在不安全的服務器上發現了12億條私有數據記錄

1.2 billion people affected by a data leak

那些對網絡安全抱有濃厚興趣的人不會驚訝地發現研究人員披露了發現另一台擁有大量個人信息的全開放式服務器的發現。這次,洩漏的規模絕對令人難以置信,但是比這更令人失望的是,當您確切地了解發生了什麼時,您會發現此事件是多麼不可避免。

研究人員在不安全的Elasticsearch服務器上發現4TB的個人信息

10月16日,Vinny Troia和Bob Diachenko 偶然發現了一台不受密碼保護的Elasticsearch服務器,任何擁有瀏覽器並且知道瀏覽位置的人都可以訪問該服務器。兩者對於這種事情並不陌生。實際上,尤其鮑勃·迪亞琴科(Bob Diachenko )負責披露許多類似的漏洞。不過,即使在這種特定情況下,他也為所公開的數據量感到震驚。

該數據庫的容量高達4TB,擁有龐大的40億個帳戶。雖然有很多重複項,但是即使刪除了重複項,研究人員仍在查看超過12億個人的個人記錄。數據庫中的索引不一致,並且公開的數據因記錄而異。在處理了這些信息之後,專家們發現開放的Elasticsearch服務器除其他外具有以下優點:

  • 超過十億個個人電子郵件地址。
  • 超過4億個電話號碼。
  • 超過4.2億個LinkedIn URL。
  • 超過10億個Facebook URL和帳戶ID以及與用戶的社交媒體狀態相關的其他數據。

該數據庫不包含任何信用卡詳細信息,社會安全號碼或密碼,但受影響的個人仍應注意身份盜竊和欺詐的跡象。 Diachenko和Troia與Troy Hunt共享了洩漏的數據,Troy Hunt將其加載到了“我已被擁有”數據洩露警報服務中,這意味著您可以去那裡檢查是否受到洩漏的影響。

毋庸置疑,安全研究人員一發現信息,便採取了必要步驟將其離線。聯邦調查局已被告知,但在執法機構採取行動之前,該數據庫被關閉了,大概是由其所有者關閉的。無法確定數據何時首次出現在Elasticsearch服務器上,以及誰在暴露數據時訪問了它。

誰該怪?

數據庫中的每個記錄都有一個標記為“源”的字段,其中的值為“ PDL”或“ Oxy”。 “ PDL”代表People Data Labs,“ Oxy”來自Oxydata。 People Data Labs和Oxydata是收集所有這些記錄的兩家數據充實公司。

數據充實公司的業務圍繞收集盡可能多的有關您的公開信息,並根據發現的信息創建詳細的配置文件。然後,此配置文件以及數百萬個其他配置文件被出售給願意支付預定費用的任何人。 People Data Labs和Oxydata確實收集了信息。不過,這並不意味著他們洩漏了它。

發現洩漏後,Vinny Troia與Wired的Lily Hay Newman分享了他的發現,後者報告了暴露情況,並與People Data Labs和Oxydata聯繫,詢問他們對此有何看法。兩家公司承認,它們可能是數據庫中存儲信息的最終來源,但是他們都堅持認為自己沒有遭受數據洩露。

People Data Labs和Oxydata的客戶極有可能為所有這些信息付費,將其放在單個數據庫中,然後將其留在配置錯誤的Elasticsearch服務器上。 Oxydata代表Martynas Simanauskas告訴Wired,他的公司與客戶簽訂了旨在確保安全處理數據的協議。但是,即使他也承認,一旦客戶掌握了信息,防止濫用的選擇就幾乎不存在了。

這是特洛伊·亨特(Troy Hunt)專門針對此次曝光的博客文章中的主要話題。不幸的事實是,諸如People Data Labs和Oxydata之類的數據充實公司將繼續從任何地方找到我們的個人信息。他們還將繼續出售它,為此買單的人和組織將不可避免地時不時地將其暴露在外。不管我們是否喜歡,我們的數據都會被收集,組織和復制多次,並且可以安全拔出以太網電纜並像1960年一樣生活,我們對此幾乎無能為力。考慮到所有這一切,這種特殊的洩漏並沒有很快發生的事實實際上是令人驚訝的。

November 27, 2019

發表評論

重要!若要繼續到下一步,請完成以下簡單的數學問題。
Please leave these two fields as is:
2 + 3是什麼?

