phone number. They initiate a phone call, but they're in no hurry to actually talk to you. Instead, as soon as you pick up, you hear a recording which tells that you are now subscribed to Prime, Amazon's premium streaming service.

Of course, you're not interested in Amazon Prime, and you want to cancel the unauthorized subscription. The machine on the other end of the line tells you that if you press "1", you'll be able to do it. You are finally about to talk to a living, breathing human being.

You are put through to what you are told is an Amazon customer service representative. The person on the other end of the line informs you that they can issue a refund for the unauthorized Prime subscription. To process it, however, they'll need your personal information, which you must disclose over the phone. Alternatively, you are told that the Prime subscription was made because your computer has been compromised. The Amazon customer service agent can help you secure your PC, but they need you to install a popular remote access tool by the name of TeamViewer.

As you might have guessed already, the person you're speaking to is a scammer, and their sole goal is to steal your information and take over your Amazon account.

Why Amazon?

The masterminds behind this particular scam have decided to aim their attack at Amazon users for a few very good reasons. For one, the fact that the number of active Amazon accounts sits at well over 300 million means that there's no shortage of targets. Furthermore, many users find it more convenient to save their debit or credit card details inside their Amazon account, which means that as soon as the hackers gain access to the profile, they indulge in a spot of shopping using the victim's financial information. Swapping the delivery address is not difficult at all, and because many people reuse passwords across services, the criminals can often compromise their email accounts as well. As a result of all this, fraudulent orders often remain unnoticed for a while.

When users do see the unauthorized purchases, they usually expect to get adequate assistance from Amazon, but as it turns out, often, they don't receive the treatment they are hoping for.

Reversing fraudulent Amazon purchases is not always as easy as it should be

On October 30, British financial news website ThisIsMoney.co.uk wrote about several Amazon customers who have fallen victim to scams similar to the one outlined above. They all got in touch with the retailer and asked for their money to be refunded, but they all received a negative response.

Usually, the problem lies with the fact that as far as Jeff Bezos is concerned, the items are delivered, and the order is legitimate. Because the hackers change the delivery address before the purchase, however, the victims don't receive the goods and have no way of returning them. It all boils down to who bears the financial cost, and Amazon is reluctant to take it, despite the fact that according to ThisIsMoney.co.uk, the retailer's UK division racked up sales of nearly £11 billion (more than $14.1 billion) in 2018.

It is difficult to say who is right and who is wrong, both from a legal and from a moral perspective. What's interesting, however, is that as soon as the media starts reporting on people who are refused refunds for purchases they didn't make, Amazon tends to change its mind quickly, and the money is soon returned to the defrauded users. This trend is confirmed by a second ThisIsMoney.co.uk report which tells a few more stories of people who had problems getting their money back from Amazon. The world's largest online retailer is also criticized for its login and security mechanisms.

Amazon does nothing to advertise its security systems

Creating an Amazon account is easy. All that is required is an email address and a password, which doesn't even need to be that strong. The password has to be at least six characters long, but there are no requirements for the type of characters you must use, which means that theoretically, you can use "123456" as your Amazon password.

The loose password requirements make for a simpler account creation process, but they can also have serious security implications. And although Amazon does have a system that could fend off most of the attacks, it doesn't seem especially keen on letting users know about it.

The retailer's two-factor authentication (or two-step verification, as Amazon calls it) works with both text messages and with authentication apps, but quite a few people don't even know about its existence. Here's what you need to do to enable it:

  1. Go to https://www.amazon.com/ and log into your account.
  2. Click on your name in the top-right corner and select Your Account from the popup menu.
  3. Click the Login & security button and click Edit in the Two-Step Verification (2SV) section.
  4. Click Enable to turn 2SV on and configure the system to your preferences.

Two-factor authentication is not a panacea, and it can never guarantee that the hackers will stay away. If you value your Amazon account (and the attacks described above show that you have quite a few reasons to do so), however, you have no excuse for keeping it disabled.

November 8, 2019

Leave a Reply

IMPORTANT! To be able to proceed, you need to solve the following simple math.
Please leave these two fields as is:
What is 2 + 5 ?