您應該用來保護自己的智能手機中的10個基本安全設置

您上次查看手機的安全性設置是什麼時候?您是否覺得移動設備比計算機使用安全得多?嗯,網絡犯罪的發展速度與世界上其他一切事物一樣快,我們認為我們應該仔細研究智能手機中的基本安全設置,以提醒您在使用移動設備時也必須負責並保護數據。我們匯總了可用於使您的Android或iOS設備更安全的設置列表。

1.兩因素認證

無論您使用的是Android還是iOS移動設備,都可以啟用兩因素身份驗證來保護您的帳戶。如果您使用的是Android設備,則必須轉到手機設置中的Google部分,然後點擊Google帳戶菜單以管理該帳戶的安全設置。對於iOS,您需要訪問Apple ID設置,然後轉到“ 密碼和安全性”部分。在那裡,您可以啟用“雙重身份驗證”

2.生物特徵認證

兩因素身份驗證可能會大大提高設備的安全性,但是如果您的設備支持生物特徵身份驗證,則還應該考慮啟用生物特徵身份驗證。 iOS通常允許您使用生物識別身份驗證,例如指紋,語音或面部識別。 Android設備也是如此。使用Android 9.0及更高版本的大多數設備都將提供指紋ID選項。您可以通過設備的“ 安全性”設置菜單設置生物識別ID。

3.應用程序權限

並非一直都在強調它,但是每當您在設備上安裝新應用程序時,便會賦予該應用程序各種訪問數據,位置,攝像頭等的權限。所需的權限取決於應用程序應該執行的操作。但是,安全專家說,用戶應該警惕他們授予的權限,尤其是在它不是主流應用程序的情況下,而您只是在嘗試新的東西。例如,您安裝了一個簡單的日曆應用程序,但是它要求獲得訪問照片的權限。做什麼的?它真的需要您的照片來幫助您管理日程安排嗎?您應該經常提出這樣的問題,以確保您的安全設置不會受到損害。

4.減少應用程序的麻煩

話雖如此,您還應該考慮設備上安裝的應用程序數量。添加新應用非常容易,但是您使用它們的頻率是多少?不要忘記偶爾管理您的應用程序。如果您發現某個應用程序已經幾個月沒有使用過了,也許是時候刪除它了。許多應用程序使用cookie,即使您不再使用該程序,它們也將保留在其中。因此,最好將它們全部刪除。

5.更新

另一方面,無論您是否經常使用應用程序,都必須將每個應用程序更新為最新版本,以避免可能試圖利用應用程序漏洞的惡意攻擊。如果系統提示您更新應用程序,請不要忽略它,並立即進行操作。手機的操作系統也是如此。只要有最新的補丁程序,您就必須立即運行軟件更新,因為這些補丁程序可能附帶有助於應對網絡威脅的信息。

6.查找您的設備

調整安全性設置後,一切都會變得順滑如水,而且設備始終在您手中。但是,如果您輸了該怎麼辦?好吧,如果您使用Android,則可以使用並自動啟用“ 查找我的設備”應用程序,該應用程序允許用戶在地圖上遠程跟踪其手機或平板電腦。只要您的設備已鏈接到您的Google帳戶,就可以在啟用此功能的情況下對其進行跟踪。

對於Apple設備,您可以使用“ 查找我”應用程序,該應用程序允許用戶在iCloud上找到他們的設備。只要該應用程序已啟用並與Apple ID同步,就可以在地圖上看到該設備。因此,無論您將它丟到某個地方還是將其放在另一個房間的沙發上,您仍然可以找到該設備。

7.密碼主

好的,假設您丟失了設備就可以找到它,但是如果有人在進入設備之前成功解鎖了該怎麼辦?這不僅與設備有關,還與設備存儲的數據有關,對嗎?它必須受到保護。

密碼和PIN是智能手機上基本安全設置的一部分。即使啟用了雙重身份驗證和生物識別ID,您仍然需要多個密碼。此外,如果您在不同設備上使用相同的Google或Apple ID,則仍應使用不同的密碼保護它們。

針對不同設備提供強而獨特的密碼和PIN組合的最佳方法是採用密碼管理器。例如,諸如Cyclonis Password Manager之類的東西很容易為您的設備生成並存儲強密碼。如果您想了解它是如何工作的,請不要猶豫,試用30天免費試用版

8.當心Wi-Fi

而且,如果我們談論的是密碼,請不要忘記您不應該自動連接到Wi-Fi網絡,因為有可能被欺騙連接到惡意無線接入點。如果您在學校裡,這可能不是什麼大問題,並且在切換安全設置以連接到Wi-Fi網絡時必須經歷極其漫長的驗證過程,但這不應該應用於快餐食品聯合或咖啡館的Wi-Fi。關閉該自動加入功能。

9.飛行模式

這似乎是一個非常奇怪的安全設置選項,但事實是,網絡犯罪分子在關閉或設置為飛行模式後無法訪問您的移動設備。因此,一些安全專家建議您在需要停機時將移動設備切換到飛行模式。兩隻鳥只有一塊石頭:沒人能打擾您,您的設備和數據也受到保護,不會被潛在利用。

10.緊急聯絡人

儘管數據和設備保護可能真的很重要,但您也必須注意自己的安全。為此,您可以將緊急聯繫人添加到您的移動設備。對於Android設備,您需要通過系統設置訪問“ 用戶和帳戶 ”,然後在此處找到“ 緊急信息”部分。在某些Android版本中,可以通過“ 關於電話”部分訪問設置。

