如何保護自己免受新的Office 365語音郵件網絡釣魚詐騙

如今,幾乎沒有有用的在線服務或平台,惡意行為者也沒有嘗試過利用它們進行欺詐,例如Office 365語音郵件欺詐浪潮。

Office 365是一個便捷的平台,為用戶提供了使用傳統的MS Office應用程序(如Word,Excel,PowerPoint等)的機會。它是一項精美的服務,非常方便且組合在一起,這就是為什麼它在企業中非常受歡迎的原因和專業人士。這種流行大概是為什麼它被黑客用作誘餌來進行惡意攻擊的原因。

在這種特殊情況下,黑客利用Office 365在普通用戶中的良好信譽來發起相當有效的網絡釣魚活動。用戶和IT安全專家的報告記錄了據稱來自Office 365但實際上是偽造的可疑電子郵件。這些電子郵件聲稱用戶錯過了一個電話,並提供了指向似乎是語音郵件文件的鏈接。但是,此鏈接不會將用戶帶到遠程安全的任何地方–如果單擊該鏈接,將最終到達一個偽造的頁面,要求他們登錄到Office365。一旦用戶這樣做,該頁面就會獲取該用戶非常有用的信息。只需提供並將其發送給網絡釣魚攻擊的作者,而將用戶重定向到實際的Office 365。

儘管還不是完整的證據,但就網絡釣魚攻擊而言,該系統還是經過深思熟慮和完善的。據研究此特定惡意攻擊活動的IT專家稱,使用了三種不同的網絡釣魚工具來進行Office 365語音郵件詐騙-即Voicemail Scmpage 2019,Office 365 Information Hollar和另一種(尚未命名)。這些工具包使惡意行為者可以誘騙用戶,以欺騙用戶的各種憑據,例如電子郵件和密碼,以及IP地址和位置。

現在,了解IT安全性的人可能永遠不會成為此類攻擊的受害者。遵守基本的勤奮和警惕足以保護用戶免受此類嘗試的侵害–如果知道要尋找的內容,那麼確保自己免受類似嘗試的傷害就變得微不足道。為了確保安全,您需要執行以下操作:

如何保護自己免受新的Office 365語音郵件網絡釣魚詐騙的侵害

  1. 始終對未經請求的電子郵件保持懷疑。如果您不知道電子郵件來源,即使乍一看似乎合法或重要,也應謹慎行事。
  2. 始終檢查電子郵件的來源。詐騙者可能不錯,但有其局限性,不能做的事情之一就是從他們要冒充的公司的官方電子郵件地址發送電子郵件。電子郵件的可疑來源是一種惡作劇,毫無用處。
  3. 警惕可疑的附件。這是另一個明顯的危險信號–混淆的鏈接,或未直接鏈接到顯然已向您發送電子郵件的實體主頁的鏈接,很可能是網絡攻擊的根源。
  4. 使用常識。大多數公司都不習慣於向用戶發送未經請求的電子郵件。考慮一下您所接受的內容的背景–為什麼所有人中的Office 365都會為您提供語音郵件?考慮一下,這實際上沒有多大意義。為何需要重新輸入您的帳戶詳細信息?此外,儘管某些惡意行為者可能試圖通過外觀精美的電子郵件誘騙受害者,但他們可以拋光該誘餌的數量卻受到限制。結果,對於一般的“尊敬的用戶”或“尊敬的客戶”,他們的電子郵件像大拇指一樣疼痛。請記住,該公司已經有了您的帳戶信息-該公司將在您的信件中使用您給他們提供的名稱。
December 12, 2019

How to Protect Yourself From New Office 365 Voicemail Phishing Scams

Nowadays, there’s hardly a useful online service or platform that malicious actors have not tried to exploit for scamming purposes — case in point – the wave of Office 365 voicemail scams.

Office 365 is a handy platform, providing its users the opportunity to employ traditional MS Office applications such as Word, Excel, PowerPoint, etc. It is a polished service, very convenient and well put together – which is why it is quite popular among businesses and working professionals. This popularity is presumably why it has been used as a bait for malicious attacks by hackers.

In this particular case, the hackers used Office 365’s popularity good standing with the general user to launch a rather efficient phishing campaign. Users and IT security specialist reports documented suspicious emails that purported to originate from Office 365, but were in fact fake. The emails claimed that the user had missed a phone call and helpfully provided a link to what appeared to be a voicemail file. This link, however, does not take the user anywhere remotely safe – if clicked, one ends up on a fake page asking them to log in to Office 365. Once the user does so, the page grabs the information the user was so helpful to just provide and sends it to the phishing attack’s author, while the user is re-directed to the actual Office 365.

While not full proof, the system is rather well thought out and polished, as far as phishing attacks go. According to IT specialists that researched this particular campaign of malicious attacks, three different phishing kits were used to conduct the Office 365 voicemail scams - namely Voicemail Scmpage 2019, Office 365 Information Hollar, and another, yet unnamed one. These kits allowed the malicious actors to phish for various credentials of tricked users, such as email and password, but also IP Address and Location.

Now, someone who’s in the know about IT security would probably never fall victim to such an attack. Observing basic diligence and vigilance is enough to protect a user from such attempts – and if one knows what to look for, keeping yourself safe from similar attempts on your safety becomes trivial. Here’s what you need to do in order to stay safe:

How to Protect Yourself From the new Office 365 Voicemail Phishing Scam

  1. Always be suspicious of unsolicited emails. If you don’t know an emails source, you should proceed with caution with regard to it, even though it may at first glance appear legitimate or important.
  2. Always check the source of the email. Scammers may be good, but they have their limitations, and one of the things they can’t do is send an email from the official mail address of the company they are impersonating. A suspicious source for an email is a dead giveaway that it’s a hoax.
  3. Be wary of suspicious attachments. This is another glaring red flag – obfuscated links, or those that do not lead directly to the main page of the entity that has apparently sent you the email are probably the hook of a cyber-attack.
  4. Use common sense. Most companies are not in the habit of sending unsolicited emails to their users. Think about the context of what you’re being fed – why would Office 365, of all people, have a voicemail for you? That doesn’t really make much sense when you think about it. And why would you need to re-enter your account details? Additionally, while some malicious actors may try to bait victims with sophisticated-looking emails, there are limitations to how much they can polish that bait. As a result, their emails stick like a sore thumb for their generic “dear user” or “dear customer” beginning. Remember, the company in question already has your account information – the company in question would have used the name you’ve given them in their correspondence.
December 12, 2019

Leave a Reply