约克大学的教职员工和学生面临数据泄露,泄露许多个人详细信息

University of York's Third-Party Data Breach

星期二,约克大学在其网站上发布了一条通知 ,通知工作人员,学生和校友其数据可能已被泄露。该事件发生在5月,涉及个人详细信息,例如姓名和出生日期,联系方式,例如电话,电子邮件地址和LinkedIn个人资料,以及与受害者的学术活动有关的大量数据。

受影响的个人数量仍然未知,但是约克大学向我们保证,在违反期间没有任何信用卡信息被盗。即便如此,身份盗窃对于相关人员而言还是非常真实的,而他们唯一可以保护他们的就是网络犯罪分子的诚实。

违规发生在第三方

约克大学的IT系统从未受到损害。这次袭击是针对一个叫布莱克波特大学的伙伴。 Blackbaud是面向学术组织和非营利组织的客户关系管理(CRM)解决方案的提供商,并且在7月16日发布有关此违规行为的公开声明

CRM提供商宣布,在五月份,它遭到了勒索软件攻击,然后继续解释其反应。显然,Blackbaud很快就检测到了入侵,并在网络安全专家的帮助下成功地将攻击者驱逐出局。尽管有闪电般的反应,骗子还是设法从一些数据中脱颖而出,包括约克大学学生和教职员工的个人和联系方式。

布莱克波特支付了赎金

Blackbaud在开始进行通知时首先解释了网络犯罪行业的规模,然后继续告诉我们它是如何做到这一点的。由于Blackbaud的快速反应,黑客未能加密任何文件。他们确实拥有了被盗的数据,但是自然而然地,他们决定将其用作勒索手段。

事实证明,这是一个好主意。 Blackbaud在其通知中承认,它支付了未指定金额的赎金。

支付赎金是一个好主意吗?

从表面上看,支付赎金是一件非常崇高的事情。实际上,CRM提供商剥夺了一些来之不易的利润,以确保其客户的数据不会被滥用。

不幸的是,不能保证数据实际上是安全的。据布莱克波特说,在支付了赎金之后,网络罪犯“证实”了他们窃取的数据副本已被删除。不幸的是,Blackbaud和数据遭到泄露的人们别无选择,只能接受骗子的话。鉴于我们正在谈论一群残酷的网络犯罪分子,很难信任他们,这就是为什么仍然建议约克大学的学生,教职员工和校友注意防止身份盗用的迹象。

July 23, 2020

发表评论

Staff and Students at the University of York Face a Data Breach That Leaked Many Personal Details

University of York's Third-Party Data Breach

On Tuesday, The University of York posted a notification on its website with which it informed staff, students, and alumni that their data may have been breached. The incident happened in May, and it involved personal details like names and dates of birth, contact information like phones, email addresses, and LinkedIn profiles, as well as quite a lot of data related to the victims' academic activities.

The number of affected individuals remains unknown, but the University of York assured us that no credit card information was stolen during the breach. Even so, the potential for identity theft is very real for the people involved, and the only thing they can rely on to protect them is the cybercriminals' honesty.

The breach happened at a third party

University of York's IT systems were never compromised. The attack was aimed at a partner of the university called Blackbaud. Blackbaud is a provider of Customer Relationship Management (CRM) solutions to academic and not-for-profit organizations, and on July 16, it issued a public statement on the breach.

The CRM provider announced that in May, it got hit by a ransomware attack, and it then went on to explain how it reacted. Apparently, Blackbaud detected the intrusion quickly, and with the help of cybersecurity specialists, it managed to kick the attackers out. Despite the lightning reactions, the crooks managed to make off with some data, including the personal and contact details of University of York students and staff.

Blackbaud paid the ransom

Blackbaud started its notification with an explanation of how big the cybercrime industry is, and it then proceeded to tell us how it did its little thing to support it. Thanks to Blackbaud's quick reaction, the hackers failed to encrypt any files. They did have the stolen data with them, however, and, naturally enough, they decided to use it as leverage for extortion.

As it turns out, this was a good idea. Blackbaud admitted in its notification that it paid a ransom of an unspecified amount.

Was paying the ransom such a good idea?

On the face of it, paying the ransom is a very noble thing to do. In effect, the CRM provider deprives itself of some of its hard-earned profits in order to ensure that its customers' data doesn't get misused.

Unfortunately, there can be no assurance that the data is actually safe. According to Blackbaud, after the ransom was paid, the cybercriminals provided "a confirmation" that the copy of the data they had stolen was deleted. Unfortunately, both Blackbaud and the people whose data was compromised have no other choice but to take the crooks' word for it. Given that we're talking about a group of ruthless cybercriminals, it's difficult to trust them, which is why the University of York's students, staff, and alumni are still advised to be on the lookout for any signs of identity theft.

July 23, 2020

Leave a Reply