一名被稱為“ Sanix”的黑客已被鎖定,用於盜取7.73億用戶名和密碼

Sanix Arrested

顯然,一些網絡犯罪分子認為,在暱稱後面隱藏足以欺騙執法人員並逃避司法。正如一個稱為“ Sanix”的人可以告訴您的那樣,這種策略並不總是有效。

昨天, 烏克蘭安全局 (SBU)宣布,一個生活在東歐國家伊凡諾-弗蘭科夫斯克地區的年輕人正躲在Sanix綽號的後面。在拘留他之後,SBU搜尋了Sanix的家,並找到了許多有罪的證據。現在說事情如何發展還為時過早,但是看起來這個年輕的黑客正處在麻煩的世界中。讓我們看看他是如何使自己處於這種情況的。

Sanix和Collection#1數據庫

Sanix在2019年初變得臭名昭著,當時他參加了一個地下論壇,並宣布他正在出售當時被稱為“大型違規”的東西。他試圖轉移的數據庫稱為Collection#1 ,它的確看起來非常可怕。

HaveIBeenPwned的創建者Troy Hunt擁有多達27億行的記錄,這是有史以來最大的數據轉儲,它不可避免地引起了主流媒體的關注。但是,仔細檢查後發現,數據轉儲沒有開始時那樣糟糕。

首先,特洛伊·亨特(Troy Hunt)在Collection#1數據庫中發現了大量重複項和垃圾,清除後,他最終獲得了7.73億個唯一電子郵件地址和大約2100萬個公開密碼。它並不是很小,但是與最初的估計相比,它看起來並不那麼恐怖。後來, 布萊恩·克雷布斯Brian Krebs)揭示了數據的來源,很明顯Sanix實際試圖出售什麼。

Collection#1數據庫中的數據是從許多舊違規中匯總而來的

Sanix並未盜用Collection#1數據庫中的任何用戶名和密碼。取而代之的是,數據在許多不同的違規期間被洩漏,並且只是在一個大型數據庫中進行了組織。布賴恩·克雷布斯(Brian Krebs)的調查無法確定憑據的確切來源,但他相當有信心所洩露的信息已經很久了。換句話說,Sanix試圖轉移可能無效的憑據。

布萊恩·克雷布斯(Brian Krebs)並不是唯一揭示黑客交易行為的人。根據Recorded Future的說法,Sanix甚至沒有創建Collection#1數據庫。顯然,負責將所有數據匯總在一起的人員稱為C0rpz。 C0rpz將其出售給Sanix,後者隨後試圖將其轉售。為此,Sanix被禁止進入地下論壇,而C0rpz決定免費共享數據。

Sanix在許多網絡犯罪活動中發揮了作用

集合1與Sanix試圖出售的唯一數據庫相距甚遠。 SBU的代理商顯然發現了證據,表明該黑客是被洩露數據的非常活躍的交易者。在他的計算機上,他們發現了近TB的被盜信息,包括電子郵件和PayPal登錄憑據,加密貨幣錢包,PIN碼,銀行卡以及可能使黑客發起DDoS攻擊的信息。 Sanix有幾種收入來源,也許並不奇怪,執法人員還在他的家中發現了大約1萬美元的現金。

希望Sanix能夠得到應有的報酬,並且將來他將努力保持法律的正確性。不幸的是,烏克蘭的SBU設法捕獲了相對較小的魚,實際上並沒有造成太大的破壞。規模較大的網絡犯罪分子通常會更加謹慎,可悲的是,抓住他們是一個更高的要求。

May 20, 2020

發表評論

A Hacker Known as 'Sanix' Has Been Pinned for 773 Million Stolen Usernames and Passwords

Sanix Arrested

Clearly, some cybercriminals think that hiding behind a nickname is enough to fool law enforcement and evade justice. As a person known as 'Sanix' can tell you, however, this strategy doesn't always work.

Yesterday, the Security Service of Ukraine (SBU) announced that a young man living in the Ivano-Frankivsk region in the east European country was hiding behind the Sanix moniker. After detaining him, the SBU searched through Sanix's home and found plenty of incriminating evidence. It's still way too early to say how things will unfold, but it looks like the young hacker is in a world of trouble. Let's see how he got himself in that situation.

Sanix and the Collection #1 database

Sanix rose to infamy in early 2019, when he went on one of the underground forums and announced that he is selling what was described at the time as a "megabreach." The database he was trying to shift was called Collection #1, and it did look pretty scary.

With as many as 2.7 billion rows, it was the biggest data dump Troy Hunt, the creator of HaveIBeenPwned, had ever seen, and it inevitably caught the attention of mainstream media. A closer examination, however, revealed that the data dump wasn't as bad as it appeared at first.

First, Troy Hunt found a lot of duplicates and junk inside the Collection #1 database, and after clearing it, he ended up with 773 million unique email addresses, and about 21 million exposed passwords. It wasn't exactly small, but compared to the initial estimations, it looked a lot less horrifying. Later, Brian Krebs revealed the origin of the data, and it became clear what Sanix was actually trying to sell.

The data in the Collection #1 database was aggregated from numerous old breaches

Sanix didn't steal any of the usernames and passwords in the Collection #1 database. Instead, the data had been leaked during a number of different breaches and was simply organized in one massive database. Brian Krebs' investigation couldn't identify the exact sources of the credentials, but he was fairly confident that the compromised information was quite old. In other words, Sanix was trying to shift credentials that were likely invalid.

Brian Krebs wasn't the only one revealing the hacker's trade practices. According to Recorded Future, Sanix didn't even create the Collection #1 database. Apparently, the person responsible for putting all that data together is known as C0rpz. C0rpz sold it to Sanix, who then tried to resell it. For that, Sanix was banned from the underground forum, and C0rpz decided to share the data for free.

Sanix played a role in quite a few cybercriminal operations

Collection #1 was far from the only database Sanix was trying to sell. SBU agents apparently discovered evidence suggesting that the hacker was a pretty active trader of compromised data. On his computer, they found almost a terabyte of stolen information, including email and PayPal login credentials, cryptocurrency wallets, PIN numbers, bank cards, and information that could let hackers launch DDoS attacks. Sanix had several sources of income, and perhaps not surprisingly, law enforcement officers also found about $10 thousand in cash in his home.

Hopefully, Sanix will get what he deserves, and he will try to stay on the right side of the law in the future. Unfortunately, Ukraine's SBU managed to catch a relatively small fish that hasn't really done that much damage. The bigger cybercriminals are usually much more careful, and sadly, grabbing hold of them is a much taller order.

May 20, 2020

Leave a Reply