對於iOS,可以通過點擊“個人資料”圖片,通過“ 健康”應用程序添加緊急聯繫人。如果點擊Medical ID ,您將能夠編輯和添加緊急聯繫人。之後,您可以在設備上設置緊急SOS自動呼叫功能,或更改鎖定屏幕消息設置以在每次打開鎖定屏幕時顯示緊急聯繫人。

總而言之,您可以使用大量安全設置提示來確保設備和數據的安全以及人身安全。第一步始終是對您使用設備的方式負責。

September 2, 2020

發表評論

10 Essential Security Settings in Smartphones You Should Use to Protect Yourself

When was the last time you reviewed your phone’s security settings? Do you get the impression that your mobile device is a lot safer to use than your computer? Well, cybercrime evolves just as fast as everything else in this world, and we feel we should go through essential security settings in smartphones to remind you that you have to be responsible and protect your data when you use your mobile device, too. We compiled a list of settings you can employ to make your Android or iOS device safer.

1. Two-factor authentication

Whether you’re using an Android or an iOS mobile device, you can enable two-factor authentication to protect your account. If you’re on an Android device, you have to go over to the Google section in your phone’s settings and then tap the Google Account menu to manage the account’s security settings. For iOS, you need to access Apple ID Settings and go to the Password & Security section. When you’re there, you can turn on Two-Factor Authentication.

2. Biometric authentication

Two-factor authentication might dramatically increase your device’s security, but you should also consider enabling biometric authentication if your device supports that. iOS usually allows you to employ such biometric authentication as fingerprint, voice, or facial recognition. The same goes for Android devices, too. Most of the devices that use Android 9.0 and higher will have the fingerprint ID option available. You can set a biometric ID through your device’s Security settings menu.

3. App permissions

It’s not emphasized all the time, but whenever you install a new app on your device, you give the app various permissions to access your data, location, camera, and so on. The required permissions depend on what the app is supposed to do. However, security experts say that users should be wary of the permissions they give, especially if it’s not a mainstream app, and you’re just trying out something new. For instance, you install a simple calendar app, but it asks for permission to access your photos. What for? Does it really need your photos to help you manage your schedule? You should always raise such questions to make sure that your security settings are not compromised.

4. Fewer apps less trouble

Having that said, you should also consider the number of apps that are installed on your device. It’s very easy to add new apps, but just how often are you using them? Don’t forget to manage your apps once in a while. If you see that some app hasn’t been used for a few months, maybe it’s time to delete it. A lot of apps employ cookies, and they remain there even if you no longer use the program. So, it’s better to remove them altogether.

5. Updates

On the other hand, whether you use an app often or not, every single one of them has to be updated to the latest version to avoid malicious attacks that might try to exploit an app vulnerability. If you are prompted to update an app, don’t ignore it, and do it right away. The same goes for your phone’s operating system. As soon as the newest patch is available, you have to run a software update at once because these patches may come with information that helps deal with cyber threats.

6. Find Your Device

It’s all nice and peachy when you have your security settings tweaked, and your device is always in your hand. But what if you lose it? Well, if you use Android, you can use and automatically enable the Find My Device application that allows users to remotely track their mobile phones or tablets on a map. As long as your device is linked to your Google account, you can keep track of it with this feature turned on.

For Apple devices, you can use the Find My app that allows users to locate their devices on iCloud. As long as the app is enabled and synced with the Apple ID, it is possible to see the device on the map. So, whether you lose it somewhere or simply leave it on a sofa in another room, you can still find the device.

7. Password master

Okay, let’s say you can find your device when it’s lost, but what if someone manages to unlock it before you get to it? It’s not just about the device, but also the data it stores, right? It has to remain protected.

Passwords and PINs are part of essential security settings on smartphones. Even if you enable two-factor authentication and biometric IDs, you still need multiple passwords. What’s more, if you use the same Google or Apple ID across different devices, you should still protect them with different passwords.

The best way to come up with strong and unique passwords and PIN combinations for different devices is by employing a password manager. For example, something like Cyclonis Password Manager would easily generate and store strong passwords for your devices. If you want to find out how it works, don’t hesitate to try out the FREE 30-day Trial.

8. Beware of Wi-Fi

And if we’re talking about passwords, let’s not forget that you shouldn’t auto-connect to Wi-Fi networks because there is a chance of being tricked into connecting to a rogue wireless access point. Perhaps it’s not much of an issue if you’re at school, and you have to go through an extremely long verification process while toggling your security settings to connect to the Wi-Fi network, but that shouldn’t be applied to a fast food joint or a café Wi-Fi. Turn that auto-join function off.

9. Airplane mode

This might seem like a rather odd security settings option, but the truth is that cybercriminals cannot access your mobile device when it’s turned off or set to airplane mode. Therefore, some security experts suggest switching the mobile device to the airplane mode when you want some downtime. It’s two birds with one stone: no one can disturb you and your device and data get protected from potential exploitation.

10. Emergency contacts

While data and device protection might be really important, you have to take care of your own safety, too. For that, you can add emergency contacts to your mobile device. For Android devices, you need to access Users & Accounts via the system settings, and there you should find the Emergency Information section. In some Android versions, the settings can be accessed through the About Phone section.

For iOS, emergency contacts can be added via the Health app by tapping your profile picture. If you tap the Medical ID, you will be able to edit and add emergency contacts. After that, you can set the Emergency SOS auto call function on your device or change the lock screen message settings to display your emergency contacts whenever you turn on your lock screen.

All in all, there are tons of security settings tips you can employ to ensure your device and data security, and personal safety. The first step is always being responsible about the way you use your device.

September 2, 2020

Leave a Reply