1.2 Billion Private Data Records Have Been Found on an Unsecured Server

1.2 billion people affected by a data leak

Those of you with an active interest in cybersecurity won't be too surprised to find out that researchers have disclosed the discovery of yet another wide-open server that held a massive amount of personal information. This time, the scale of the leak is absolutely mind-boggling, but what is even more disappointing than that is the fact that when you learn what happened exactly, you'll see just how inevitable this incident was.

Researchers discover 4TB of personal information on an unsecured Elasticsearch server

On October 16, Vinny Troia and Bob Diachenko stumbled upon an Elasticsearch server that was not protected by a password and was accessible to anyone who had a browser and knew where to look. The two are not new to this sort of thing. In fact, Bob Diachenko, in particular, is responsible for the disclosure of quite a few similar leaks. Even he was rather shocked by the size of the exposed data in this particular instance, though.

The database weighed in at a whopping 4TB, and it held a massive 4 billion accounts. There were quite a few duplicates, but even after removing them, the researchers were looking at the personal records of over 1.2 billion individuals. The indexes in the database weren't uniform, and the exposed data varied from record to record. After processing the information, the experts found out that the open Elasticsearch server held, among other things:

  • More than 1 billion personal email addresses.
  • More than 400 million phone numbers.
  • More than 420 million LinkedIn URLs.
  • More than 1 billion Facebook URLs and account IDs as well as other data related to users' social media presence.

The database didn't contain any credit card details, Social Security Numbers, or passwords, but affected individuals should still be on the lookout for any signs of identity theft and fraud. Diachenko and Troia shared the leaked data with Troy Hunt, who loaded it into the Have I Been Pwned data breach alert service, which means that you can go there and check whether or not you have been affected by the leak.

Needless to say, as soon as they discovered the information, the security researchers took the necessary steps to bring it offline. The FBI was informed, but before the law enforcement agencies could take action, the database was brought down, presumably by its owner. It's impossible to say when the data appeared on the Elasticsearch server for the first time and who accessed it while it was exposed.

Who is to blame?

Every single one of the records in a database had a field labeled "source", and the value in it was either "PDL" or "Oxy". "PDL" stands for People Data Labs, and "Oxy" comes from Oxydata. People Data Labs and Oxydata are the two data enrichment companies that collected all these records.

The business of a data enrichment company revolves around collecting as much publicly available information about you as possible and creating a detailed profile based on what it finds. This profile, along with millions of others, is then sold to anyone willing to pay a predetermined fee. People Data Labs and Oxydata did indeed collect the information. This doesn't mean that they leaked it, though.

After discovering the leak, Vinny Troia shared his findings with Wired's Lily Hay Newman, who reported the exposure and contacted People Data Labs and Oxydata to ask them what they think of it. The two companies admitted that they might be the ultimate source of the information that was put in the database, but they both insisted that they hadn't suffered a data breach.

In all likelihood, a customer of People Data Labs and Oxydata paid for all this information, put it in a single database, and left it on the misconfigured Elasticsearch server. Martynas Simanauskas, an Oxydata representative, told Wired that his company has agreements with his clients designed to ensure that the data is processed securely. Even he admitted, however, that once the client has the information, the options for preventing misuse are more or less non-existent.

This was the main talking point in Troy Hunt's blog post dedicated to the exposure. The unfortunate fact of the matter is that data enrichment companies like People Data Labs and Oxydata will continue to scrape our personal information from wherever they can find it. They'll also continue to sell it, and the people and organizations who pay for it will inevitably leave it exposed every now and then. Regardless of whether we like it or not, our data is collected, organized, and copied many times, and safe for unplugging the ethernet cable and living like it's 1960 again, there is more or less nothing we can do about it. Considering all this, the fact that this particular leak didn't happen sooner is actually quite surprising.

November 27, 2019

Leave a Reply

IMPORTANT! To be able to proceed, you need to solve the following simple math.
Please leave these two fields as is:
What is 10 + 9 ?