研究人员正在敦促组织加强密码以防御系统自发传播的Lucifer恶意软件

Lucifer Self-Propagating Malware

我们将要讨论的自我传播的恶意软件应该被称为Satan,但由于已经有一个同名勒索软件家族,Palo Alto Networks的研究人员决定将其命名为Lucifer。恶意软件的作者对此颇为恼火,这就是为什么我们坚持使用新名称。

Palo Alto Networks的Unit 42在5月下旬发现了该恶意软件,当时它注意到Lavarel Framework中一个已知的远程执行代码漏洞的利用数量有所增加。经过初步调查,专家得出结论,路西法以发动分布式拒绝服务(DDoS)攻击的能力以及配备的大量漏洞而著称。然而,6月11日,Lucifer的作者发布了该恶意软件的第二个版本,并展示了其真正的潜力。

路西法能够将加密劫持和DDoS攻击结合在一起

当Lucifer危害企业网络中的计算机后,它会通过发送有关主机的一些详细信息来通知命令和控制服务器(C&C)。建立成功的感染后,C&C可以发送多个命令之一。

正如我们已经提到的,该恶意软件在向世界展示其能够发起DDoS攻击的能力时首先引起了研究人员的注意。但是,当专家们更加仔细地检查与C&C的通信时,他们注意到可以指示Lucifer也将XMRig放在主机上。

XMRig是一种旨在生成Monero的加密货币挖掘工具,加密货币爱好者完全合法地使用了它。然而,由于易于部署及其开源特性,它在加密劫持攻击的兴起中也发挥了关键作用。

去年,非法使用他人的计算机资源来生成数字硬币的行为已取代勒索软件,成为网络犯罪中最多产的一种形式,XMRig参与了很大比例的攻击。就路西法而言,XMRig矿机已经设法为其运营商带来了价值超过3万美元的门罗币,这应该让您了解为什么它在网络犯罪分子中如此受欢迎。

DDoS业务的收益目前尚不得而知,但是可以说,通过将Lucifer用于两个单独的攻击媒介,黑客正加倍从恶意软件中牟取暴利的机会。话虽如此,成功的加密劫持和DDoS运动依赖于大量受感染的计算机,必须说骗子也对此进行了思考。

路西法瞄准脆弱的系统

除五月下旬利用的Lavarel Framework漏洞外,Lucifer还能够利用Oracle,Apache和Microsoft的应用程序中的许多其他安全漏洞。

成功破坏一台计算机后,它会扫描打开的TCP端口以尝试查找潜在的新目标,如果它确实找到了具有不安全网络配置的设备,则会使用默认用户名以及常用密码列表进行尝试和发现。如果启用了服务器消息块(SMB)协议,则可以通过EternalBlue,EternalRomance和DoublePulsar攻击目标,这三种漏洞是在2017年泄露的,据称是由NSA开发的。

自我传播机制,再加上第二版恶意软件中添加的检测逃避技术,将路西法变成了强大的威胁。具有讽刺意味的是,整个操作取决于一些最简单的错误,不幸的是,这些错误非常普遍。

Lucifer的漏洞利用针对厂商几年前修补的已知漏洞。但是,显然,目标组织不必费心应用安全更新。他们也没有对设备的网络配置给予足够的重视,而且经常通过使用默认密码或弱密码不经意间使计算机面临风险。

这就是为什么像Lucifer这样的恶意软件家族如此成功的原因,这就是为什么专家无法屏息警告用户有关忽略安全性的危险。

June 25, 2020

发表评论

Researchers Are Urging Organizations to Strengthen Passwords to Defend Systems Against the Self-Propagating Lucifer Malware

Lucifer Self-Propagating Malware

The self-propagating malware we're about to discuss was supposed to be called Satan, but because there's already a ransomware family going by the same name, Palo Alto Networks' researchers decided to call it Lucifer. The malware's author is probably rather annoyed by the new namw, which is why we'll stick with it.

Palo Alto Networks' Unit 42 discovered the malware in late-May when it noticed an increase in the number of exploitations of a known remote code execution vulnerability in the Lavarel Framework. After the initial investigation, the experts concluded that Lucifer is notable for its ability to launch Distributed Denial of Service (DDoS) attacks and for the large number of exploits it was equipped with. On June 11, however, Lucifer's authors launched a second version of the malware and showcased its true potential.

Lucifer is capable of a combination of cryptojacking and DDoS attacks

After it compromises a computer on a corporate network, Lucifer notifies the Command and Control server (C&C) by sending some details about the host machine. Once the successful infection has been established, the C&C can send one of several commands.

As we mentioned already, the malware first caught the researchers' attention when it showed the world that it's capable of mounting DDoS attacks. When the experts examined the communication with the C&C more closely, however, they noticed that Lucifer can be instructed to drop XMRig on the host machine as well.

XMRig is a cryptocurrency mining tool designed to generate Monero, and it's used completely legitimately by cryptocurrency enthusiasts. Thanks to the easy deployment and its open-source nature, however, it has also played a key role in the rise of cryptojacking attacks.

Last year, the act of illegally using other people's computer resources to generate digital coins overtook ransomware as the most prolific form of cybercrime, and XMRig was involved in a large percentage of the attacks. In the case of Lucifer, the XMRig miner has already managed to bring its operators more than $30 thousand worth of Monero, which should give you an idea of why it's so popular with cybercriminals.

The proceeds from the DDoS business are unknown for now, but it's fair to say that by using Lucifer for two separate attack vectors, the hackers are doubling their chances of making a serious profit from the malware. That being said, successful cryptojacking and DDoS campaigns rely on vast numbers of infected computers, and it must be said that the crooks have thought about that as well.

Lucifer targets vulnerable systems

In addition to the Lavarel Framework vulnerability that it exploited in late-May, Lucifer is also capable of taking advantage of a number of other security flaws in applications from Oracle, Apache, and Microsoft.

After a successful compromise of one computer, it scans for open TCP ports in an attempt to locate potential new targets, and if it does find devices with unsecure network configuration, it uses a default username along with a list of commonly used passwords to try and brute-force its way in. If the Server Message Block (SMB) protocol is enabled, targets can be attacked via EternalBlue, EternalRomance, and DoublePulsar – three exploits that were leaked in 2017 and were allegedly developed by the NSA.

The self-propagation mechanisms, coupled with the detection evasion techniques that were added to the second version of the malware, turn Lucifer into a formidable threat. Ironically enough, however, the whole operation is dependent on some of the simplest mistakes that, unfortunately, are extremely common.

Lucifer's exploits target known vulnerabilities that the vendors have patched years ago. Clearly, however, the targeted organizations can't be bothered to apply the security updates. They don't pay enough attention to their devices' network configuration, either, and far too often, they unwittingly put their computers at risk by using default or weak passwords.

That's why malware families like Lucifer are so successful, and that's why experts can't catch their breath warning users about the dangers of neglecting security.

June 25, 2020

Leave a Reply