所有電子商務應用程序中有80%洩露了客戶數據,因此您並不安全

80% Of Retail Apps Leak Personal Data

現在該是我們每天進行大量統計數據的時候了,這些統計數據致力於真正令人恐懼的現代網絡安全狀態。這次,它們來自移動安全公司NowSecure,並且與某些Android應用程序如何處理用戶的個人數據有關。

NowSecure測試了250個Android應用

在2月到4月之間,NowSecure的研究人員總共測試了250個Android應用。所有應用程序都可以在Play商店中找到,並由從事不同行業的公司發布。它們都通過NowSecure的移動應用程序sec安全測試平台進行了測試,該平台專注於未加密的個人信息的存儲和傳輸以及可能遭受網絡釣魚攻擊的可能性。

令人失望的結果被放在圖表中,並發佈在NowSecure的網站上。

許多Android應用洩漏個人數據

眾所周知,Android生態系統並不十分關注隱私和安全性。實際上,多年來,惡意軟件的爆發和隱私問題已經對Google的移動操作系統的聲譽造成了相當大的打擊,而且搜索引擎巨頭正在努力使惡意應用遠離官方Play商店這一事實並沒有真正實現。幫助。

儘管如此,用戶仍會通過可識別個人身份的信息來信任Android應用程序,包括名稱,用戶名,電子郵件,地理位置數據,電話號碼等,NowSecure發現他們中的許多人並不是特別安全地這樣做。

實際上,在他們測試的250個應用中,大約有四分之三以某種方式洩露了個人數據。

零售應用程序往往是罪魁禍首

用戶對待不同的應用程序的方式有所不同。例如,當電子商務服務遭到破壞時,大多數人往往會特別沮喪,因為這通常意味著他們的財務信息受到威脅。根據NowSecure的研究人員所說,那些人不會很高興得知零售應用程序特別容易洩漏個人數據。

專家們沒有提及任何名字,但他們確實指出一些應用來自“在線數字市場和領先的實體零售商”。其中,發現超過80%的人洩露了個人數據,而對於那些僅屬於在線零售商的應用程序,該百分比甚至更可怕-超過90%。換句話說,如果您通過Android移動應用程序購物,很可能會無意間公開數據。請注意,NowSecure測試的其他應用程序所顯示的性能也不是很完美。

幫助我們找到保險的應用程序中有69%是洩漏的信息。我們用於旅行和度假安排的應用程序中大約有相同百分比(67%)也會暴露數據,即使金融機構本應受到嚴格審查,但NowSecure測試的金融應用程序中有一半也留給了用戶詳細信息不受保護。

研究人員寧願不給那些給用戶數據帶來風險的公司命名,也不要羞辱他們,也沒有告知我們是否已通知開發人員。 NowSecure還決定不透露信息的確切性質,以及如何將其公開。

可以公平地說,他們提供的數據確實足夠嚇人,這意味著Android用戶在信任帶有其個人數據的應用程序時應格外小心。絕不放棄超出絕對必要的內容,並且始終密切注意新應用程序所要求的許可。

November 29, 2019

發表評論

重要!若要繼續到下一步,請完成以下簡單的數學問題。
Please leave these two fields as is:
10 + 5是什麼?

80% of All E-Commerce Apps Leak Customers' Data, and You Are Not Safe

80% Of Retail Apps Leak Personal Data

It's time for our daily dose of statistics dedicated to the truly horrifying state of modern-day cybersecurity. This time, they come from mobile security company NowSecure, and they're related to how certain Android applications handle users' personal data.

NowSecure tests 250 Android apps

Between February and April, researchers from NowSecure put a total of 250 Android apps to the test. All applications were available on the Play store and were published by companies working in a variety of different industries. They were all put through NowSecure's mobile app sec security testing platform, which focuses on the storage and transmission of unencrypted personal information as well as the potential exposure to phishing attacks.

The disappointing results were put in an infographic and posted on NowSecure's website.

Many Android apps leak personal data

The Android ecosystem is not really known for its close attention to privacy and security. In fact, over the years, malware outbreaks and privacy issues have dealt some pretty significant blows to the reputation of Google's mobile operating system, and the fact that the search engine giant is struggling to keep malicious apps away from the official Play Store is not really helping.

Despite all this, users continue to trust Android applications with personally identifiable information, including names, usernames, emails, geolocation data, phone numbers, etc., and NowSecure found out that plenty of them are not doing that in a particularly safe manner.

In fact, of the 250 apps they tested, roughly 3 in 4 leaked personal data in some way.

Retail apps tend to be the worst offenders

Users treat different apps differently. For example, most people tend to get especially upset when e-commerce services get breached because this usually means that their financial information has been placed under threat. Those people won't be too happy to learn that, according to NowSecure's researchers, retail apps tend to be particularly prone to leaking personal data.

The experts didn't mention any names, but they did point out that some of the apps were coming from "online digital marketplaces and leading brick-and-mortar retailers". Of those, more than 80% were found to leak personal data, and for the apps that belong to online-only retailers, the percentage was even more terrifying – over 90%. In other words, if you're shopping through an Android mobile application, you are very likely to be inadvertently exposing your data. Mind you, the performance displayed by the rest of the apps tested by NowSecure wasn't exactly perfect, either.

69% of the applications that help us find insurance were leaking information. Roughly the same percentage (67%) of the apps we use to make our travel and holiday arrangements also expose data, and even though financial institutions are supposed to be under much heavier scrutiny, half of the finance apps NowSecure tested were also leaving users' details unprotected.

The researchers preferred not to name and shame the companies whose apps put users' data at risk, and we're not told whether or not the developers have been notified. NowSecure also decided not to reveal the precise nature of the information and how it can potentially be exposed to the world.

It's fair to say, however, that the figures they presented are scary enough as they are, which means that Android users should be as careful as ever when they're trusting applications with their personal data. Never give away more than is strictly necessary and always pay close attention to the permission new apps request.

December 2, 2019

Leave a Reply

IMPORTANT! To be able to proceed, you need to solve the following simple math.
Please leave these two fields as is:
What is 3 + 9 ?